We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and salad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romeo & Juliet's Bakery & Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Romeo & Juliet's Bakery & Cafe
1292 Hertel Ave, Buffalo, NY 14216
(716) 873-5730
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 908 restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Bakery, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza and salad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Romeo and Juliet's offers traditional Italian fare with fresh ingredients. The pizzas are thin crust and delicious. Their salads are excellent as well. They have a full bakery with cannolis and other Italian dessert treats.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    25
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great value for great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visit here occasionally for a simple dinner or lunch. The service is prompt and friendly and the food is excellent. We usually split one of their salads which could easily feed 2 to 3 people, and one of their artisan pizzas. There are several choices of which to choose from when ordering the pizza and salads. Both are made with very tasty and fresh ingredients. The two items combined are more than enough to fill us and so reasonably priced it is almost unbelievable. Frequently we even have leftovers. I highly recommend this casual spot for a simple reasonable but good meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Desserts to die for and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch on Good Friday and had excellent service. Many great options on the regular menu but we went with two of the specials and were delighted. The desserts are exquisite! Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I will go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I Visited Romeo and Juliet's on Hertel this Saturday afternoon for a quiet weekend lunch. Ambiance is warm and cozy and food is fresh, real and delicious. I ordered a chicken panini that had provolone, spinach, and hot peppers on it with a side of garlic mayo- the panini was served to me loaded with spinach, roasted and carved chicken, big slices of hot peppers, and oooey gooes cheese, on an olive oil brushed and grilled- huge piece of fresh baked bread, appropriately served in the shape of a heart. I couldn't stop eating it- too good! I should mention too that each table is served fresh baked bread and hummus, so prepare for carb overload. Surrounding tables had ordered pizza, and 1 pizza between 2 people appeared to be plenty, especially if you order a salad to share, or dessert after! Highly recommend this quaint restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful place in the heart of North Buffalo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Romeo and Juliets is a wonderful place and quite the gem in the North Buffalo area.
You have the choice of sampling something from the take-out bakery ( including some amazing desserts and Canoli's ) or sitting in the "Juliets" restaurant area and having a lovely meal.
The restaurant area is a wonderful mix of cosy and warm, with enough space for a good amount of people, the inside is decorated like an Italian streetside cafe, and is a pleasure to be ( also during the summer its great to sit outside on the patio and people watch along Hertel )

The food is wonderful and with pleasant service, recently I sampled the Bruschetta as an appetizer, along with their Pepperoni PIzza ( Don't worry I didn't eat ALL of that in one sitting, some of the pizza came home with me !! ), the Bruschetta was fresh and tasty and the pizza was well made and with a fresh style that is a nice departure from the normal greasy pepperoni pizza.

We didn't stay for dessert this time, but have in the past and they're as tasty as they look in the bakery.
As we don't live far away from R&J's we make it a point to come here from time to time and haven't had a bad experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romeo & Juliet's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Romeo & Juliet's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romeo & Juliet's Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.