We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside to your Saves list
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Canalside, 125 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful new hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Took my family here for the weekend, as it was not far from home and we like to check out new hotels. Location was great (very easy to get back on the I-190 South and ask the front desk for fairly easy directions to get to the I-190 North); we walked to the Naval Park easily, and its location on the Main Street line makes it easy to get to places like Shea's. Lots of construction currently, but that will only improve the area even more. Only about 25 min from Niagara Falls too.

Rooms were lovely, as people stated before. I love the new design concept. The hallways were so unique for a hotel since it's a remodeled building. My kids loved just being able to explore our floor. Soundproofing was great; we never heard anyone else or outside noise. We were by two major highways and couldn't tell. Plus, there was a concert going on at Canalside, and you couldn't hear it at all unless you went outside. Fitness room was perfect--two ellipticals, two bikes, two treadmills, headphones, towels, etc. Pool area was gorgeous; pool itself was a little too cold for my two and four year old. However, when we mentioned the pool temp to the staff, they took care of it right away.

Speaking of the staff, they were fantastic. Jessica at the front desk went out of her way to say hello to us every time we walked by (we're hard to miss with two young boys), and she made sure a crib (Pack 'n Play) was delivered to our room. Also, the Valet staff were also all fun and friendly. The place is so new (and was busy), I knew the staff must be stressed, but they didn't let it show.

I come to Buffalo a lot (I used to live here and love to visit often), so this will be my new hotel of choice (at least until the Full Service Marriott opens across the street).Only downside was that, since it's a Courtyard, there was no free breakfast (I'm a Gold Rewards member). But, if you're thinking of checking this place out, you should!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much, PSUEmily, for not only writing such a detailed review of our hotel, but for posting photos! You note so many wonderful key attributes of our hotel---the great sound-proofing, well-equipped fitness center, easy highway access, fantastic location, and friendly and attentive staff. Thank you! We worked diligently to ensure that we were creating a hotel that would not just meet, but exceed guests’ needs. Thank you for mentioning Jessica, as well. She is a fantastic team member. Thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
30
31
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The room was clean and the furniture design modern and fun, but the couch was placed directly in front of the window, so you have to climb on the couch to open and close the curtains. Awkward! The couch could have been placed at an angle, but it was too heavy for us to move. The bed was comfortable. There is valet parking, if you want it, or less expensive public parking very close by. The hotel check-in clerk told us the public parking was closed on weekends, but it wasn't. The location near the canal, military museum, and restaurant is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with no couch blocking access to the curtains and no column blocking easy viewing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Good afternoon, Jana H! Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We are so happy that you like the modern design and amenities, as well as the location. We will definitely consider a kitty-corner placement for the couch so that the view can be maximized. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Was in Buffalo on business and stayed at this Courtyard. The hotel is beautiful, secure and clean. Across the street from Canalside and the activities they have. Trolley runs next to hotel for easy downtown access plus you are near the Niagara Center Arena plus the Bison baseball stadium. The staff there are the best! Awesome service. My only complaint was the tv and stations offered. Stations listed in their welcome book didn't match what was actually broadcast. Other than that this is definitely a five star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much, Ron K, for your review of our hotel! Reviews like yours make us feel great, and let us know our hard work is paying off. We are extremely fortunate to have such a great location that is close to so many wonderful venues, restaurants, and public transportation. I thank you for letting us know about the mix up in our channels that are broadcasted and those that are listed. We are correcting it immediately. We apologize for the confusion! Thank you so much for your business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I love Courtyards. Why? Because no matter where I go I know what to expect when I travel when trying to keep a morning routine the same. The Bistro with its consistent food, drink and decor across the Courtyard brand makes a world of difference to get a bit more 'routine' in your morning. This location is brand new and finally Marriott has a hotel downtown. They are located between the First Niagara center (home of the Sabres) and Coca-Cola field (home of the Bisons) right on the trolley line and across the street from Buffalo Exchange AMTRAK station. More Marriott is on the way next door as a full service property with ice rinks, mall and a one of a kind Tim Horton's concept. The work being done in this area and all along the surface line of the trolly is quite a sight.

The service at the bistro in the morning was slower than it should be and missed the mark on the Bistro expectations (no butter, jam, etc with breakfast; milk/cream on opposite side from area where there were stirrers and lids. Layout created a congested line in the center through tables and the bacon was horribly overcooked).

