We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasurable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-1304   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a pleasurable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western On the Avenue mid-September. Buffalo is my 'home town' and I visit it regularly. My stays there have always been more than satisfactory. The rooms are clean, the staff is great,parking is plentiful, & the location is perfect! Very close to the Allentown area, Elmwood strip, Shea's Performing Arts Center, and Kleinhans Music Hall. Many wonderful restaurants, shops, etc. I have never been disappointed and can't imagine staying anyplace else.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Waterloo, on
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western when visiting Buffalo for the Bills game. The staff were very friendly and helpful. When I asked if the room had a fridge, they arranged to bring one to the room right away. I would stay there next time I'm in Buffalo. Close to the Anchor Bar, Allentown and Chippewa Street.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was in Buffalo first with my husband when we brought our son to college at UB, and a couple of weeks later with a group of friends for a concert. T his hotel is very conveniently located, walking distance from the downtown theater district and several good restaurants, and not far from the subway entrance,

On our first visit, we arrived very tired and overheated from trudging around campus on a hot, humid day. We were a couple of hours shy of check-in time but the manager, Theresa Smith, allowed us to check in early. when she noted that the room we had been assigned had a weak wifi connection, she gave us a free upgrade to a jacuzzi suite. The room was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable bed. Later in the afternoon when we went out for a bit of shopping and dinner, Theresa provided us with a map and some suggestions of where to eat. ( We can now give high marks to FAT BOB'S SMOKEHOUSE for barbecue, and COLTER BAY GRILL for burgers and wings....both within a block of the hotel. Colter Bay is a bit noisy but the wings make it worth it!)

On my second visit to this hotel I also received excellent customer service, wish I could recall the girl's name, a young woman with strawberry blonde hair and glasses....the first room I was assigned was next door to a group of guys with a case of beer and very loud voices. after 45 minutes in my room, during which time I could hear them yukking it up nonstop, I concluded that this was going to be a problem if I wanted to get some sleep. The young woman at the desk was happy to reassign me even though the hotel was already sold out for the night (and I'd already been in the room unwrapping the soap and so on) and she found me a nice quiet room. The same woman also helped me with using the hotel computers because I am not the most computer-savvy person.

Breakfast is the same at most Best Westerns, it isn't gourmet fare, but it is dependably fresh with a decent variety, and the coffee is very nice.

Other positives: we saw a number of housekeeping staff members and they always greet you with a smile, only a small thing but I think it lends a friendly atmosphere to the whole place. Also, I like the fact that the entire parking lot was very brightly floodlit at night, I expect it discourages thieves and I felt safe leaving my valuables locked in the trunk. Oh, and we love the parrot in the lobby.

I have only one minor complaint, and this will only trouble those who are traveling in a group. If your room is, for example, on the third floor, your elevator key card will ONLY allow you to go as high as the third floor. Friends on the fourth floor? too bad. You can't go knock in their doors. you can only go to their rooms WITH them. And THEN once you have, you cant get BACK to your own floor, the fourth floor friend had to key the elevator FOR you. key cards required in the stairwells too. This made it difficult for us as we were a group of eight and we were trying to gather in one persons room for some wine and cheese later in the evening, and the running back and forth with the right persons elevator key EVERY time someone needed to go in or out was ridiculous. I understand the need for security but there has to be a way around this.

I would definitely recommend Best Western On The Avenue for comfort, convenience and service, with the caveat that if you are in a group, you should make sure you're all on the same floor.

Room Tip: make sure your whole group is on the same floor, or the lower floor occupants won't be able to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regardez403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in September while in Buffalo for business. The hotel is in a good location - Close to downtown, restaurants and bars. The area seems safe, however, the front desk does tell you to make sure to remove any valuables from the car. Good practice, but makes me leary of the area.

The lobby is small but the bird is pretty cool to come back to. The rooms are straight out of the 1980s. Very basic, no extras.

The breakfast is just ok. I have had better at comparable hotels.

I may stay at again, but would probably check out other options in the area to see how they are.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albanyjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston, ny
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff was very friendly and professional. Unfortunately the room did not meet my expectations. There was mold on the bathtub tile and in the grout - especially around the soap dish - yuck! I was also not impressed with the plastic sheet under the badly wrinkled bottom sheet on the bed. On the plus side the free 24 hour coffee in the lobby was nice. Since cleanliness if a priority for me I would opt for a different hotel on my next visit to Buffalo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingstonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

High spot is a 16 year old African gray parrot in the lobby. Nice to find an elevator for a change and security is good - you need your key card to get above ground floor.

Room is nice, my wife liked the heat lamp in the bathroom. TV is old and small.

Room Tip: The clerks were helpful, picked a location best for us: I wanted a room near the elevator since I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a wonderful stay in Buffalo. Reason for trip was nephews wedding. Our room, the service, the employees, from top to bottom was AWSOME! Everyone was willing to assist when needed.
Daniell, Theresa and Dawn were exceptional. Every housekeeper, every employee I had any interaction with were outstanding! The old saying saving the best for last, well I am! Vernon, "the man"! What an enjoyable, helpful attentive guard, you are the BEST!!!
Thank you all for your help and service. It is very obvious you all enjoy your job and feel "ownership" in your place of employment!
I will be back!!.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank homerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown Buffalo
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
1.1 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#14 of 22 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue

Address: 510 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn - On The Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Buffalo
Buffalo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing