We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mill Street Inn to your Saves list
Mill Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Newport hotels are expensive and this is not an exception. However, you get a lot of room and a great location. We stayed in a townhouse - 2 floors with a sitting room on the first floor and a bedroom and bath on the second. We had a balcony with a great view of the harbor. Breakfast was nice on the rooftop terrace. The manager and front desk staff were very accomodating and asked us frequently if there was anything they could do for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    126
    56
    28
    17
See reviews for
61
240
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed 3 nights and had a very nice stay. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. They were very modern for Newport standards. We stayed in the townhouse suite and had a little living room area and a nice sized bedroom with a fireplace. The bathroom was very big and had a really nice rain fall shower head. We also had a pretty big private balcony that had water views. It was very nice. My only complaint was that the continental breakfast wasn't that great. There wasn't much to choose from and the bagels and bread were a little stake. Other than that we really like the hotel and location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed at many Newport hotels and I have to say that I really didn't enjoy my stay at this one. For the price, I thought the rooms were very small and not luxurious at all. The bathrooms are very basic, and not a place where you want to lounge. The location of this hotel is its best feature, but overall, there are a lot better places to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caron R, General Manager at Mill Street Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear NYUgradgal,

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay at Mill Street Inn. While we hope that all of our guests enjoy their time with us, we do recognize that the minimal style of the inn is not always what people are looking for. As a historic property, our rooms are all different, and do range in size from about 300 - 400 square feet. We include continental breakfast, afternoon tea, parking and wireless internet in our rates.

As I have just recently joined the Mill Street Inn team, we do have a number of projects planned over the next few months to enhance the property. I hope that you might consider visiting us again once we have made some of these changes. If you are interested in doing so, I wouild be happy to have you contact me directly to make your booking.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.

Best Regards,
Caron Rivera
General Manager
Mill Street Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been going to Newport for the Folk Festival for ages and stayed at many places- the Viking, at least 3 different B&Bs and even out in Middletown. This was our best choice yet. It is a small hotel and fits that niche really well. We stayed in one of the junior suites- a duplex- basically a tv room downstairs (skylight only- but a nice place to dump ones chairs and shoes) and the bedroom, nice bathroom and a little deck upstairs. Great AC and there is a gas fire place at the foot of the bed for later in the season. Nice breakfast provided on the deck or downstairs if it is raining- both nice spaces. The deck has a nice view of the harbor and the town. There is parking on site. Highly recommend this if you are not a big B&B fan (like me) and don't want to stay and a big hotel. Highly recommend the Folk Festival and eating at Mama Luisa (we went two nights in a row), as well.

Room Tip: I would upgrade to the rooms with harbor view- it is not an 'epic" view- mostly masts an ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from the Mill Street Inn. Stayed from Thursday Aug 2nd thru Sunday Aug 5th. The positives are the staff particularly Douglas were a joy to deal with. Location is perfect within walking distance of every amenity possible. Free car parking was also a plus. The big negative for us was the price. We stay in nothing but luxury hotels when we travel so the price was not the issue rather the value for money. We stayed in a Townhouse Suite which at about $600 a night was not what we are used to experiencing at that price. The bed was a nice king and very comfortable. The rain shower was lovely but at that price i also expect a tub. The room was okay which again at that price should be closer to WOW. The ac was in the worst position I have ever seen, halfway up the stairs to the bedroom and as we all know hot air rises so it never really got comfortably cool. All in all a nice stay but nothing special for $600 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Although a pricey (but thats expected in Newport), the stay at the Inn was a very comfortable and homey feel. The external physical appearance needs some work but the public spaces inside the inn were modern. We stayed in their two level townhouse suite which was nice, however they do need to upgrade some of the living room furniture in the suite. The room was clean and outside deck had fairly good views of the port. While standing on the deck you had a nice neighborhood feel of some of the adjacent buildings (which aso seemed historic) and you felf a transported a bit back in time. All this added to a positive ambiance. Personally, found the bed a bit too soft but others may like that. The deck had a step down, which could be a safety hazard as the edge blends in and would be good if they paint a white strip.
The best feature of the Inn is its location which is within a few minutes from downtown yet on a quiet neighborhood street. The desk staff was knowledgeable and very helpful. Breakfast (included) was average. Would have also wanted to know a bit more about the history of the Inn as it is a historic property but did not find any information on that.

While included in the Small Luxury Hotel Category, we have stayed at other SLH designated properties in Europe, and this seemed a bit underpar. However, I would still recommend this Inn for those looking for an old neighbood feel to their stay in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent 4 days at the Mill Street Inn, and have never experienced such an amazing staff and hotel. Many thanks to Douglas and Justin of the staff for making our stay in Newport one we'll never forget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Address: 75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.