We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onsite Convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Buffalo to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Buffalo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Fountain Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Onsite Convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel was the official location of the yearly gothic music convention, Convergence 18. I was greeted by Clint, who asked if I would be checking in before I got in line for the registration desk. He walked me to the desk and had me checked in within minutes, card-key in hand, with provided map and simple directions to the elevators. While attending the convention I utilized both public transit and cabs with little to no effort at reasonable prices. The bell-hops knew the best cabbie in town, 'Old Joe', and readily hailed him. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and housekeeping was flawless.
The neighborhood this hotel is located situated in is on 'Main Street', which is not an automotive thoroughfare at all. It's used for trolley service and has wide, brick pedestrian walkways and many trolley stations. I never heard the trolleys. They're whisper-quiet, but the street is heavily populated with downtrodden/homeless people, many of whom panhandle near the stations. The hotel's front entrance faces Pearl Street, which offers wide concrete sidewalks and access to many bus-stops. Stores and services nearby tended to close down fairly early, as the neighborhood is a business district rather than a tourism/retail-oriented area. There is a quirky, modern neighborhood to the west with many small entrepreneurial restaurants featuring ecclectic cuisine, and the hotel offers an excellent menu for those who do not care to venture out.

Room Tip: Both CVS and Rite-Aid, located south of the hotel on Main Street, close early on Sat/Sun. Buy your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    359
    144
    71
    68
See reviews for
229
257
58
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A very nice stay. Room was clean, confortable & quiet. Staff was friendly & courteous. Nice touch with the Atrium for breakfast. Pool was great! Nothing negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt in Buffalo, where we attended a conference. The room we had was very clean and quiet. We needed some logistical help with our reservations when our plans changed and we had to leave earlier than expected. We received excellent assistance via email in advance of our visit, on check in, and at check out. Throughout the stay, we experienced top-notch hospitality from staff throughout the hotel--from the shuttle driver from the airport to the support staff who answered our questions as we found our way around. The conference rooms were a bit cold the first day, but that was taken care of by the second. The elevators were slow. They'd opened up a second bank of service elevators and that helped. Renovations in process should take care of this for future visitors. We'll be back if we have a chance to visit Buffalo again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just had a 4-day conference at the Hyatt Regency. Was a terrific facility with superior service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have been attending conferences in hotels for three decades, and based on this experience am moved to write in superlatives about my recent experience of the Hyatt Regency. Four nights in this hotel convinced me they not only know what they are doing but really care about it. Every staff member, from the person polishing the banister to the woman cleaning the room, from the tech who helped with my powerpoint to the front desk employee, plus every member of the wait staff in our busy group dining room -- every staff member was competent, courteous, and more than that seemed like they really and personally cared about our needs and well being. The food was way above adequate. And as to the sleeping rooms: comfortable chairs, excellent mattress, pillows and linens to die for, spotless bathrooms, a wonderful shower, towels that enfolded and absorbed. The lobby and common areas are attractive and welcoming. Comfortable chairs are not hard to find. My one complaint after five busy days? Their elevators are slow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stay on the weekend at this hotel and I got what a paid for a nice clean modern hotel. Friendly front staff, very helpful. If there was one disappointment it would be that house cleaning opened up my door at 9:25 am in the morning wanting to clean. I had the chain on so that put a stop to an unwanted visitor while I was still in bed! I had not checked out yet so I was suprised to hear them already wanting in the room... i guess they are unaware that Buffalo bars are open until 4:00 am and some people just went to bed!

The hotel is walking distance to a bunch of clubs, i felt safe as a woman walking back to the hotel at 4:00 even in Buffalo because the hotel was so close to the entertainment districk and we saved money on taxi's. Not a lot of great places to eat however... the place in the hotel is expensive $40 for a steak or you can go across the road and get one for half the price.

There are a lot of conferences taking place which is ok because you have lots of interesting conversations finding out why they are there.

I would return, it was a nice clean hotel close to entertainment and the staff was friendly. Next time I will request that cleaning doesn't come in until I check out... usually they do???

Room Tip: stayed in room 1041 end of the hallway and its a long hallway especially when you have to go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The check in/out process at this Hyatt Regency was top notch. They were energetic, friendly and actually came out from behind the desk to hand you your room keys while checking in and your bill while checking out. While the elevators seemed to be a little slow, they made us very aware that they are renovating the elevators which was why one was shut down causing some delays. They did allow guests to use their staff/freight elevators to help lessen the wait.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Address: 2 Fountain Plaza, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Buffalo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the theatre & financial districts, offering 396 guestrooms & suites. Newly opened indoor pool, new onsite, full service Spa and new StayFit health club. Just steps away from the Chippewa Entertainment district, Elmwood Village, variety of restaurants and shops. Connected to the Buffalo Convention Center. Walden Galleria is 15 minutes from the hotel. First Niagara Center is five minutes away; free Metro directly outside the hotel. Museum district is ten minutes away. Niagara Falls is 20 minutes from the hotel. Complimentary Business Center and WiFi and Wired Internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.