We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and friendly personnel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Buffalo to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Fountain Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great service and friendly personnel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was recently at a convention in Buffalo, NY, staying at the Hyatt Regency. From check in to check out, all of the personnel were friendly and competent. Our early check in was no problem, the valet and the porters were especially friendly. The room was fine and housekeeping was great. When seated at the bar, the service was prompt,and friendly and drinks were perfect. Bar service at the tables was a little slow, but not unacceptable. The only food we had was at pre planned parties, but two of these were in the hotel and the food was great. In short, I would recommend this hotel. Valet even went out of their way to point out a parking garage that was $5.00 per night than their service.

Only two caveats, valet parks cars outside, so if this is an issue, use the parking garage, and the neighborhood is dicey, so take cabs at night, rather than walk. There were a couple of murders two blocks over, just before we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    321
    128
    68
    64
See reviews for
199
225
56
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Accomadation fine, very nice staff. One issue with room was lack of products in fridge. No water etc. No table in exec. room if we had decided to order in room service. Nice breakfast with friendly staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We purchased a two night stay at the hotel through a jaunt.ca package. We were pleasantly surprised by the value we received for our money. Our room was very clean, quiet, and updated. They were undergoing an elevator renovation, so elevator service was slow. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly. Valet service was included with our package, and while it's not something we usually go for, the staff were very efficient when it came to retrieving our car and very helpful with recommendations for shopping and eating. There is a Starbucks kiosk on site in the morning, but it's slow and the food options are subpar. Room service is excellent--friendly, efficient and delicious, too. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Room was very nice, large and updated. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that does NOT have a door to an adjoining room. Check in/out was very quick; staff aims to please. Buffet breakfast is pricey but good. With the buffet option, you are not a hostage to the wait staff. We asked for the check with our order and both arrived at the same time as asked. Waitress was very attentive both mornings we stopped for breakfast. The lobby area is very nice to enjoy a cup of coffee at the Starbucks in the lobby. The location is great and parking in the open air lot across the street was the way to go, with unlimited in and out. Will stay here again next trip. Verizon 3G for Ipad and phone worked well here so need need for hotel wifi. Short walk to St Michael's for mass on Sunday. Nice hotel...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for four nights in October - Hotel was well appointed - beds were superb. Rooms were clean - but sure would have appreciated better sound proofing. Easy access to the convention centre through a pedway. Starbucks in the lobby. Food was a little greasy in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a fairly depressed part of the city...not much shopping around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 5 days Oct. 20-24-2012 for business, staff were very helpful and frendly, room a bit dated but very clean, comfortable, large with lot of amenities. price was very resonable compared to other large cities hi end hotels, on site resturants and facilites were excellent.
would definitly stay here again. Jamie & Lynn

Room Tip: king room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've stayed at the Hyatt many times and it's nothing but consistent. Consistently clean, friendly & easily located (yeah hotels don't move much). Parking is expensive considering there are 2 pay lots across the street that I always use. The room are updated with good beds, LCD tvs and modern bathrooms, but there are no suites.
A perk for members of Hyatt's reward program is that all memebers, not just elite members, get free wifi for unlimited devices. The bar in the lobby is decent for a hotel bar and is a good spot to watch a game with some cheap beers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the concierge level as it is restricted access and often much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRBGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Buffalo, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hyatt Regency Buffalo with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I did want to take the opportunity to let you know that we are currently in the midst of a $1.4 million dollar modernization project of our elevators to include increased speed and efficiency, as well as completely remodeled cabs with digital media and information panels. Each cab takes approximately 16 weeks to complete. Our first newly renovated elevator came online in the last two weeks. We expect the second to be completed by New Year's Eve and the third by early 2013. We certainly do understand your frustration with the elevators and appreciate your patience as we work to improve them!

We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels return you to the Western New York area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Address: 2 Fountain Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.