We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is an EXPERIENCE. An excellent one.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Save Saved
You added Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Newport
tahiti
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It is an EXPERIENCE. An excellent one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is outstanding and makes you feel (if you ever had) like you are the on a private luxury yacht and the owner....
No paperwork hassle, you are greeted as you are returning on board of your own ship...
Everything is on hand, just ask.
trust me I have traveled some time...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    51
    25
    5
    13
See reviews for
43
185
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is the only place to stay in Newport if you want the best- service is on point in the hotel, restaurant overlooks the water from both indoors and out. View of the yachts is breathtaking. I stayed during the middle of the week and this hotel is the experience I look for in a 5 star experience. Service is that of Ritz quality, without the snootiness. Food is top notch, without the pretentiousness. All around authentic place to stay and dine, will be back again and again- especially during the off peak months when I want urban new england luxury.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

What else do you need? We left our hotel for who knows what?? Breakfast,lunch?? Exploring? We noticed Forty 1 North and headed down. It was early for lunch,late for breakfast,but a few people were seated and staff were present. They were serving brunch at 11 am this past Sunday.. Just we what we were looking for. We were outside on the deck,which we wanted,but it was a blustery overcast day. Our Hostess was quick to offer indoor seating,should the wind or anything else bother us. Nice! Our waitress was lovely. Pleasant and informative. We had two Mimosa's each! Yum! I had the lobster sliders and my fiance had the Bananas Foster French toast! Both delicious. I guess depending on who you are(we are in Newport afterall!),it can be a little pricey. $13 each for the Mimosa's..........we were on a quick get away,fine with us! But without those I think it was entirely reasonable. We loved the whole expierience and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Loved the view of the harbor. Could sit on the deck all day and watch boats come and go. Had a great lunch with my family and loved the ambiance. I don't think there is another venue in Newport like it. Highly recommend enjoying a long lunch or sunset dinner at 41 North. I didn't have a chance to stay in any of the rooms but did ask another guest who said the views were spectacular and accommodations first class. Hopefully we can get back and stay for a couple nights soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Great view, devour, staff, food, bar scene, late night dancing. Need reservation on the wekend. Expect to spend $$$$ and have a great time. Only issue was all the bird stuff on my car.
Dock up and never leave.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had a wonderful outdoor dining experience at Forty 1 North the other weekend. The service was great - as was the food! No better place to have a late dinner outside in the summertime, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Forty 1 North is a fantastic Newport summertime destination for great food and cocktails. It's in a class by itself. You simply cannot beat the combination of striking waterfront property, gorgeously appointed surroundings and lively, energized crowds. You can yacht watch, people watch and sunset watch: a triumvirate that is pretty much unmatched anywhere on Thames Street. Executive Chef Peter Eco is doing an amazing job; he elevates food made with simple, fresh ingredients to haute cuisine.

The crowd is a real mix of locals, summer people, boat folks and assorted party people. It gets incredibly packed on the weekends during the summer, so be aware of crowds and be prepared. As long as you are OK with that, there are a lot of things to keep in mind that set Forty 1 North apart:

Weekly "fermentation school" events at their Oval Bar, where you can enjoy a multi-course meal and cocktails;
Saturday morning yoga on the deck, which sounds divine;
The place turns into a dance club on weekend nights, so there's fun to be had indoors and out;
Awesome events: Chefs, authors and artists all make appearances for book signings, cooking classes, etc.

Forty 1 North is well worth checking out, especially on a warm summer night when the mega yachts are parked so enticingly at arms reach.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

Address: 351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forty 1° North is Newport's newest waterfront destination. State-of-the-art Hotel and Marina. Exciting Restaurants and chic lounges. Beautifully appointed lodgings. Extraordinary service. Everything you'd expect in a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 1 North
Forty 1 North Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.