We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Adams State Park

Fort Adams State Park
90 Fort Adams Drive, Eisenhower Trust Building, Newport, RI 02840
401 841 0707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 62 Attractions in Newport
Type: Historic Sites, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This venue of the Newport folk and jazz festivals is a stone citadel.
Rollinsford, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Spacious and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My experience at Fort Adams was during the Newport Folk Festival. While this is a unique situation to be in, I really thought the views of the ocean as well as the ruins of the old fort really created an interesting and relaxing atmosphere for the shows. Between sets, it was nice to walk along the water and look out onto Newport, see the different ships sail by, and soak up the sun on the different grassy areas. The stone structures were intriguing and provided the perfect venue for a music fest.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    112
    33
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“fort adams state park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Fort adams state park offers many events- from seeing the tall ships when they come in - to laying on the beach in a small but quiet area for families to swim and relax- I recently went to a most amazing car show - that featured more cars that I wanted to see- they offer prizes for the best cars - but as I was leaving exhausted from viewing all the cars - some cars were still pulling in- I am not a car buff - but this was AWESOME- fort adams offers many events-even halloween scary trails- it is such a unique place of history that keeps on giving-

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Could be a great attraction, but very run down. Half of it looks like a building site. The self guided tour does not allow you access to areas that can be seen on the guided tour,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fort Adams has an amazing view of Newport Harbour with the port, bridge & small islands. It's lovely to spend a warm spring afternoon watching ships go by.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Huge Fort, interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The fort is very big and the history was interesting. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. I best part was the listening tubes and learning about the military strategy in the design of the fort. It was about a 90 minute tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Adams State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Adams State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Adams State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.