We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious security issue followed by filthy room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Buffalo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Fountain Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Buffalo
Toronto
1 review
“Serious security issue followed by filthy room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had a terrible experience at the Hyatt Regency on the night of Nov 7, 2012. I can overlook the slow elevators (at least it's because they are upgrading them). However, there are serious issues that can never be overlooked. I was first able to get into my room around 5:30pm. About 30 minutes later, I received a phone call in the room from the Manager, asking for me by name, saying there was another issue with my credit card (there was some confusion when I first checked in). I was already heading out, so I said I would head to the front desk, which I did. There I learned that there was no issue, and then asked about this 'manager', who turned out, didn't exist. Switchboard confirmed that they had transferred a call, somebody who asked for me by name - violating company policy to start.

Realizing this was a ploy to get me to leave my room, I quickly turned and returned to my room. Everything was still there...which I took, and then returned to front desk to get a new room. After some hemming and hawing, I was given another room. While housekeeping had obviously been there (bed was made, etc), the room was disgusting. There was dried urine on the toilet seat and on the floor in front of it. The TV remote was covered in a mix of dried 'stuff', and I didn't dare touch it. Not trusting the rest of the room, including check for bedbugs (there were 4 different layers to check so I really hope I checked enough), I had to continuously wash my hands.

I won't stay at this hotel again, and it will take some effort for me to not associate Hyatt with filthy, unsafe hotels.

Room Tip: You'll find a cleaner, safer room down the street at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRBGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am deeply sorry for the difficulties you experienced during your recent stay. This is not typical of the level of service and cleanliness we are known to provide. It is not hotel policy to transfer a call unless the room number is provided. Our Rooms Executive will be reviewing this policy with all staff to ensure that the proper procedures are being followed.

We are currently in the midst of a $1.4 million dollar modernization project of our elevators to include increased speed and efficiency, as well as completely remodeled cabs with digital media and information panels. During this time one elevator is out of service at a time. We have made a service elevator available to help avoid delays during peak times. Each cab takes approximately 16 weeks to complete. Our first newly renovated elevator came online in the last two weeks. We expect the second to be completed by New Year's Eve and the third by early 2013. We certainly do understand your frustration with the elevators and appreciate your patience as we work to improve them!

I would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns further. Please contact the hotel directly if you would like to do so. We certainly do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again should your travels return you to Western New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    300
    118
    62
    58
See reviews for
187
210
54
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Regency Hyatt Buffalo, as we were attending a Rush concert. From check-in to check-out we had a friendly and helpfull experience. The accomodations were very clean and comfortable. Kudos out to Bradley, the Bell person, he went "above and beyond" with his helpfulness and kindness as well as other staff. A delicious buffet breakfast was served in the bar/lounge area. Will definitely stay here again when in the area.
Jez.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Grzesik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt for one. Ought for a hockey game - right on the tram line it was easy access to the game with no hassles. Before hopping the train, we bar hopped a few blocks over and entirely had a wonderful time! Clean rooms with good taste!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highstandards1034
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice property, room very clean, very quiet which is important to me. Bell staff and really all staff very pleasant and helpful. Was there for a conference and the housekeeper came early in the day which I love. Nothing worse than finally getting back to your room late in the afternoon and still have room not made up or have to leave your room for them to do when you are looking forward to a break. This was the earliest I have ever had. Room service very prompt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was recently at a convention in Buffalo, NY, staying at the Hyatt Regency. From check in to check out, all of the personnel were friendly and competent. Our early check in was no problem, the valet and the porters were especially friendly. The room was fine and housekeeping was great. When seated at the bar, the service was prompt,and friendly and drinks were perfect. Bar service at the tables was a little slow, but not unacceptable. The only food we had was at pre planned parties, but two of these were in the hotel and the food was great. In short, I would recommend this hotel. Valet even went out of their way to point out a parking garage that was $5.00 per night than their service.

Only two caveats, valet parks cars outside, so if this is an issue, use the parking garage, and the neighborhood is dicey, so take cabs at night, rather than walk. There were a couple of murders two blocks over, just before we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Accomadation fine, very nice staff. One issue with room was lack of products in fridge. No water etc. No table in exec. room if we had decided to order in room service. Nice breakfast with friendly staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We purchased a two night stay at the hotel through a jaunt.ca package. We were pleasantly surprised by the value we received for our money. Our room was very clean, quiet, and updated. They were undergoing an elevator renovation, so elevator service was slow. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly. Valet service was included with our package, and while it's not something we usually go for, the staff were very efficient when it came to retrieving our car and very helpful with recommendations for shopping and eating. There is a Starbucks kiosk on site in the morning, but it's slow and the food options are subpar. Room service is excellent--friendly, efficient and delicious, too. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Address: 2 Fountain Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;