We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No soup for you!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Original Soup Man

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Original Soup Man
5223 Sheridan Dr, Buffalo, NY 14221
(716) 204-5881
Improve this listing
Ranked #450 of 919 Restaurants in Buffalo
Restaurant details
Williamsville, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No soup for you!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love soup, but I have eaten there 3 times and although the food quality is good, the price leaves a bad taste in my mouth. The restaurant is mostly a store-front with formica tables crowded into a sparsely furnished room with the ordering area within feet of the tables. There are usually at least 10 choices from chile to seafood soups. I recently had a turkey chile. It was flavorful, loaded with meat and assorted vegetables and beans, so very good. BUT, a cup was literally 6 oz. of soup, served with a piece of fruit and a roll which set me back over 7 dollars!!!

The staff is efficient and polite, but I would not say friendly. You can get better value within 1 block, which I recommend you do. I am amazed it has stayed open in a city where good food is available at reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Quality Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This place is super clean, efficient and the food is great. It is one of the first times I had a seafood soup that actually had lots of hunks of seafood in it. They give you a nice piece of bread with it and even a little chocolate treat. The service is helpful and polite. They also have wonderful sandwiches as well. It is worth every cent/

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pricey but really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

Had bowl of lobster bisque..the daily special. Total was $10.82 for soup, apple, small piece of bread. Real lobster in soup and it was ouatanding. Cozy little place and nice staff. Just a storefront rest. In a strip mall. Think I overpaid but it was delicious.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
2 reviews
“Not always worth the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I often go here but mainly because their easier to get soup from than a neighboring cafe. While the soup is good it is HIGHLY overpriced. I saw a previous commenter mentioned that you get "all this for..." but it depends highly on the soup that you get. What they are referring to is a small cup of soup which often doesn't leave you satisfied. Yes you get a piece of dry bread and a little chocolate square and a piece of fruit but that bill often is about 12 - 13 dollars unless you are getting a plain veggie no frills soup. The sandwiches are NOT that tasty here so if you are looking for that this isn't your place. The staff (depending on who's working) is okay. Today the lobster bisque was bland. (not sure how this happens as their soups are preshipped already done they don't cook them from scratch here!) Another reason why they are overpriced and the mgr keeps a bowl of cut lobster meat on the counter (getting luke warm) to dump into each order of lobster bisque. (Really??!!!)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The soup and staff combine to make this one of the best places for lunch in town. You get the soup, a sandwich, a drink and some chocolate and a piece of fruit, all starting at 7.95! that's a great deal. They have salads and sandwiches and great paninis. You can take out or eat in, and you'll be in and out quickly. They also do free delivery and catering for events. The soup is hearty and tasty. I had the turkey chili with a 3 cheese panini, and i was full. Try it! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Soup Man also viewed

 

Been to Original Soup Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Soup Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.