We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a disappointment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Left Bank

Left Bank
511 Rhode Island St, Buffalo, NY 14213-2317
716-882-3509
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 930 Restaurants in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
618 reviews 618 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've been here many times. We have to drive 50 miles into town to come here but always found it to be worth the effort. The menu is fantastic. Everything we've ever had was superb and exciting to eat. The ambience is great; the servers always smile. The ravioli incredible deal. You can't eat it by yourself but it's good for lunch next day. Fried oysters are fantastic. Nothing is bad here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    60
    13
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Impressive menu, great service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Had a wonderful dinner at Left Bank. They have an impressive menu, and an extensive list of specials. Food was excellent and the service was impeccable. Friendly and helpful waitstaff. Enjoyable comfortable atmosphere. For sure going back. Just because I didn't click a couple of the boxes (like outdoor seating) doesn't mean they don't have that amenity. I went on a dark night in January and didn't notice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good eats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A spectacular menu executed skillfully. Atmosphere and service is great! A great place to relax and enjoy a sheik evening of great food and drinks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We chose this location over the "Buffalo Chop house: and "e.b. greens", While comparing the websites and their menus.
Upon entering we were a little early as their website stated they opened up at 5pm. We were able to go in around 445p, and sit at the bar and have a drink to start off our night. The bar tender was warm and friendly and started a pleasant conversation while she poured our drinks.
The atmosphere was warm and a little edgy with brick faced walls and the brass sign across the mirror behind the bar labeled "the left bank". Also there were a lot of little details that made this place unique, one being the light in the front window allowing patron to know that the bar was open and another in the dining room to let patrons know the restaurant in open as well.
Dinner came and the portions were enough to take left overs home with you. One item that we really enjoyed was the bread dipping sauce..... Yummmmmm!
Small place, set up well, good food, nice variety in choices, great service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brunch brunch baby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friend treated me to brunch in December. It was such a nice meal. I had eggs benedict and mimosas & a macadamia nut dessert. The staff was friendly and got us right to our table shortly after we arrived. I did call for reservations which were accepted on the same day.

This is the first time I have sat in the restaurant and had a meal. Normally, I meet friends at the bar for drinks which is also nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Bank also viewed

 

Been to Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Left Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.