We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent one night, wish I could have spent more.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spent one night, wish I could have spent more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is a seven story building located on the corner of Main and E. Chippewa. The Buffalo Metro Rail runs right by the door. There is a TGIF restaurant on the ground floor that doubles as official room service until 10 PM. There is no on site parking. However free parking is supplied at a parking garage about 300 yards from the door. In and out tickets are supplied at the front desk. Main Street is a pedestrian Mall with the surface section of Metro Rail running down the middle. I noticed numerous theaters and restaurants in this area.

There is short term parking in front of the door for check-in and to unload your belongings. The lobby is large and clean. Check-in itself is quick and easy. The clerks I dealt with were pleasant and helpful. They answered all the questions I had and gave good directions to the garage and the local destinations I was visiting. There is direct access to the TGIF without leaving the building. There is a free breakfast, self serve, with both hot and cold breakfast fare available. The front desk has bottled water and DVDs, free for the asking. Free Wall Street Journal and USA Today are also available.

Security requires the use of your room key card to access the elevator. There are 2 elevators. The elevators were quick to answer the call button and were quick to the 6th floor where my room was located.

The room was a suite, living room, bathroom and bedroom and a small kitchen counter in the entry area. The living room/entry has a couch, chair, small desk and coffee table. There was also a large HD flat screen TV. Nothing special but comfortable. The kitchen area had a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. All the rooms were clean.

The bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels. Entry was from the living room or the bedroom. Again, nothing special, but clean. Very important to me. The bedroom had a king size bed and plenty of pillows of various firmness and a large HD TV. There was a small dressing area off the bedroom that also allowed access to the bathroom. The room had free wireless internet. The wall sockets at the desk and counter had both 110 volt and USB sockets.

To sum up. Friendly people, clean comfortable room, lots of little amenities. I would go here in a second on any return trip to Buffalo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Wow, thank you for the very nice detailed review of the hotel. I could not have summarized it better. Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    149
    46
    19
    23
See reviews for
108
128
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights because we were in town for a wedding. Highlights: The room was spacious and clean. There were doors in the suite to separate the bedroom area from the living area/kitchenette and TVs with DVD players in both rooms. The front desk provided a list of items for checkout - humidifiers, noise machines, DVDs, body pillows, and several others. There is a TGI Friday's restaurant in the lobby but there are several great local eateries within walking distance. The location is perfect if you're going to a show across the street at Shea's theatre.

I only have one complaint - the free wifi is horrible and unreliable. The hotel staff could only refer me to the Wandering Wifi support hotline when I reported it. I spent over an hour on the phone with the support techs who were constantly trying to improve the wifi quality remotely, but unfortunately it was spotty all week. I understand that the wifi was managed by an external vendor, but the hotel should put forth more effort to ensure the quality of the technology instead of telling guests to call a support hotline.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed all the little "extras" we provide. I am very sorry about the internet. We have been working with our internet provider to improve the service and it is a top priority. It was indeed sporadic and a solution has been found. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

You can't beat the price for this hotel with its location and great rooms that are huge! Everything is in great condition and you can even request different types of pillows. The main lobby looks like every other Comfort Suites but the rooms were more than expected! The fresh cookies in the lobby were a nice treat as well!

Down the street from awesome restaurants including The Chocolate Bar!!!...(great chocolate mojito)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went for an inexpensive overnight stay near the hospitals in Buffalo. Searched and this got higher reviews than those that were only $15 less expensive. Well worth it! Room had microwave, frig, couch, two tv's and in wonderful condition. Trolley one block away, walking distance to everything in downtown especially the Theater district. They have some good shows coming up and I suggest you book this place. I wish we could have spent longer in Buffalo because the room was great and the downtown area was great.

Room Tip: There is a charge this year for weekend parking and it is two blocks away but covered and patrolled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed the hotel and the great location that we sit in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked the Comfort Suites because it was close to the arena for a Rhianna concert. The hotel was awesome! Clean friendly staff. The shuttle to the arena was 1 block away.Great way to see an event and a convenient place to stay. we ate right at TGIF that was in the hotel. We never had to get the car which was about a block away at a garage.Not real fond of the $10 charge to park on weekends but not a deal breaker.Only negatives were the free breakfasting the wifi. The breakfast was terrible lousy food set up all wrong a real displeasure! You would be better off go out somewhere dd and Hortens are across the street. The wifi was in and out we could not get connected and it would fall out more than it was in. We just used our 3G connection but it would have been nice to have a good reliable wifi. So just a couple of negatives but overall great place to stay we would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad you had a nice stay. I am sorry that the WIFI did not work well. We had a few days when it was coming and going due to some city construction. I will take a look at the hot breakfast buffet and see where we can make some improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My son was recently visiting the Buffalo area and got lost from the group he was with. He was stranded on Main St. He walked inside the hotel and Cliff (the gentleman behind the desk) went out of his way to help him by having the staff clean a room so he could check in. I advised Cliff via phone that we would not be there for a few hours because we were coming from Cleveland. He took my information over the phone and made sure he got to his room. Then, when we got home we realized that we did not have one of our cell phones. We called and was told that they did locate it in the room. Jen took care of getting it back to us. Even though that night and situation was not what we planned, Cliff and Jen were able to accompanied what we needed by going above there normal duties. I would like to thank your caring staff and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for the very nice comments, especially about Cliff and Jen. They are a great asset to our hotel team. I am very pleased that they assisted you and I will pass on the nice words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is very average, rooms are very spacious but nothing stands out; service was all very "blah"; right next to the train (loud) and like I said the parking really hurts this hotel... When your from out of town in a seedy neighborhood, you feel imprisoned when you don't feel comfortable walking to or from your car in the dark.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. You are correct that parking is not always the most convenient. Many hotels in most large cities use city parking garages and ours is almost 2 blocks away. We do pay for the parking weekdays and only have to charge weekends. We will also help shuttle guests to and from the garage with our shuttle if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo

Address: 601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.