The service at the front of the house was off the charts good from the professionalism and warm welcome of Sunnie on check-in (you can tell she takes pride in this property!) and a great talk with Chrissy (sp?) later that evening about the area revitalization project (including the Sabres and Bills - :) was a welcomed break. Overall a great property, front of house service and a sure fire hit for a night in Buffalo. Happy travels...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Good morning, Jfalkingham, and thank you for taking time out of your day to write a detailed review of our property! We are pleased that we are now a fixture in the downtown Buffalo area. We understand that those who travel for work value consistency and the great service and amenities they have come to expect in the Marriott brand. Sunnie is an invaluable member of our team. We will certainly forward your compliments to her. We are disappointed to see that the service and condiments at our Bistro were less than what you expected. It is our goal that every guest is completely happy with all aspects of the property and I invite you to reach out directly to me if the your needs are not corrected during your time at the Bistro. Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed for one night this past weekend, we were touring the Frank Lloyd Wright Martin Complex and East Aurora. I've stayed in a lot of Courtyard Marriotts ( 3 others this year) and this was by far the best. Great pool, new decor concept, neat pillow headboards with covers that can be changed and washed. Huge room and huge walk in shower. They also have handy electrical usb jacks which came in handy when I forgot my iphone charger and only had a cord. Well locate next to Buffalo sports arenas, we had a surprise firework display outside out hotel that night! I used to think the only option was to stay in the outskirts of Buffalo but I'd rather stay here now that I have discovered it. Travelling with mother in seventies who has difficulty sleeping in hotels and she says it was the best bed and nicest hotel she has stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good afternoon, lilyTO w, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. When designing this hotel, we were sure to put guests needs first. Handy USB ports and charging outlets in convenient locations, and bolster pillows are just some of the design concepts that Courtyard by Marriott has implemented to benefit our guests. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

For a small meeting of representatives of a number of cancer centers, our hosts at Roswell Park chose the new Courtyard Canalside. The lobby is modern, the rooms ultra-modern and spacious. Bathroom appointments are luxurious, including a large walk-in rain head shower. My king room had a terrific couch with a swinging table, for light work or relaxing. Views of the developing Canalside area are good--they will be better as the redevelopment progresses. The small bistro is right in the lobby. Staff members are courteous and friendly. The developers did not skimp anywhere--not even the fitness and pool area in the lower lobby. I cannot think of a reason not to return on a subsequent trip to Buffalo.

Room Tip: I was on a low floor. A view of the water would be best--I had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Fantastic! Thank you, DrBob78, for your review of our hotel! We have received great feedback thus far regarding our design concept, as well as many of the amenities we offer guests. Guests have particularly noted that they love the large bathrooms, complete with rain showerhead and towel nook. The fitness and pool area provide a relaxing respite from the busy work week. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I live in the Buffalo area but decided to stay downtown at the first Marriott hotel to open downtown while attending a concert. I am a Marriott Platinum member and travel a lot for work. Although I always stay at Marriott hotels but I usually avoid the Courtyard chain as they are my least favorite of the Marriott family. However, this hotel is much different than any Courtyard that I have ever stayed at. It is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are oversized and it is in a perfect location if you are have a need to stay downtown. The new and expanding Canalside is great with a beautiful park area, great views and nice restaurants.

When you walk into the hotel you immediately know this is something different. It is nicer than most of the regular Marriott's. Large hallways leading up to your room. Oversized bathroom with huge walk in shower. Included in the room is a microwave, refrigerator and coffee machine. There is a nice sized TV on the wall and as always, the Marriott bed is super comfy.

The room is nicely organized and decorated. I really loved the room and hotel. We are already making plans to stay again just to have a nice weekend away from home on the waterfront, If you are attending a concert or game at the First Niagara Arena, you can't get any closer and this hotel is perfect. $12 valet parking and walk across the street.

The whole hotel is new, clean and very inviting. They have an awesome firepit outside with lounge chairs to just sit and admire the hotel and area. This hotel really is well designed and just beautiful.

I have to take off one star because like all Courtyards, they do not offer anything for Platinum members. No free breakfast and your Platinum arrival gift is a small coffee (one per stay) which is ridiculous and the reason I avoid Courtyards. This hotel may be the one exception!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K, General Manager at Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good Evening mbateacher, Wow! Thank you so much for your review. Coming from a frequent traveler, we are so happy to be named the best Courtyard you have been to! That’s such a wonderful compliment. When selecting the design for our hotel, we were sure to keep the guest in mind with larger hallways and rooms, and a different décor than you may have experienced at other Courtyard and Marriott properties. I will be sure to send your feedback regarding rewards at Courtyards to Marriott’s corporate offices. We very much value you as a Platinum member. Thank you so much for your business. We look forward to your next stay-cation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside

Address: One Canalside, 125 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.