We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inpirational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touro Synagogue

Touro Synagogue
85 Touro Street, Newport, RI 02840
401-847-4794
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 103 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1762, this is the oldest synagogue in the United States.
New York City
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Inpirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Not only is the Touro Synagogue the oldest in America, but it is still functioning for the local community and guests. If you are in Newport be sure to visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    37
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pefectly proportioned, a must-see in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Not only historical (oldest synagogue in use in America), but also beautiful. Can tour the inside (go early, buy your ticket), and also enjoy the outside. At night it's lovely as well. The visitor's center has an afternoon Jewish walking tour of Newport that is well-worth the hour.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Jewish history in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had been looking forward to seeing this synagogue as it's founding goes back to 1658. We were not disappointed. It's a stop you should definitely make. They have a lovely visitor's center as well telling of the Jewish history of the area. Be sure to call for hours.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of my visit to Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Loved the tour of the Touro Synagogue, which is very beautiful. The guide, Lew, gave a very easy to understand guide through the history involving the synagogue and, all those that lead to its existence ... definitely one of the highlights of my visit to Newport, RI

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Historic Synagogue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have visited this synagogue several times. It is always interesting to visit inside and also to view the grounds. I think this would be a good place to visit for a group trip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touro Synagogue also viewed

 

Been to Touro Synagogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touro Synagogue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.