We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosecliff

Rosecliff
584 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
401-847-1000
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 66 attractions in Newport
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Visitors are awestruck by this grand mansion, modeled after a French palace and used in the films "High Society" and "The Great Gatsby."
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A gorgeous home resting on the Atlantic with a romantic heart staircase. We saw The Nutcracker presented by Island Moving Company.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    80
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Nutcracker at the Rosecliff Mansion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The nutcracker was very nice to watch. I enjoyed the show..... I did not like that they moved you to different rooms, I thought there was a full tour of mansion before show but they just moved the show to a few rooms ... I liked that they started in the staircase area but the second room was so small with the large group to watch it and everyone needed to stand there and the people at the end of the group misses some of the show cause they need to walk to room. I think if they went from the stairs right into the main ballroom it would be nice..... For what I could see of the show I think it was over priced.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bell of the Ball”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

One can envision themselves living in this house. It seems more realistic as a home than others that appear as more like museums.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV & TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The house is so beautiful but also somehow "homey" maybe because it was more recently occupied and the stories of the family members who visited there. Audio tour is excellent.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rosecliff is one of the prettiest houses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Rosecliff is pretty and what you expect when you do the typical mansion house tour. It never disappoints.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosecliff also viewed

 

Been to Rosecliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosecliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rosecliff to your Saves list