We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking in the cold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Avenue

Bellevue Avenue
Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI
Improve this listing
Visit Bellevue Avenue like an insider
Top Rated
$27*
and up
Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #14 of 102 things to do in Newport
Activities: Driving, Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the 10-mile Ocean Drive and home to many well-known mansions.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Walking in the cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I always make it a point to take the long walk down Bellevue, stopping in for coffee and the paper and then going back in time as I walk by the Breakers, the Marble House, and all the mansions Bellevue is known for. I covered a little bit but, considering the wind chill was below 15 on Saturday, I didn't cover all of my favorites.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    81
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wished I lived there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The best street in Newport! The houses are something out of a movie! Visit Belcourt! I wished I lived there! Wide streets and even the gates are works of art!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of my favorite drives ... continue on Ocean Drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love driving through Newport in the off season. If you are looking for a relaxing drive in the summer ... don't bother. But off season, you can enjoy all the views, all the 'cottage' gazing without the traffic and without the tourists. If you only visit Newport in summer, you are missing a treat!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho ~ Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Mansion Suburbia!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Take a trip down Bellevue Ave to check out these splendid mansions. It's just so amazing as to the detail that was put into some of these, they just don't make houses/mansions like they used to anymore. This is fun to drive down at night too, to see the straightaway with the bulbous street lights and some of the mansions are lit up making them looking mysterious in their grandeur. Some of these are available for tours, I definitely recommend checking out at least one for a step back in time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The mansions are great no matter what season it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love driving up and down Bellevue, it is by far one of the greatest New England treasures. The cliff walk was closed due to ice but I ventured out on a part of it to get a different view of the mansions, its amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellevue Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Bellevue Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.