We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Buffalo's (Western New York's) Best Roast Beef Sandwich.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie The Butcher's Express

Charlie The Butcher's Express
295 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203
(716) 855-8646
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 919 Restaurants in Buffalo
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Rochester, Ny
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of Buffalo's (Western New York's) Best Roast Beef Sandwich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The menu of this restaurant/take-out service varies day to day but for the most part it is the same. On Saturdays they have a prime roast beef sandwich that I drive from Rochester, NY to purchase.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Roast Beef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A little expensive and the portions are small for lunch. Not a wide selection could provide some additional sides with the sandwich.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oh my what a surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We got off the plane very hungry. Used Urban Spoon app and went directly to this place.
The BEEF ON WICK is the best sandwich we ever eat.
People are very nice.
The place is on a busy corner.
We arrived right before the line was out the door.
So glad we found this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best beef on wick ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This place lives up to the hype. Hole in the wall local favorite cannot be missed. If you fly into Buffalo airport this is the first place you need to eat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great sandwich to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

For a quick lunch to take back to the office oreat on Endicott Square, you can't beat this. Best beef on weck I've had in Buffalo. Sides are limited; rice pudding is overhyped. But, you're going for the sandwich, right?!? Be aware that seating is limited in the lobby of the building where this is located.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie The Butcher's Express also viewed

 

Been to Charlie The Butcher's Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie The Butcher's Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.