We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and Caring Staff Members that were great to work with” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
“Helpful and Caring Staff Members that were great to work with”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My son was recently visiting the Buffalo area and got lost from the group he was with. He was stranded on Main St. He walked inside the hotel and Cliff (the gentleman behind the desk) went out of his way to help him by having the staff clean a room so he could check in. I advised Cliff via phone that we would not be there for a few hours because we were coming from Cleveland. He took my information over the phone and made sure he got to his room. Then, when we got home we realized that we did not have one of our cell phones. We called and was told that they did locate it in the room. Jen took care of getting it back to us. Even though that night and situation was not what we planned, Cliff and Jen were able to accompanied what we needed by going above there normal duties. I would like to thank your caring staff and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for the very nice comments, especially about Cliff and Jen. They are a great asset to our hotel team. I am very pleased that they assisted you and I will pass on the nice words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    178
    51
    20
    24
See reviews for
129
150
43
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very average, rooms are very spacious but nothing stands out; service was all very "blah"; right next to the train (loud) and like I said the parking really hurts this hotel... When your from out of town in a seedy neighborhood, you feel imprisoned when you don't feel comfortable walking to or from your car in the dark.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visions H, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. You are correct that parking is not always the most convenient. Many hotels in most large cities use city parking garages and ours is almost 2 blocks away. We do pay for the parking weekdays and only have to charge weekends. We will also help shuttle guests to and from the garage with our shuttle if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a night while attendinga Sabres game. The location of the hotel to the arena is a short 5 minute cab ride. The hitel is also located in the block with all the nightlife after the game.

The rooms are all suites and provide tons of space. In addition, the room was very clean. My only minor complaint would be the small half pillows on the bed.

I had read a review about the noise from the tram outside the hotel and did hear it a few times, but it is nothing that will keep you awake.

The free breakfast is a great start to the day with all the basics.

Parking is a block away. Only $5 if you are just going to lea e the car in the parking garage. Otherwise it is $10. If paying the $5 just give it to the parking attendant at the garage. Hotel charges $10.

Will stay here in the future for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Glad you had a nice stay. You are correct about the pillows but that is NOW fixed. We just received new pillows and by the end of the week ALL rooms will have brand new pillows and there will be a soft and firm choice. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The price was decent for what we got with this room and also in comparison to the other hotels in the area. We stayed overnight after going to a Sabres game. Solid location so that we could walk to the Niagara Centre for the game. I thought it was pretty quiet, even for a game night, which was great. The king bed was really comfortable and the free breakfast in the morning was great. Downfalls: the pull-out sofa bed was extrememly uncomfortable, the hot water in the shower was really not hot but warm at best. Other tips, bring a pillow if you like to sleep with lots of big pillows, the pillows here are pretty small (1/2 size of normal). Overall, we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We have listended to the bad feedback on pillows over the last few months and coincidentally just receieved our shipment to replace ALL pillows in the hotel. By the end of this week all rooms will have brand new pillows with both a soft and firm choice. Hope you will be back to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mans, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Right on Main Street good self serve breakfast room/suite excellent bedroom kitchenette lounge.
Only thing is if light sleeper the tram runs from 6am and it makes a beep beep noise.
Oh and Niagra falls sublime!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our infant for a few nights. The service was excellent. We had several requests for our daughter (we needed a crib in the room, some fresh water bottles, etc) and they fulfilled each of our requests quickly.

The room was also very nice. The layout was fantastic, and I loved that the bedroom was separate from the living space. Two large flat screen TV's, a nice big bathroom, a sofa and work desk, free internet.

It was also in a great location - being only a block away from the metro and close to the much pricier Hyatt. I highly recommend staying here next time you're in Buffalo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments! I am so happy that the staff were able to help you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
399 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

For those familiar with comfort suites, this is a great hotel. Rooms large and clean. Parking is free except on Fridays and Saturdays. Hotel has easy acces to many restaurants. Quality is as good as higher brands but at a better price point.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuffComfortGM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.7 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#14 of 21 in Buffalo
3.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo

Address: 601 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Comfort Suites Buffalo
Buffalo Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.