We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seasoned travelers impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 High Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Buffalo
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seasoned travelers impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Myself and my co worker travel all over the US attending travel based travel shows. We know a good hotel when we see it. To tell you the truth, we don't usually take the time to do this. But the accomodations, and especially the OUTSTANDING SINCERE SERVICE compells us to let the people know this is a gem not to miss.

Here's example of many: One of their shuttle drivers picked us up at the convention center and we mentioned we had a hankering for seafood. He stops by a seafood place about a block away and goes inside and brings us out a menu! Have you ever had this happen to you?? Not us.

Great place. Great service....from the General Manager to the ladies attending the rooms.
You can believe the next time we are in Buffalo this is where we will hang our hat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esarkis, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Hello! Just want you to know that you made by day when I saw your review. Thank you so much. Be assured I have already shared it with some of the staff and it is posted for all to read. I found out that it was Ben who was the driver that got a seafood menu for you. I have showered him with kudos; he said it was not a big deal. Everyone on the staff thought you and your associate were great. So, I hope your travels return you to Buffalo and that you are able to stay with us. I look forward to meeting you. Thanks again; I really appreciate your time in doing this. Elaine Sarkis, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    105
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
92
72
38
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife recently stayed at this hotel during a business trip and has not stopped talking about the wonderful service she received. As mentioned by other reviewers, she said the entire staff was extremely the friendliest she has ever experienced. The manager was very helpful in suggesting running/walking routes and restaurants in the area. The location of the hotel is convenient to the medical center and not too far from plenty of restaurants. The shuttle will drive you anywhere you want downtown. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. The fitness room was also great. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Greg; the entire staff at the DoubleTree Club by Hilton would like to thank you for your warm and caring comments. It is these comments from our valued guests; like yourself, that help in motivating our staff to go above and beyond in providing exceptional customer service to ensure guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed on Oct. 19th using our Hilton Honors points and got a great rate for a Friday night stay. At first glance, it appears as though the hotel is in a sketchy area (especially as we arrived around 9pm) because there aren't many people milling about the neighborhood. However, you'll see that the hotel happens to be in university research area near a hospital, and is not far at all from the actual downtown - maybe 5-10 min by car. Most of the people that you will notice on the street are hospital employees stepping out for smoke breaks, and all the buildings nearby just look as though they're part of a research campus. We found that the area was actually quite safe as we opted to park our car on the street and had no fear of going back and forth to retrieve items that we needed.

As soon as we checked in, we were greeted warmly and were given chocolate chip cookies which was a nice gesture. We were immediately informed about local dining options and given menus for recommendations in the area. We didn't end up using them, but it was nice for the clerk to have those on hand and offered before we even asked.

The hotel itself is very clean. As soon as we stepped off of the elevator, it was evident that they had cleaned and vacuumed as the air had the scent of freshly picked apples. We were given a room on the 2nd floor, and when we called to request a room on a higher floor we were politely informed that there was a wedding party being hosted by the hotel. The explanation was perfectly reasonable and our room was so comfortable that we didn't make any fuss. I am borderline OCD about cleanliness and it was clear that the room was meticulously cleaned. There were no spots or stains on the linens, the carpeting looked fairly new or at least well maintained, there were no traces of towel wiping on any of the furniture surfaces - but it was clear that they had been cleansed of dust. The bathroom was spotless and was a good size for a king room. There were the standard coffee/tea and complimentary bottles of water available. As far as comfort goes, the bed was very comfy. My husband appreciates some firmness to a mattress, while I truly adore all the softness I can get. We were both happy with the sleep that we got.

All in all, it was a great place to stay. The entire hotel looks and feels clean, and it's evident that the staff that run the hotel are accommodating to their guests. When we pulled up, the valet offered valet services but was helpful in letting us know that we could park a few blocks up the road on the street, as well as take advantage of private lot parking. It was nice that he didn't try to scare us into valet parking which is actually fairly reasonable - $13 per day. We'd definitely go back even if we don't get a good deal next time. And, they have bath products from Crabtree & Evelyn which was a nice addition. All in all, it was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest; thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Our goal is to consistently strive to deliver an exceptional experience and I am happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us! Should your travels bring you back to Buffalo, we hope you will stay with us again. A warm DoubleTree cookie will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently spent a week at this hotel. The staff was amazing. Everyone was very friendly, from the people at the front desk to the housekeeping staff. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Spetch; the team at The DoubleTree Club by Hilton Buffalo strives daily to engage and exceed our guest expectations. We appreciate you sharing your comments!! Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here Oct. 5/12 for one night on our way to Pittsburgh from Ontario. The area is not inviting at all...however...once you get in it's great. We were greeted not by 1, but 3 staff members. After getting our vehicle valet, and our cookies (very nice) the supervisor was so helpful in getting us to a restaurant we wanted to go to. It was out of the "shuttle" area, but that was fine, we understood and had no problem getting a cab, which they arranged for us. The room was very spacious and the bed was so comfy (had the best sleep in a while). If I were doing the same trip I would definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had a one night stay here. Clean, modern and well kept. Lobby was pleasant and inviting. Our room was spacious.
One negative though, view from window was a brick wall.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Otherwise good visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

For a hotel next door to the Roswell Park Cancer Institute and Buffalo General Hospital, I could only find strange the note card left for comments on the room desk is entitled: "Your parting thoughts." I suspect these cards are sent from corporate headquarters, but it might be thoughtful not to have this title in this location.

Otherwise, staff was very helpful, room was clean and big. The restaurant/breakfast needs more staff and the coffee is just awful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown

Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Doubletree Downtown Hotel
Doubletree Buffalo
Address: 125 High Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Buffalo Downtown, located on the Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus recently completed a major guestroom and corridor renovation! Now 100% non-smoking; the DoubleTree offers all of the comforts of home! Complimentary WiFi in all of our tranquil rooms. Experience the all new "HD residential experience" on our brand new flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.