We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Central Terminal

Buffalo Central Terminal
495 Paderewski Drive, Buffalo, NY 14212
716 852 4831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 90 Attractions in Buffalo
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buffalo Central Terminal hosts a series of events and tours throughout the summer months. Plan your trip to see us by visiting our website for a full list of upcoming events, tours, and other information.The Buffalo Central Terminal opened to the public on June 22, 1929. Built by the New York Central Railroad and designed by architects Alfred T. Fellheimer & Steward Wagner, the art deco style station was built to accommodate up to 3200 passengers per hour, or 200 trains per day. The complex consists of the main concourse, a 17 story office tower, a four story baggage building and two story mail building along Curtiss Street, and the now detached train concourse. The complex sits on a 17 acre site 2.5 miles east of downtown Buffalo.The Central Terminal Restoration Corporation (CTRC) was founded in 1997 to oversee the stabilization and restoration of the Central Terminal. Local preservationist Scott Field acquired the 18-acre site, including concourse, tower, and four story baggage building along Curtiss Street, from Samuel Tuchman and B.C.T Inc. for $1 plus the assumption of back taxes owed to the City of Buffalo.The CTRC is an entirely volunteer organization with no paid staff. We rely on grant money, government funds, and donations to continue work on the building and to hold public events. We are a registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation.
Mohawk, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you like history and/or architecture, this is a great place to visit. What a tremendous building and so sad to see it in such a state of disrepair. It is wonderful that someone is taking the initiative to restoring it. The Terminal is so beautiful, you have to look beyond the decay that has happened to this icon and appreciate the gorgeous details that went into the construction of this building. I cannot wait to go back to see the progress that has been made.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    3
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“If you like history and architecture, this is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband is a bit of a railway buff and had read about this building online. There were no events or tours planned for the weekend we were in Buffalo, but we decided to do a drive by tour so we could see the buliding. As we were out walking around, my husband recognized the owner who he had seen on youtube. After a brief chat, he offered to take us inside for a peek. Turned into a 2 hour in depth tour that we will never forget. Being so passionate about the restoration of this historic landmark, Mark was informative, and detailed in describing various points or interst to us. With his family history he had many great stories to share. Thanks Mark. We will never forget you. This was the icing on the cake of our mini vacation to Buffalo. We highly recommend to everyone who appreciates history, architecture or railways, to visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Victim of past neglect.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

An architectural marvel that has suffered from past private owners who either stripped it of any value or lacked the means to maintain it. A current group of dedicated individuals are engaged in preserving and restoring this gem but have a long and difficult road to travel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very easy access to the entire city and even Niagara Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

For just a few dollars we took a wheelchair accessible bus to & from Niagara Falls for the day. The driver was a very good tour guide.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furlong, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A beautiful landmark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A faded gem from the glory days of railroading, this place is not to be missed. It's decaying grandeur evokes powerful emotions. The tour happened while they were working so it was a listtle noisy but the guide was informative, knowledgeable, and passionate about the project. Make sure you ask to hear the story about the taxis

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Central Terminal also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Central Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Central Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.