We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay When Visiting Coca-Cola Field” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Markham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay When Visiting Coca-Cola Field”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I had tickets for a baseball game at Coca-Cola Field. We were going to drive back home, but I found a good rate for this hotel and we decided to stay for a night. The hotel is close enough to Coca-Cola Field to walk to. We parked our car in the parking garage which is free during the week but costs $10 per night on the weekends. It is over a block away from the hotel. The garage was clean and the elevators were quick. It is locked during the night. Our room faced Main Street which would have been noisy during the week due to construction but was fine on Saturday night. The only noise we heard was the "whoosh" of the commuter train that runs down the centre of Main Street. The room was very clean and comfortably furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable and had lots of nice pillows. There were 2 TV sets - one in the bedroom and one in the living area. The sofa in the living area was a pull-out. There was a microwave and a small fridge.There was plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure in the bathroom. There was enough room to store toiletries and lots of towels were provided. We noticed that there weren't too many restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, except for TGI Friday's and a pizza place. We ate at the ball park, so this wasn't an issue. In the morning, we enjoyed our complimentary breakfast in the hotel. There was plenty of variety and everything was kept well stocked. All the staff that we dealt with were helpful and friendly. We wished that we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    154
    48
    19
    23
See reviews for
111
130
41
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Above Expectations

We stayed at Comfort Suites, Buffalo downtown, two nights, while attending a family wedding.

Location was great for the wedding activities
Close to the Marina
Almost spotless, modern
Good breakfast
Friendly and helpful staff
Very good customer service
Computer workroom was a great plus
Trouble with the room AC on the second night and we were given a nice credit by the hotel at checkout.

Try to not stay on the Main Street side – local bars are loud and do not close until 4 AM.

Parking – 1.5 blocks away. Was not a problem for me. I did get asked for money several times, but I am used to this.

It was a very favorable stay.

Room Tip: Bar noise - Main Street Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the very nice review. Glad you enjoyed your time in Buffalo and here at the Comfort Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for a Niagara Falls visit, which worked out fine. We had a rental which we had to park about 2 street up in a public parking place for which the hotel gave out some vouchers, so parking was free.

The frist night we stayed in room 220, which was right above the exhaust vents for the airconditioning for a group of buildings. The noise kept us up and we asked for a different room the next night. The desk-clerk asked us to pack our stuff, and when we got back that evening, our suitcases were in a new room, on the street-side of the building. Really easy-going staff.

Niagara is about a 20 minute drive (at around 10 AM, don't know about rush hour) and when you gat back in the evening there is a T.G.I. Friday's in the hotel for an easy meal.

Last but not least: we were used to simple hotel-rooms so a suite was a welcome change in scenery and a (semi-)descent couch to sit on was very welcome.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms in which you can see the airconditioning fans outside your window. (right b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to to give us a review. Glad you enjoyed everything and hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We used this hotel as base when we visited Niagara Falls. We reached Buffalo airport after 11pm so couldn't make use of the airport shuttle. However, the taxi to the hotel wasn't too expensive.
When we reached the hotel the lady at reception (Linda) gave us some cookies which I thought was a nice touch.
Our room (King Suite) was massive and the beds were really comfortable.
We had to leave the hotel early the next morning so we couldn't have breakfast at the hotel, however, we were given a breakfast bag which contained an apple, a cereal bar and water.
The hotel is only about ten minutes walk from the Greyhound bus terminal so it is very conveniently located if you are planning to take the bus to Niagara Falls.
The following morning we had to go early to the airport and a member of staff offered to take us there even though it was well before the shuttle officially starts to run.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Suites hotel and would like to say thank you to Linda who always greeted us with a smile even in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague 6 nights attending a conference at the Hyatt (Comfort Suites was the overflow hotel). Stayed in room 615 (on the Chippewa side of the hotel).

Good:
* Lots of space. Colleague was willing to take sleeper sofa in the living room so with the french doors closed between the bedroom and the living room we had way more privacy (and space) than we would have had in a normal double room.
* Free airport shuttle. Just be aware that at the airport, you need to pick it up at the hotel shuttle load zone (which is on baggage level but at the end of the airport towards the buses). You'll need to schedule this ahead of time.
* Secure and quiet. Room key needed to call the lobby elevator. Noticed every hallway had a CCTV camera (with registration staff monitoring the cameras). While in the room, I heard no noise from neighbors or hallway.
* Location: right next to light rail station (free downtown) and on Chippewa strip of restaurants, bars, clubs, so several decent restaurants nearby. Would recommend Spot Coffee for pastries, sandwiches, coffee and Mighty Taco for cheap, good lunch.
* Free breakfast. Nothing fancy but included small premade omelettes, bacon/sausage patties, waffles. Gwen was able to keep up the times I was there.
* TGIF on site (if you like TGIF...personally I found better places on Chippewa).

Adequate:
* Staff. All professional...some friendlier than others.
* Housekeeping. OK but not terribly thorough. One missed the tip I left out, so I don't think they're really scanning the room to see what needs to be done (instead, focused on making bed, cleaning bathroom and that's it).

Bad:
* Southern exposure room really heated up during the day and HVAC was not great at cooling the room down. Thankfully windows did open for some fresh air but train was a little noisy so had to close the windows after the room cooled off in order to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the very detailed review. I am glad that you enjoyed everything. Thinking about some of your comments I would suggest to use the full blackout drapes in the room. This would completely block out the sun. I will speak to the staff about the tip. I am hoping it was not taken because staff usually get tips at check out and not during a stayover and are trained to not take any money, even small change, unless someone has checked out. Really appreciate the feedback. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Comfort Suites is run by an amazing staff! Everyone is cordial & helpful which makes the hotel stay very comfortable! The hotel is clean, newly remodeled w/ great amenities, inexpensive & so close to all the great restaurants, entertainment & nightlife in the area. If you don't want to leave the hotel TGI Fridays is connected right next door thru a hallway.
When on business visiting the offices located in the Main Place Towers - a trolly is available right outside the front door or if you enjoy a walk, it's just a few blocks away!

Thank You for Everything!

Linda
FlaktWoods

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for considering us #1! So glad you like the hotel and all that we offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I want to thank Dan the maintenance man for helping me out, I stay for the week og May 29th to June 5th. I was participating in the Golden Games and do not have a power chair yet and my arms were hurting and Dan was nice enough to make sure I got to my room safely. Dan was really nice and helpful, he made me feel good about my self and why I was their. Dan is an outstanding employee.
Tommy White
lake Ozark, MO

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. I will make sure we recognize Dan for his great service. We are lucky to have him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo

Address: 601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.