We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've stayed in....it's the city itself that has issues.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 High Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I've stayed in....it's the city itself that has issues.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I'm a Hilton Honors member and frequently stay within the chain. I have never seen a more spotless hotel, with incredibly friendly and eager employees who will go above and beyond to make your stay wonderful. Spring for the two-room suite...wasn't much more than a double room, and you get something that's bigger than most NYC apartments, with really comfortable beds.

Yes, the neighborhood isn't great at night...that's why you use taxis and the wonderful FREE downtown shuttle, which took us all over the place (city hall, casino, Teddy Roosevelt mansion, and they even pick you up places if you call the front desk--worth a couple bucks tip to the driver, saving on cab fare). Let the valet park your car--for $12 a day, with full in and out privileges, why are people complaining? It's a city, for goodness sake. That price is reasonable. The hotel will even take you to the airport for $20, which beats any cab.

Eat at the hotel lobby restaurant--really great burgers, and good service. Room service breakfast was incredibly reasonable as well ($25 for full bkfast plates for TWO). Also, if you want to eat really cheaply, try the hospital cafeteria across the street. Seriously. There's also a 24 hour Tim Horton's in the hospital. Forget that it's a hospital, and go there. They'll be glad for your business.

Buffalo isn't the most exciting city (it got to be a running joke how many waiters and cab drivers would say there's "nothing to do here" when asked for suggestions), but this hotel is an absolute diamond in the rough, so to speak.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    134
    44
    17
    8
See reviews for
125
90
46
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We visited with our grandson who was bowling in a tournament. The suite was a great accommodation at a wonderful price. We would definitely stay here again if we are in Buffalo. The location was quite convenient and we found the atmosphere very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have stayed at this Hilton now three times and each visit has been excellent. The Carleton Grill serves a great meal and the room service meal was delicious. The trips have been in conjunction with visits to the Roswell Cancer Institute and the hotel is very convenient. The staff does a lovely job. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Bad experience. We could have received lot more at other hotel for the same amount of money. Too far from Niagara Falls. It's in the middle of HOSPITAL area. PAID PARKING BFST not included. Were asked to park on the street behind the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I were forced to layover in Buffalo because of weather problems. This was the only available hotel and room that night because of several conventions. It was in the middle of downtown Buffalo at the Buffalo Medical complex. However, the surrounding area was not one to wander through after dark. For our purposes (just to sleep and depart) it was fine. It was new, clean and the staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimersburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Overall the hotel was everything they advertised it to be. It was very clean and up to date. Our beds were very comfortable and we enjoyed the space in the suite which is needed when traveling with your whole family. We got a warm cookie upon arrival which was a hit with all the kids. We had some very nice accommodating staff and a few not so nice staff members. I've learned that not everyone was meant to deal with the public and not everyone can handle a front desk rush. For a downtown hotel it was everything I expected. This hotel is in downtown Buffalo and there are not many things within walking distance to do however they do offer a shuttle service. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The bathrooms had no exhaust fan, so everytime you took a shower or bath the whole room would steam up and everything would get damp. The Valet took a long time to retrieve our car. The "U" shaped driveway at the entrance of the hotel is very narrow, and cars block each other often. The bright spot was the restaurant in the lobby served excellent food. Housekeeping was terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown

Address: 125 High Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#3 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Buffalo Downtown, located on the Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus recently completed a major guestroom and corridor renovation! Now 100% non-smoking; the DoubleTree offers all of the comforts of home! Complimentary WiFi in all of our tranquil rooms. Experience the all new "HD residential experience" on our brand new flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Doubletree Downtown Hotel
Doubletree Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.