We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, astonishingly small bill!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob & John's La Hacienda

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bob & John's La Hacienda
1545 Hertel Ave, Buffalo, NY 14216
(716) 836-5411
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 919 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery
birdybirdcars
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Delicious food, astonishingly small bill!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We went for dinner on a Monday. It was all you can eat spaghetti for $2.95, which my companion got. I ordered the eggplant parmesan. The eggplant was nice and thin, fried up just right. The sauce was flavorful, not too sweet and nice and tangy. The spaghetti noodles were cooked nicely, just a little firm, like they should be. Large portion, enough for my dinner and a lunch the next day, all for $5.95! the wait staff were all very friendly and attentive. The dining room is large, decorated with class in eye-pleasing neutrals, and had many flat screen televisions for those wishing to watch. I will return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bob & John's La Hacienda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Delicious food and best pizza on Hertel Ave. located in the "Little Italy" part of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The BEST pizza on the planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is my favorite of all Buffalo casual eateries! The pizza is perfect! The crust is just doughy enough and loaded with toppings...try the small peperroni. The subs are delicious! The wings are better than anywhere else in the city! I make it here every time I visit Buffalo and often take a sub or wings on the plane with me when I leave.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply, the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

I'm a lover of food; a cheese a pepperoni pizza from Bob & John's would be my last meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Quintessential Sub/Pizza/Wing Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

One of my law school haunts in the early '80's, Bob & John's continues to be a Buffalo tradition. The food is not fancy, but very good of its kind. We were there for lunch, when most customers opted for the $6.99 all-you-can-eat pizza/salad bar special. We saw families and groups of construction workers taking full advantage.

We ordered off the menu. I had a Royal Sub -- an unusual, but tasty combination of Italian sausage patties and hot Cappicola ham with lettuce, tomato, and onion on a whole wheat sub roll. The roll was fresh and very tasty. There was enough lettuce and tomato for a salad.. My Mom had a Corned Beef sandwich that was piled high; she took home half for lunch the next day. Giant Diet Pepsis came with one free refill. Our waitress was pleasant.

Don't be put off by the entrance which is the take-out window with a few chairs. The recently remodeled and comfortable dining room is to the right through a doorway. Rest rooms were very modern and clean. One change from my law school days is that the street parking on Hertel Avenue now costs 50 cents an hour.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob & John's La Hacienda also viewed

 

Been to Bob & John's La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob & John's La Hacienda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.