We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful piece of history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity Church

Trinity Church
Queen Anne Square, Newport, RI 02840
(401) 846-0660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 102 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Newport church where George Washington once attended.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A beautiful piece of history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While visiting Newport, you must stop by Trinity Church. Trinity Church was built in 1726. It contains a rare "three-tiered pulpit (wineglass or chalice-shaped), Tiffany stained glass, original chandeliers and an organ played by Handel. This is a gorgeous historic building worthy of many photos. The stained glass is outstanding. Be sure to sit in pew box #81 where George Washington would sit during his visits to Trinity Church. Also, Queen Elizabeth sat there. Be sure to look for the "wardens' rods" or "nodding rods" which were used to tap those who fell asleep during colonial services! Visit the church yard and see the interesting grave stones. Trinity Church is a must see during your visit to Newport.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Got there just as they were closing but Wayne kindly let us in and stayed to answer all our questions. Beautiful church, be sure to sit in the pew where Queen Elizbeth sat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“History at its finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Trinity Church is an outstanding historic building designed by Christopher Wren. It has one of the few remaining "three tiered wine glass pulpits" in the country. Graves have interesting inscriptions and names of some you would recognize. An absolute must when in Newport. Picturesque at anytime but my favorite is winter when its snowing and the church is lit with candles. Beautiful!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My First Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was Christened in Trinity Church and 18 months later my folks and I moved to Miami, FL. Visited Newport during the summer in the early 1829's visiting Grandparents.This was the first time I had seen the Church since the 1920's.My oldest and Youngest sons visited with me.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is one of the most unique churches I have ever visited. Stop in for just a moment and stare at the beauty, and the stained glass. This church as so much character, is free to go inside and walk. Around ( though there is a voluntary donation box), and it only takes a moment but is well worth the time! Not to be missed

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity Church also viewed

 

Been to Trinity Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.