We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to just about everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mill Street Inn to your Saves list
Mill Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Convenient to just about everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Modern style inn in an old mill. Very convenient to most everything: Thames Street, the mansions, the wharf.

Room: We booked a deluxe suite that has a living area and bedroom. VERY small bedroom area. The bed barely fit in the room – the bathroom door is next to the head of the bed and you can just get in between the bed and the wall to get to the door. The other side of the bed was just as narrow. Lighting was not very good. It was pretty dark even with all the lights on high. There is a refrigerator however it is stocked with beverages so there is no room for anything a guest might want to put in there. There is no coffee maker in the room. It was very quiet at night. Heard just a wee bit of traffic in the distance. Did not hear any other guests the first night but the second night it sounded like an elephant was tromping around above us.

Bathroom: Small – not much room for toiletries. The shower was also small but adequate. Water pressure was good. There was a scale in the bathroom (not sure if this is good or bad).

Wireless: Free and had no issues with connectivity or speed.

Breakfast: Free continental breakfast. Cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit (apples and grapes and also blueberries, blackberries, strawberries and raspberries) as well as a variety of dried fruit to put on your yogurt or cereal), different bread and bagels (with a variety of toppings) as well as yogurt. I would think there is something for everyone who wanted a light breakfast.

Parking: free beside the hotel or in the garage underneath the building.

Roofdeck: We were here in mid October so it was too cold to have breakfast up there but we did look at it. You see mostly rooftops, but you can see the water in the distance. I wouldn’t think it would be anything special to dine up here, however, the dining room in the basement is rather dark so it might be better than that.

Housekeeping: Very good. Clean.

The main plus for me was the convenience of the inn. I think if I returned I would look for another, just as convenient, place to stay.

Room Tip: You may hear your upstairs neighbors if you are on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    117
    54
    28
    16
See reviews for
58
220
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
portland, maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Finding a reasonably priced hotel in Newport during the high season that does not require a two night minimum stay is a serious challenge. So by the time I booked a $400 room for a Saturday night, somehow I felt lucky.
This is a very nice hotel with calm, contemporary ambience in a renovated mill. It provides a welcome and convenient respite from the crowded sidewalks of Newport. The staff is very pleasant and eager to please, the location is excellent and within walking distance of much of Newport, the minimalist decor is lovely, and the Nespresso coffee for breakfast and afternoon tea-time is great. On the other hand, two of the lamps didn't turn on, the TV remote needed batteries, the sofa bed had not been made up, and the AC system was confusing.

Even over Columbus Day Weekend I really do expect a lot for $400 a night. Mill Street only partly delivered.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 which was a deluxe suite with walk out deck, nothing pretty, but in a townhous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September having searched for a long time to find a reasonably priced place to stay. This wasn't reasonably priced but nowhere was so it was the best of what we could get! We wanted to stay in the centre of Newport and this was definitely convenient for everything. We could walk down to the harbour and to lots of different restaurants, bars and attractions. We also chose it because it had 2 beds (I was travelling with my mother) and not a lot of the B&Bs in Newport have twin bedded rooms.

The hotel was easy to find with our sat nav and the parking was convenient (if a bit small! We were the last to arrive so I had to squeeze into a space with an air con unit next to it so had to be very careful - it was the first day of driving the hire car! The second day was easier as it was a Sunday night and quieter). The room was nice and quiet (at the end of the corridor) We think they may have put us here as it seemed like everyone else was in bigger groups/younger so maybe they thought it would be quieter for us? It was nice anyway. One of the guys on reception carried our bags upstairs (there's no lift, as it states on the website). The room was large and the bathroom was adequate.

Breakfast was nice (buffet). We had it downstairs both days as the weather wasn't good enough to have it up on the roof terrace. The staff were friendly and all in all it was a good stay.

A few small niggles but nothing too major. It is looking a bit tired, especially the roof terrace, and there are no signs guiding you anywhere so you have to find your own way. I don't think the actual hotel is worth the money we paid but the location and town definitely make it worthy of the price.

Oh and we had apples and water when we arrived and then the second night we had pear jelly beans with a little note about why we had them (can't remember why but there was a reason!) Nice little treats!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good location, friendly welcome. Room was spacious, comfortable bed, but the room was showing signs of wear and tear. Did feel like I was in a bunker for breakfast! Parking was a bit tight. Reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Convenient, friendly, clean, great beds, balcony, sublime lighting, roomy, easy parking (valet)...the list goes on.

We had a great stay and will stay here again.

Great effort by front desk staff to tend to guests requests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Check in was easy.
Excellent location, beautiful room with high ceilings.
Looooooove the bed and linens !!
Very cool how they go around to each room in the evening and dole out little squares of Ghirardelli chocolate - yum!
Parking lot for guests is appreciated.
Breakfast on rooftop: great food, great location, great service.
One suggestion I have for the hotel is to install lighting in the bedroom closets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We had checked out this hotel online in March and chose another because it had a restaurant...lesson learned! The Inn exceeded our expectations with excellent service, a great room, the perfect location and free parking. We had a townhouse suite with a water-view balcony, the room was a good size with a comfy bed. The bathroom was a bit small, but hardly a dealbreaker. We were pleasantly surprised by the included breakfast offerings, though it would be hard not to be happy on the roof deck. The Inn is in the perfect location, too. It's an easy walk to Thames and the wharfs or to restaurants and shops (in any direction), yet a nice quiet spot to relax away from the crowded areas. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.