We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy in a cold city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House
893 Elmwood Ave, corner St. James Pl, Buffalo, NY 14222   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy in a cold city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were pleased with the location of this Inn, it was in a hip area of Buffalo with interesting shops and restaurants. The Innkeeper Karen was friendly and made some great reccomendations for places to eat, how to get around and activities for us to do. The rooms were clean and well maintained. There was a handy kitchenette upstairs with tea and a fridge for our drinks. The historic building was remodeled but retained many of its original features. There were tasty muffins and hot coffee available in the morning but not a traditional breakfast as this is not a B&B. The decorations and artwork were carefully selected and tasteful; the downstairs area is cozy and the friendly dog is well behaved. Note there are a couple of rooms with creative bathroom design that includes an open shower; the floor will inevitably become wet and you will have to either dry it somehow or walk on the water when using other parts of the bathroom. This was the only inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
44
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here while on business... Had a wonderful stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated. We had a chef come in and cook a fabulous meal for a business meeting we were having in the dining room. Just an excellent way to go while getting work done!

Room Tip: If you like a good soak in the tub... I had a deluxe one, equipped with candles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Elmwood Village Inn was a perfect "home away from home" for our weekend visit to Buffalo. We loved Karen's home; it was beautiful and very comfortable. She was lovely and gave us wonderful recommendations for around town. We would absolutely stay here again, don't pass up the opportunity!! Stay here!!

The Inn is also located in a very central area, walking to everything was a plus!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great, but we especially loved the Master Suite!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My mother and I took a trip to Buffalo and stayed at Honu House for 3 nights. We both loved it and highly recommend it!

Karen, the hostess is wonderful and just like her; the house is very warm and welcoming.

Throughout the house you’ll see great pieces of art from local artist as well as pieces that Karen and her daughters have picked up from their travels around the world (Africa, Europe, Caribbean, Latin America, US). The décor is an eclectic mix that works wonderfully.

We stayed in the Middle Western Room which is the smallest room in the house. It was roomy enough for our short stay. The queen size bed and 6 standard pillows were extremely comfortable and of high quality! There is place to hang your clothes on the wall and door and also drawers for folded items. This room has curved windows facing Elmwood which can be a bit busy. The rooms all have White Noise Maker machines which is such a great idea! It shut out the street noise and also the noise from inside the house. The house is pretty quiet, however there are wood floors so if someone is walking by, you can hear them.

The in suite bathroom in this room is on the smaller side but again roomy enough for our short stay. The bathroom has a door for privacy and inside there is a toilet, sink and opened style shower (no curtain or door). The shower pressure was perfect and there is lovely imported Olive Oil soap to use.

We did get to have a quick tour of the house and peeked in the other guest rooms; all of them are different but still just as lovely. All of the guest rooms are on the 2nd floor except for the Skylight Suite which is on the 3rd floor.

On the 2nd floor there is an armoire with items for guests to take if needed. This is such a thoughtful touch. There you will find anything you may need (toiletries, earplugs, bottled water). On the 2nd floor there is also a small kitchen for guests to use with a sink, fridge, plates, cups, utensils, bottle openers, coffee and tea. This came in handy since we picked up some wine at the wine shop down the street from the inn and also some fruits at the local co-op for a late night snack.

The pictures on the website are very true of what you see once there, however, I would say it looks even better in person. The house is very clean and fresh smelling, our beds were made daily.

The common areas are very comfy and have that homey feeling. Just like the website says, breakfast is informal and light. This is fine for us as we don’t have big heavy breakfast. Karen serves home-made pastries, cakes and muffins – all of them very yummy, as well as fresh fruit, coffee and juice.

Karen lives in the basement with her dog, Max. I’m a dog lover, my mom, not so much (she’s typically scared of them). But Max is fantastic and very well trained. My mom fell in love with him.
I know some people are turned off by pets, but by no means let this turn you off. This is just one more of those things that add to that “home away from home” feeling that Honu House has.

The location of the house is great! Walking distance to Albright-Knox Art Gallery! There are plenty of restaurants to walk to, as well as a market, on Sunday there's a farmers market nearby, wine shop, boutiques...and also a great base to visit nearby places. We went to the Niagara Falls on the Canadian side and afterwards went to Niagara on the Lake - this is a must see town! We also took a day trip to Toronto which was fabulous.

Next time we visit Buffalo, we are definitely staying at Honu House!

Room Tip: If you have big bulky suitcases and plan to stay for more time, I would suggest staying in one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The entire experience was so far above our expectations that I didn't want to leave. Karen, the innkeeper, is one of the most interesting people I have met in a very long time. She is bright, entertaining, worldly and overly generous. The inn is exquisitely appointed, every detail impressive and inviting. Thirty years of traveling to Buffalo, to visit friends and family, and we have never left immediately planning our next trip back -- Honu and Karen changed that!

Beyond Honu, Elmwood Village is a trendy, lively village with a great green grocer, two fun cafes, and some great dinner options. I highly recommend Cafe Europa (a much appreciated recommendation of Karen.) All in all, I can say that Karen and the Honu House offered us the best bed and breakfast experience that we've ever had - it was comfortable, warm and inviting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have stayed in B&Bs all over the world and Honu is right up there with the best.

The rooms are lovely. The home has been lovingly restored and beautifully appointed.

Karen is a delightful hostess whose fresh breakfast baked goods are a treat.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central n.j.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I tried to stay here several times in the past but it always was booked and after my recent visit I can see why it was always filled. Karen is a pleasure to talk to and is a great supporter of Buffalo.as I am. I plan to visit again and hope to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House

Address: 893 Elmwood Ave, corner St. James Pl, Buffalo, NY 14222
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House Hotel Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elmwood Village Inn: Honu House to your Saves list