We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Save Saved
You added Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Newport
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I usually spend a lot of summer weekends in Newport, but decided to visit during the first weekend of December. It was an amazing weekend full of great food and a comfortable stay. The room was well-appointed, with a king-sized bed with wonderfully luxurious linens. We had a gas fireplace in the room which was wonderful for the cold nights. The bathroom was large and stocked with soft towels, robes and great toiletries.

The lobby of the hotel is a great place to spend the afternoon or early evening. They have two small bars and a dual-sided fireplace to warm up next to. We had a great dinner with friends in the hotel restaurant.

Can't beat the location, right in the heart of Newport on the water.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    51
    25
    5
    13
See reviews for
43
185
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I would like to thank Forty 1 North for our very comfortable and relaxing stay.

The Sea Breeze Cottage was charming and located in what seemed to be the heart of Newport. Forty 1 North's staff is exceptional. From the waiters at the Grill and Christie's as well as car and guest services, their employees at every level are professional and courteous. I highly recommend Forty 1 North.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Modern, well designed boutique hotel in the heart of Newport. We were so comfortable in our exquisitely appointed room, we didn't want to leave! Ultra cozy bed, gas fireplace, balcony with a harbor view, soaking tub in a luxurious bathroom, ipod and ipad,....need I say more? Oh yes, on more thing-exceptionally helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from an impressive four night stay at 41 Degrees North.Vanessa and her whole team know all about excelling in service.Nothing at all was too much trouble and as well travelled discerning people, we were made to feel so comfortable at every turn.
Yes, the in - house music is loudish in the public areas but the choice of music was very cool and only,in our opinion, added to the appropriate atmoshere of 41! In other words, if you are not up for the true boutique experience, then this fab place may not be for you.
The Grill and Bar were gorgeous with great views and great service though perhaps a little pricey.
The bedroom we were upgraded to was a harbour view suite and absolutely stunning and cosy,not minimalist at all.The fireplaces throughout are a lovely touch.
Only criticism was ,though ipod system available in every room....connecting the system up to use wasn't quite so easy!...Hopefully a little blip in an otherwise perfect set up!
Only complaint is that 41 has no other properties for us to stay at ANYWHERE ...as we would go tomorrow!

Room Tip: Harbour view if you can stretch the budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Beutiful Hotel and great location. From the first impression to the end of the stay was was offered excellent service and attention to detail. Remind me a mini Delano Hotel in South Beach, FL:) Fouty 1 North - loved it all. Little pricy although my expectations were met. Having latest techology in the room (ipad and ipod) was fabulous. I enjoyed and suggest to choose this hotel when you are in Newport, RI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The old expression, horses for courses, comes to mind here. I loved this hotel, fantastic staff friendly, helpful and up for a laugh. The position is exquisite and service second to none. Granted there is no fitness suite or pool ,but why would you need one in a hotel of this type? Is this my European attitude coming out as opposed to the American expectations? The food in the Grill Room was exceptional as was the more casual Christies. The chef was very good at accommodating my husband's allergy without a fuss at all. The room was great, third floor, harbour view and the bed extremely comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel without hesitation?

Room Tip: I would suggest the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, on the waterfront, at the marina. When the weather is good, there is a beautiful terrace available with an outside bar, with harbor view. The room rate is, however, quite expensive, given the limited room size (one chair only, no desk). Facilities are good (in room ipad and ipod). There is indeed loud music in the hotel, but if you keep your windows closed, it is fine. Parking is USD 25 per day (and no option to park elsewhere). It is a small scale hotel, so personal service. But hey, USD 500 per night (breakfast not included) is only fine if you get a top room and top service. That is not really the case. There is no pool, nor a fitness room. So, you pay for the location....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Address: 351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.