We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be 5-Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Mill Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Newport
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Could be 5-Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has potential for five-star rating if they paid more attention to the little things that make the difference between very good and superior. For example, our beautiful and large suite's stall shower had missing grout and the door to the bathroom wouldn't stay closed. A stained carpet in the living room also took away from the overall quality of the suite.

That being said, the hotel is perfectly located for whatever your Newport pleasure may be. The staff is friendly and helpful and the complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea are well catered. The bed was very comfortable as were the other furnishings.

We would recommend this hotel for couples as well as families.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    107
    50
    28
    16
See reviews for
55
196
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed in the mill street inn in June with my fiancé. The moment you walk in you feel at home. The hotel is conveniently located about 2 1/2 blocks from all the shops, restaurants and waterfront. There is complimentary parking tea coffee and fresh baked goods. Our room was spacious complete with everything you need and we had our own balcony! I am so impressed I am looking forward to returning very soon...

This is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Actually we needed a place for a Sat night, and this place had availability. Many Newport places don;t have for Sat so this was good. We slept well and liked our room other than it was sooo hot when we entered as no one closed drapes or put on a/c. It was convenient to town and wharf but not to cliffwalk. We hated the no elevator thing but liked the bkfst.

Room Tip: townhouse rooms upstairs with the deck looking out is so cool but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

If your looking to stay right in the heart of Newport in walking distance to everything this is the place! We stayed in the Townhouse Suite what a beautiful room with a private deck overlooking the harbor (spectacular view)! Management (Siren Hurley) was very attentive and wanted to make sure we had a great stay. Roof top breakfast anyone ... this is also included with your stay. This place pays attention to detail!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here with two other women for a girls' weekend. We had a great time and the accommodations were nice. We stayed in a deluxe king suite on the first floor because it had a pull out couch and a king size bed. The rooms are a little dark, but we didn't have any problem with noise as some of the other reviews have stated. The staff members were very nice and friendly. They immediately brought us whatever we asked for- blankets, extra towels, etc.

Breakfast was ok. My friend found moldy bagels in one of the serving drawers. Immediate apologies were made and new ones were brought out. There was always someone there to make sure you had what you needed and everything was stocked. One other big negative about the food service was that the staff touches all of the food with their bare hands. My friends and I are nurses, so we really had issues with this. I had asked for more mini quiche one morning. A gentleman brought some out in a baggie and used his bare hands to put each of them in the warmer, even though there were tongs right next to the warmer. The same went for the bagels and other breads. We just stuck to the cereal after we saw that. Others may not be as picky, but I think the staff could benefit from a food service and handling class. Otherwise, the assortment of food and drink was rather nice. The roof top deck was great and it was nice that they offered water, tea, and coffee throughout the day.

The location was perfect and parking was just fine. One day our room was cleaned to perfection, the next, it was barely touched. I'm not sure why, probably different staff. I would probably give the Inn 3 and a half stars. 4 if the prices had been lower. We paid $500/night on the weekend nights. I know Newport is pricey, but this seemed exorbitant, given that I heard the front desk staff quoting the same deluxe king suite room for $125 less on the phone to another patron (and yes it was for that same night). I realize hotels will reduce their prices to fill up for the night, but I felt a bit ripped off, especially since our room wasn't cleaned well that day.

In short, there were pros and cons. I would definitely stay here again if I could find a good rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Well located just a block off busy Thames Street and a block over from Queen Anne Square and Trinity Church. This is a surprisingly well appointed, repurposed grain/mill/warehouse that retains much of the original exposed brick, beams and stone work.

Free parking, while tight, is a huge plus for parking challenged Newport. The reception staff was pleasant and well informed about local attractions and activities. I must comment on the breakfast offering, particularly after reading some of the previous comments: The selection of breads, pastries, yogurt, fruits, smoked salmon, fresh juices, hot beverages...with no hovering of someone trying to "turn tables" was uniquely "delicious" and extensive for an inn with no full kitchen service!

I understand from management that several refurbishment projects are in the works for furnishings
and amenities going forward. Can't wait to see the results on a return visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had such an amazing stay! The location in Newport is wonderful. The entire staff was pleasant and extremely attentive to our every need. To top it off, the delicious free breakfast was the icing on the cake. We can't wait to return later this summer!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.