We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Walk

Cliff Walk
117 Memorial Blvd., Newport, RI 02840
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cliff Walk like an insider
Special Offer
$94*
and up
Newport Mansions Small-Group Day Trip from Boston
Ranked #4 of 102 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic 3.5 mile walkway that borders the back lawn of The Breakers and many other Newport mansions.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Still a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I can't understand why this isn't the #1 attraction in Newport. Hands down this is my favorite thing to do there. As others have mentioned, the second half (and, in my opinion, best part) of the cliff walk is officially closed. If you are willing to make your way around the barriers it is possible to continue on. Most of the walk is intact, but there are sections of sidewalk and walkways that are washed away so you should have good shoes and be willing and able to climb boulders, etc.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    476
    78
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular ocean views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed this beautiful walk after our visit to the Breakers. Lovely ocean views and glimpses of the magnificent houses & gardens. It was a beautiful sunny day. Lots of tourists & locals out passing some time enjoying this treat. A pity so much of it destroyed in Hurricane Sandy and now inaccessible. We jumped in our hire car & drove along that section as best we could later.

It's free, it's spectacular & a healthy way to see this part of Newport.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Nice Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A nice, easy walk along a paved path with excellent views. It was a bit crowded but was manageable. Would be a great place to run in the early morning.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“THE VIEW IS GREAT, BUT HALF IS STILL CLOSED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Half of this great path was closed after Hurricane Sandy. It is certainly something to see. The Forty Steps is ok. It is just a small path that leads to a landing closer to the water. It is great to walk this path along the water and behind some of the mansions. Right now it is only open as far as The Breakers. Most of the buildings you pass are on the property of Salve Regina University.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

nice walk
you can see the sea and the houses from another angel
but nothing special i saw views like this at many places

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff Walk also viewed

 

Been to Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.