We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adam's Mark Buffalo to your Saves list
Adam's Mark Buffalo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Church Street, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auburn, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently called to make reservations at this hotel and the man who answered the phone was extremely belligerent. I was asking a few questions about rates for the group that we were staying with. He very rudely told me that the rates I was given were wrong and that the contract was signed for a certain amount. I informed him that I was not the one who signed the contract and that was why I was asking the questions. He did not offer to explain anything to me and when I told him that I would be booking with someone else he hung up on me. I will never stay at this hotel and I will be informing the group we were staying with along with all the publicity at my location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsBuffalo, Manager at Adam's Mark Buffalo, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Stacy,

Please accept my apologies as this is unacceptable. I am currently reviewing your concerns and I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience as this reservation may have been through and outside service. My sincerest apologies. I can be reached at 716 845 5100 ext 7077.

Yours in Hospitality

Jim Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    185
    185
    133
    174
See reviews for
152
170
54
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed on a personal visit with my daughter. When we arrived the hallway was covered with garbage (not even in garbage bags), maid carts all over, bed sheets in piles all over the floor. And we were after 3pm check in time. We had to move garbage out of our way just to get our luggage down the hallway. Food was horrible, hairdryer broke, The thermostat was falling off the wall, the heating/cooling system was filthy dirty, and we were breathing that crap in! The toilet seat had chips in it and was old and dirty looking. There was mould in the shower. The pool was not clean.
The only nice thing was our server Terrance, other than that I really have nothing good to say about this hotel. Overpriced for what we received. Would never stay here again.
They say they had renovations.........certainly didn't look like it !!!!!

Room Tip: dont stay at this hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsBuffalo, Manager at Adam's Mark Buffalo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Cathy,

I apologize for your experiences. I have shared your comments with our department heads and we have begun to change how we handle our gust linen recovery. It is feedback like yours that help us to continually improve our operation. Thank you for your business and I hope you will return allowing us the opportunity to renew your faith in us. If you would like to discuss your stay further please don't hesitate to call me.

Yours in Hospitality

Jim Burke
716 845-5100 ext 7077
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

As usual, this hotel never fails to let us down. Rooms have gotten better as the place has been redone. Rooms are very small by today's standards. This years debacle? The pool is still just disgusting. It was of hair and dirt on the floor of the pool and on the deck. This years shocker--puke in the pool. A little girl threw up in the pool and the front desk was immediately notified. 45 minutes later still no closing of the pool or cleaning. A maintenance guy just happened to come by but had no idea. They NEVER closed the pool! This has to be against health laws in addition to being just plain gross. We stay here a few times a year for various kids events. It ALWAYS lets us down but we have not other options.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsBuffalo, Manager at Adam's Mark Buffalo, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Travler,

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback about our pool. Our logs indicate that the staff closed the pool upon notification and immediately followed our protocol to shock and disinfect the area. It was unfortunate that his happened and we apologized to all of our guests that were counting on using the pool while it was closed. I appreciate you bringing it to our attention and look forward to your return.

Yours in Hospitality

Jim Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend named our own price and got this hotel and were booked into a standard room. We spent an overnight here for a Sabers game and were really wowed by the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and modern. We upgraded to a king for only $20 and our room was great. It was a little outdated but clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: book a regular room and than just ask for a king upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsBuffalo, Manager at Adam's Mark Buffalo, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Traveler;

Thank you for your positive review. We are all very excited about all the changes going on around here. We are returning to our glory days of the Premier Downtown hotel. Our Red Card discount program will save travelers 20% off your next stay as well as 20% off parking and food and beverages in our Deco Restaurant. As the weather breaks taking a walk to the waterfront can be exhilarating.

Yours in Hospitality

Jim Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed there for a workshop recently. I had stayed there previously and noticed a big decline in quality

The room looked like it was updated, but had some obvious damage in need of fixing. There was a hole in the bathroom door that looked like it was kicked in. The room was also facing the highway and there was a considerable amount of noise from traffic at night. The machine that dispensed the laundry detergent had no indication of it being broken, but lost a dollar and had to go down to the front desk to get my money back. I was given a box of detergent and it seems like this has been an ongoing problem.

The major issue with quality was the food. High prices and low quality food. Even one of the wait staff said there was only one dish that they would ever eat. We were given vouchers and despite this, I was always having to spend money over the voucher. The breakfast buffet was at a high price, but had the same boring choices. With the price at $14, you would think there would be real eggs and not the liquid egg product.

Finally, just to round it out, despite a checkout time at noon, i was awoken at 8am to a frantic knock from housekeeping wanting to know when I am leaving so they can clean my room. Overall, I cant complain too much as much of the food and lodging was covered by my organization, but if I were a paying customer, I would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsBuffalo, Manager at Adam's Mark Buffalo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Matt,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I appreciate your feedback and have shared them with our managers. I am looking forward to your return and continued feedback as we continue to strive for excellence.

Yours in Hospitality

Jim Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesley, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we have stayed several times here on bidding from priceline

cant believe to get a room for 55 dollars

hockey nights are busy but the rest of the time it seems empty

they have done some renos and is a little fresher

BUT get a room across from the elevators!! why?? the end rooms and those facing west have lovely noise from the freeways and you wont sleep

people complain but this is not the waldorf

but its clean, parking is cheap and simple food is medium

but the taxi service they use is lousy!!! they are always late if they are not there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsBuffalo, Manager at Adam's Mark Buffalo, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the property. I appreciate your feedback about our local cab company. I will address your concerns with them as well. I know that during special events at the arena and the ballpark they get very busy. another great feature about the property is we are just a few blocks from both venues. many of our guest enjoy the short walk to the events as well as the waterfront. We look forward to your return and we appreciate your business.

Yours in Hospitality

Jim Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

check in process great, front desk guy was very helpful. was there for a charity ball, food over cooked, told wait, was told back by him cant please everyone, asked for banquet mgr, never came, Spent the night, ordered breakfast in room next am, never showed, check out is noon, maid knocked on door at 10am and asked when i was leaving so she could clean room. Will never spend another night there, and keep telling others not to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsBuffalo, Manager at Adam's Mark Buffalo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Kevin,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize for your experiences and have shared them with our Director of Food and Beverage and he will address your concerns with his staff. If you would like to discuss your event further we would love to hear your feedback. Mr. Thomas may be reached at 716 845-5100 ext. 7111.

Yours in Hospitality

Jim Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adam's Mark Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam's Mark Buffalo

Address: 120 Church Street, Buffalo, NY 14202
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adam's Mark Buffalo 3*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adam’s Mark Hotel in Buffalo NY provides more of the comfort, amenities and entertainment choices you desire. This remarkable Buffalo hotel has 486 deluxe guest rooms, including a variety of suites. It offers an extensive list of amenities and services that ensure every guest will experience absolute comfort and pleasure. In the final stages of guestroom renovations we are excited to offer Executive King and Double Rooms featuring refrigerators and microwaves in each of these rooms. Come see our renovations we are excited to start the next phases of the renovations including corridors, lobby, Deco Restaurant and Tiffany Rose Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adam's Mark Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam`s Mark Buffalo Hotel Buffalo
Adams Mark Buffalo
Adamsmark Buffalo
Buffalo Adams Mark
Buffalo Adamsmark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adam's Mark Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.