We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here especially if you're going to see a show!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Buffalo
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stay here especially if you're going to see a show!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

You can't beat the price for this hotel with its location and great rooms that are huge! Everything is in great condition and you can even request different types of pillows. The main lobby looks like every other Comfort Suites but the rooms were more than expected! The fresh cookies in the lobby were a nice treat as well!

Down the street from awesome restaurants including The Chocolate Bar!!!...(great chocolate mojito)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    140
    45
    19
    22
See reviews for
105
119
40
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went for an inexpensive overnight stay near the hospitals in Buffalo. Searched and this got higher reviews than those that were only $15 less expensive. Well worth it! Room had microwave, frig, couch, two tv's and in wonderful condition. Trolley one block away, walking distance to everything in downtown especially the Theater district. They have some good shows coming up and I suggest you book this place. I wish we could have spent longer in Buffalo because the room was great and the downtown area was great.

Room Tip: There is a charge this year for weekend parking and it is two blocks away but covered and patrolled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed the hotel and the great location that we sit in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked the Comfort Suites because it was close to the arena for a Rhianna concert. The hotel was awesome! Clean friendly staff. The shuttle to the arena was 1 block away.Great way to see an event and a convenient place to stay. we ate right at TGIF that was in the hotel. We never had to get the car which was about a block away at a garage.Not real fond of the $10 charge to park on weekends but not a deal breaker.Only negatives were the free breakfasting the wifi. The breakfast was terrible lousy food set up all wrong a real displeasure! You would be better off go out somewhere dd and Hortens are across the street. The wifi was in and out we could not get connected and it would fall out more than it was in. We just used our 3G connection but it would have been nice to have a good reliable wifi. So just a couple of negatives but overall great place to stay we would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad you had a nice stay. I am sorry that the WIFI did not work well. We had a few days when it was coming and going due to some city construction. I will take a look at the hot breakfast buffet and see where we can make some improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My son was recently visiting the Buffalo area and got lost from the group he was with. He was stranded on Main St. He walked inside the hotel and Cliff (the gentleman behind the desk) went out of his way to help him by having the staff clean a room so he could check in. I advised Cliff via phone that we would not be there for a few hours because we were coming from Cleveland. He took my information over the phone and made sure he got to his room. Then, when we got home we realized that we did not have one of our cell phones. We called and was told that they did locate it in the room. Jen took care of getting it back to us. Even though that night and situation was not what we planned, Cliff and Jen were able to accompanied what we needed by going above there normal duties. I would like to thank your caring staff and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for the very nice comments, especially about Cliff and Jen. They are a great asset to our hotel team. I am very pleased that they assisted you and I will pass on the nice words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is very average, rooms are very spacious but nothing stands out; service was all very "blah"; right next to the train (loud) and like I said the parking really hurts this hotel... When your from out of town in a seedy neighborhood, you feel imprisoned when you don't feel comfortable walking to or from your car in the dark.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. You are correct that parking is not always the most convenient. Many hotels in most large cities use city parking garages and ours is almost 2 blocks away. We do pay for the parking weekdays and only have to charge weekends. We will also help shuttle guests to and from the garage with our shuttle if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently stayed here for a night while attendinga Sabres game. The location of the hotel to the arena is a short 5 minute cab ride. The hitel is also located in the block with all the nightlife after the game.

The rooms are all suites and provide tons of space. In addition, the room was very clean. My only minor complaint would be the small half pillows on the bed.

I had read a review about the noise from the tram outside the hotel and did hear it a few times, but it is nothing that will keep you awake.

The free breakfast is a great start to the day with all the basics.

Parking is a block away. Only $5 if you are just going to lea e the car in the parking garage. Otherwise it is $10. If paying the $5 just give it to the parking attendant at the garage. Hotel charges $10.

Will stay here in the future for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Glad you had a nice stay. You are correct about the pillows but that is NOW fixed. We just received new pillows and by the end of the week ALL rooms will have brand new pillows and there will be a soft and firm choice. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The price was decent for what we got with this room and also in comparison to the other hotels in the area. We stayed overnight after going to a Sabres game. Solid location so that we could walk to the Niagara Centre for the game. I thought it was pretty quiet, even for a game night, which was great. The king bed was really comfortable and the free breakfast in the morning was great. Downfalls: the pull-out sofa bed was extrememly uncomfortable, the hot water in the shower was really not hot but warm at best. Other tips, bring a pillow if you like to sleep with lots of big pillows, the pillows here are pretty small (1/2 size of normal). Overall, we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We have listended to the bad feedback on pillows over the last few months and coincidentally just receieved our shipment to replace ALL pillows in the hotel. By the end of this week all rooms will have brand new pillows with both a soft and firm choice. Hope you will be back to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo

Address: 601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.