We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning with a really interesting piece of history.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marble House

Marble House
596 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
401-847-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #6 of 66 attractions in Newport
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This Newport mansion is famous for its ample use of marble in the interior.
WORCESTER
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Stunning with a really interesting piece of history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Walking up to Marble house you have to be impressed. It is so beautiful. This mansion also does the audio tours, which I didn't think I would like but I really enjoy them. The audio tour directs you through the mansion and also offers bonus audio on different topics. I loved to learn the lady of the house, Alva, ended up being a major contributor to the suffrage movement. She even charged admission to her home to raise funds.

There is also the Chinese Tea House out back that the owner, Alva, had built. It is a cool place to stop and have a snack.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    86
    18
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Another beautiful mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The marble house is another one of the beautiful mansions open to the public. This is a self-guided tour with a headset, which allows you to tour the home at your own pace. Another must see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Breakers is the biggie, but this Vanderbilt home is full of truly different decor from room to room, and the history of this side of the family was very interesting to me. At the end of the tour, you are able to read a lot about each of the five main family members and what the children all accomplished in life. They did a lot of philanthropic things with their money which makes the crazy, over-the-top way they lived a tiny bit more palatable. The marble in this home alone is worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the many other mantions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We took a self-guided tour and the mansion, listening equipment, and over all experience was enjoyable. At time is was tight in smaller rooms with a number of other visitors, yet we were visiting on a weekend. We did not see other mansions during our stay, but would recommend at least one. This was an interesting mansion to see, one of the tops on the list.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We toured the Breakers and Marble House and it was the perfect combination. They are very different and you can appreciate each more when you compare them. The living room, with its stained glass and art collection, is definitely something to see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marble House also viewed

 

Been to Marble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marble House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marble House to your Saves list