We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, wine and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant

Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant
54 W Chippewa St, Buffalo, NY 14202
(716) 854-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 819 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin
Ocean Ridge, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great service, wine and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Fantastic restaurant and I highly recommend it. We arrived without a reservation and they were able to seat us for dinner. Our server, Berto, was awesome. Great service and he was very knowledgeable on the wine list and their entire menu and was fantastic at assisting us with some great recommendations. The restaurant has a GREAT cheese menu, which we selected three to start. We wanted to enjoy several of the small plates instead of separate entrees . We ordered the tuna tartar, roasted beets and the pear salad. Every single item was fantastic! Great ambiance, service, presentation and food. We will definitely dine at Bacchus again next time we visit Buffalo.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheektowaga, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a true dining experience!!! I first came to Bacchus as recommended by a co-worker and I wasn't disappointed. I'm often nervous that something will happen, the food will change, the atmosphere will be different... no no.. it's always that little piece of heaven I'm hoping it is. DEF must try the free range chicken! To dieeeee for! It will make you question every piece of chicken you put in your mouth from that day forward!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“As great as I remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I found this place when he was living in the area, and we loved it. Since he moved we haven't been back, but when I was in the area with my mother recently we went. And it's just as amazing as I remember!

Cute atmosphere, amazing wine selection and delicious food. The mushroom soup special was amazing like I remember, as we're the small plates we tried. Our entrees were also great - I had the chicken. Only issue was the buttermilk dressing on it - a little overpowering.

Ultimately a great place for a nice night out. I hope to return again soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
1 review
“Excellent !!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The atmosphere was elegant, the food was to die for, & the serve was great. Never know this restaurant was on W. Chippewa St. I'm so glad I googled it! I will definitely recommend it to friends and family. I will also be going back very soon. A friend and I that went here the other night will be taking a friend of ours for her retirement.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I haven't been to Bacchus for a few years, but those years haven't been so kind to this downtown Buffalo eatery. The wine service was fine, but to have to stand at the hostess station and wait until our table was set in a half empty restaurant was not. Overall, the place felt lively, and service was friendly, but slo..ow. And the food, besides a top-noth Caeser, was just okay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacchus Wine Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.