We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply put..NO CLASS!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mill Street Inn to your Saves list
Mill Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Litchfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply put..NO CLASS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Newport is a special place for myself and my fiance. We were in town to take engagement photos and opted to stay at the Mill Street Inn, which is where you USED to prefer to stay when visited Newport. However after pre-stay requests and multiple discussions with the staff, I was asked to pay for a FULL night for a late check out in the afternoon. Everything aside, it was mid May (Wednesday), overcast / raining and the place was dead! Never again. I will be sure to spread the word. Obviously business decisions need to be made but don't understand why a request could not of been granted when A) the hotel was dead and B) we were repeat customers...CLASSLESS!!! Others to note - AC not working propertly...turns itself off after a few minutes to conserve power, so plan on waking up in the middle of night sweating. Toilets were not functioning properly. Left during the afternoon and room was not cleaned. If you're going to charge a full night stay for us to stay a few extra hours, I would think the least you could do would be to clean the room. Lets be clear here. Not young honeymooners here and have no problem spending money for quality and customer service. Plenty of other hotels to stay in Newport that fit that bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron R, General Manager at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

While we appreciate all guest feedback, in this circumstance I feel that your complaint is unwarranted. The Inn was not dead on either of the days you were here. In fact, both nights we were more than two thirds full. As a small inn, almost every day, we do receive bookings in the day, for the day as it seems many travelers are planning later. We have the rooms for sale via a number of sites so it is not unusual at all that we will sell a room in the day for the same evening.

Regardless of that fact, in an effort to be hospitable to you, we did offer a 2:00 p.m. check out on the day of your departure. Our standard departure time is 11:00 a.m. and there would normally be a charge of a 1/2 day rate, however in consideration of the fact that you had stayed with us once before and were in town to take engagement photos, we offered the 2:00 p.m. check out at no additional charge. Unfortunately, given that you required a check out after 3:00 p.m, we of course would charge for the evening as we would no longer be able to re-sell your room considering 3:00 p.m. is check in time for new guests.

While we understand the situation was very unfortunate, I do feel that we tried to accommodate you. However, given that you started threatening to write bad reviews if you were not given exactly what you wanted, we deemed it inappropriate to continue trying to compromise.

We are always willing to work with guests special requests as we strive to make everyone's stay as pleasant as we can. We wish you the best of luck in your future travels.

Regards,

Caron R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    120
    54
    28
    16
See reviews for
58
225
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in a townhouse suite, that had a balcony. The balcony was a bit of a joke. It was a tiny "L" shaped area that was built around two sky lights. You could not even have the two chairs sit side by side. There was no screen on the sliding door. There were stains on the carpeting. The brick wall looked as if something had spilled on it, and ran down and was never cleaned. The A.C. unit was at the top of the stairway, which meant any cold air went down into the seating area, not into the bedroom area. The bedroom area was very stuffy. The bathroom was very small. No exhaust fan, and there was mold on some of the grout. The hairdryers filter was dirty, so it did not work with full power. Breakfast was okay. They had an assortment of cereals, nuts, fruits, yogurt, oatmeal, bagels, and baked goods. The baked goods were not fresh, almost stale. The location is it's only plus. It's on a quiet side street, within walking distance to the restaurants and shops. The staff was very nice. Bradley at the front desk was excellent. As for being listed as a top small luxury hotel...don't be fooled. It needs a lot of work to live up to that distinction. Unfortunately, we way overpaid for our stay, expecting the room to be in much better condition than it was.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk, ct,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

First time in Newport and decided to stay at Mill Street Inn. Location was perfect to walk to all the sites, staff was excellent (especially Bradley) and room was very nice. Got upgraded to townhouse suite upon check in which was two story room with balcony. Afternoon fresh cookies and complimentary breakfast and parking were appreciated. Will be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The concept of an ultra modern inn in an old historic mill is enchanting. But they missed the mark. The rooms are uncomfortable, dark, gloomy. Air conditioning didn't work and we had to be moved to another room. That room had wall units which did cool but blew directly onto the bed which made sleeping difficult. Furniture was very uncomfortable. If the décor was to be stark they succeeded on that point. Breakfast was laughable. Bagels(not very good ones), cereal and yogurt. Juice containers are often empty. There is no attendant. The janitor occasionally stops in and empties the dirty dish tray. Location is only positive I can give this place. There must be better places to say in Newport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron R, General Manager at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are sorry that you did not enjoy the décor of the inn. We realize that the minimal, contemporary look combined with the old mill details such as exposed wood beams and brick walls, is not necessarily what everyone is looking for when visiting Newport. However, we do find that the majority of our guests enjoy our design.

