We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not That Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Bar

Anchor Bar
1047 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14209-2305
716-884-4083
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 928 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Port Robinson Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not That Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dropped in The Anchor Bar because of the hype. Found the wings expensive and when I asked for breaded or cajun they said not available. I went for the fish fry and although the portion was large I found the creamy coleslaw odd tasting. Not sure what they are tyring to do with it as I can eat creamy but this was really different and definitely not to my liking. Hint to owner, try vinagarette cole slaw.
Atmosphere was good in bar area, pretty bland in dinning room.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    476
    256
    78
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“first bone ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not really being a Chicken Wing person I shared an order with my husband with spicy hot bbq sauce and it was just amazing. Because I was not sure if I would like them or not we also ordered the Cocoanut Fried Shrimp. Both tasted absolutely outstanding!!! The price for the food is a little bit too high even it is very tasty. Staying here in town for a few days for business, that's the place to go to check out the wings and the terrific decoration.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good wings, unique atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Visited the Anchor Bar before the Flyers/Sabres game. The atmosphere is unique and they are usually crowded. Service is slow, so don't plan on being in and out. The wings were very good, very large. Sauces were excellent too. Be prepared to pay for the novelty rather than the wing however. 20 wings for $20 bucks is steep, but you can say you've been here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Close to Buffalo General”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

1 block from Gates Vascular Center, a nice break from hospital food. Food and service was great and the chicken wings were good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
“New York vs Tulsa”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

my coworkers and i ordered the wings online and had them shipped to us but i will never do that again from this place because the price of shipping is outrageous!!, not to mention I was sadly dissappointed that the wings didn't taste all that great, they were just ok. I have had better. Even though i ordered the hotter wings, I think I killed the wings with hot sauce just to get a spicey flavor. I think i make better wings at home...maybe i should open up my own restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.