We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Mill Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Newport
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Overall, my husband and I had a very pleasant stay at the Mill Street Inn. The hotel was clean and tidy and the location was wonderful. The staff was helpful, cordial and professional.
We loved the afternoon tea and cookies, the turn down service with gummy candies and local activities info sheet every day.
We had the "duplex" room with a living room on the first level and the bedroom/bathroom and small balcony on the second level.
We loved having our breakfast on the roof deck while enjoying the gorgeous views of Newport.
We thought the quirky selection of books on the coffee table was also delightful.

If we were to highlight areas of improvement, I will mention two things. First, the complimentary breakfast, though it had a good variety, we noticed a lot of the food appeared to be recycled from the day before; especially the salmon platter and some of the pastries. Though I understand sometimes it is logistically challenging to donate the food and the idea of throwing food away seems wasteful. However, as guests eating the food, we would obviously prefer eating food that is fresh versus stale. There's really no simple answer for this, but I guess it is easier for larger hotels to cook and serve fresh food (with a food license) versus a boutique hotel offering only a Continental breakfast.

Finally, finding parking can be challenging in Newport. Though the hotel does offer some parking slots for its guests, it would be helpful during the check-in process to remind guests when they can and cannot park on the street directly in front of the hotel. We received a parking ticket one night for leaving the car in front of the hotel after a certain hour in the evening. A quick parking primer for new guests would be helpful to avoid these types of parking tickets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    112
    54
    28
    16
See reviews for
58
212
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Mill Street Inn in Newport, Rhode Island proved to be a real gem, located two blocks from the wharf and well within the many shops and restaurants of downtown Newport. The Mill Street Inn has captured the spirit and the essence of the revolutionary period. Our room was spacious & well decorated. Exposed brick walls added to the coziness of the room. The room was well lit & contained all the latest electronic hardware such as flatscreen t.v.s, air-conditioning,etc. From the roof top deck one could see an endless sea of rooftops, chimneys, small quaint colonial homes & buildings, and the harbor. We enjoyed early happy hour on the deck for which the staff generously brought ice & glasses. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous with a wide range of options and featured fresh squeezed juices. We never got to enjoy the afternoon tea and cookies as we were always out enjoying the sights! The free underground parking made it so convenient to use our car to enjoy nearby towns & beaches. The staff were all excellent, very customer focused and attentive. We plan to return! Rudy and Jamelyn Payan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We don't usually spend this much for a room, but what a great value! Location is central to downtown, we even walked to the Breakers. Service is top tier from the desk to cleaning to breakfast. Joe lent us an umbrella when rain threatened our dinner stroll, and at breakfast the staff was always offering to make and bring things to us. Building is crusty on the outside and contemporary on the inside. Feather bed, sleek bathroom, plenty of space. Expensive, yes, a value, yes! We will always look to Mill Street when visiting.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a very unique, historic building. It's worth it for the interesting architecture alone. Conveniently located (with parking!)-it's easy to walk downtown to shops, restaurants, etc. They came by our rooms at night with little candies and a sheet of recommendations with what was going on in Newport that week. Everything was clean and well cared for. We had an excellent stay. I heard they do breakfast on their roofdeck, but I didn't get a chance to check it out. It was definitely a little pricey (and they charge you if you have an extra person!) and would be better if it had a pool, but overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It was so lovely to stay here and I heartily recommend it. The service was super (Jessica was so chatty and welcoming) and the breakfast was superb. The receptionists couldn't go enough for you and the room was immaculate . Best hotel of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our last location following a tour of N.E. and we spent two nights at the Mill Street Inn. We were travelling with our two children (boys 15&16) and booked a family room. The suite was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the Inn well located. Breakfast was great, particularly if the weather was good and you could enjoy eating it on the roof terrace. We did experience an overcharge on the bill which I spotted before departing. It related to having children in the suite as they used the sofa bed. The rate for them had been doubled. It took a little while to pin down the error but when identified it was immediately rectified. We would be happy to go back.

Room Tip: If you want to lay in late (we didn't) then you may not want to be in the room below the roof te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

we were very happy with the hotel.We arrived on time and the room was ready.The receptionist Jo was very friendly and helpful.Since there is no elevator we requested help with our bulky luggage.Tim provided service with a smile very quickly. The room was clean and cozy and the bed was very comfortable. ..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.