Our complimentary continental breakfast offered a number of things such as assorted cereals, oatmeal, bagels, toast, baked goods, fresh berries, nuts and dried fruits, various spreads and yogurts as well as fresh squeezed juices, assorted teas, coffees, espresso, cappuccino and lattes. In an effort to elevate it further, we are now also offering a smoked salmon platter, fruit salad and mini quiches. We take into account both the reviews we find on sites such as Trip Advisor and our internal comment cards when deciding which items guests enjoy and what we might do to continue improving our breakfast offering.

There is a breakfast attendant daily and they are happy to help with whatever you might need while dining. When you were staying with us, the attendant was the man you have identified as the janitor which is why he was in the breakfast room regularly.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable impressions of our property as they will only help us improve in the future.

Sincerely,

Caron R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to couples, probably without children. I went with my fiancé.The place was very clean, but smaller than I thought for the price. I booked a townhouse suite for three days. The staff was very nice, helpful and informative. This is something I look for when reading reviews. If staff and maintenance aren't happy and helpful, then I'm not booking. The staff helped us with some local attractions as well as some room supplies. It was also nice to receive a letter with my name on it everyday with some candy. Those small touches go a long way. The M.S.I. is very close to Thames St. where all the shops and restaurants are. This one of the features of the hotel. However, it is not so close where you experience noise from the crowd or cars. The only thing that woke us up was the seagulls/birds at 5am. Not much you can do about this unfortunately. Think of it as a nice early morning wake-up call. Breakfast was good. I would say this is the one thing that they could improve upon. Especially for what they are charging. Blueberries, raspberries, oatmeal, cold bagels, coffee, espresso machine, fresh juice...it wasn't horrible, just could add more I feel. The spread was decent for a complimentary, but I have seen nicer at some of the quaint style hotels I've stayed at. The breakfast room was small and quiet, with a nice style and simplicity. The bed in our room was very, very comfortable. The pillows were amazing and plush. The shower was nice and clean. The red metal winding spiral staircase was very unique. The outside deck was ok. A bit weathered and dirty. I actually got a splinter from just stepping outside briefly. Luckily, the splinter wasn't deep. The deck was attached to the rooftop deck, and actually got in the way of the harbor view. But I was still able to see a good distance into the horizon. It was nice to catch a sunset overlooking Newport. There may be other better/different options in Newport, RI. However, I wouldn't be opposed to staying here again. The hotel is great for a couple, or a small group of friends/people.

Room Tip: Go the distance and book a townhouse suite. It is a nice upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I only had 1 night in Newport and chose the Mill St. Inn based on a bloomspot offer. It's on a quiet street a couple blocks from the piers and shops. I got in quite late and the gentleman at the front desk was ready for me and check in was easy. The room was fantastic, with a sitting area and separate bedroom. The bathroom was not spotless, though clean, and the shower was fantastic. There was 2 shower heads and the toiletries were top notch. They supplied a few books to peruse and they were quirky and fun options. Water and oranges were suppled and soft drinks available in the mini bar for an additional cost. The continental breakfast was the best I ever had. They had simple offerings of toast, bread and yogurt, though fruits and nuts are available to dress up the cereals and natural nut butters and Nutella are available for the breads. The coffee if great and fresh juices are available. Staff is very helpful and were available if needed. I would absolutely try to stay there again if I find myself in Newport again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Mill street inn is a quaint hotel/BNB in a perfect location in Newport. It's a 2 minute walk to Thames, a 5 minute walk to the pier where all the great bars and restaurants are and a short drive to the mansions, cliffwalk, and everything on the outskirts of Newport. The hotel itself is well kept, it's not over the top, very simple yet clean. The suites are great, they have a separate living room with high ceilings and exposed brick and the bedroom with in suite bath is nice too. The bed was super comfortable. Bathroom is nice and clean, I was surprised it wasn't a bit more modern but it did the trick. The only not impressive part, the breakfast. I expected something a bit more home made but it was a standard continental breakfast you'd find at a holiday inn or Marriott. So we ditched it and ate at nearby restaurants instead, which were totally worth it. Overall, it was a great experience and we would return and recommend it to others. It's a perfect hotel to return to after spending the day exploring Newport!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.