We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay In Buffalo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Place Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richmond Place Inn
Save
You added Richmond Place Inn to your Saves list
45 Richmond Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14222   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Stay In Buffalo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived at the Richmond late one Sunday evening and Glen was waiting on the porch to help me with my bag which I thought was really nice. In the morning discovered my shower was not quite working but on having a word with Glen he moved me immediately to a very nice room with king size bed. The Richmond is a great place to stay as it is in the heart of the residential district within walking distance to Allentown, Elmwood the Music Hall. It is easy to take the Metro down into town. Glen was a great host and always very chatty and full of helpful information. Breakfasts were good, the Pancakes were sumptuous and the French toast too! Glen is doing lots of work to bring this very large house to up scratch so it is work in progress. My room was clean and comfortable - just right at the end of a busy day exploring.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Richmond Place Inn for the first time over the long weekend in July. Located in a historic residential section of Buffalo among countless impressive historic homes (worth exploring the neighbourhood!) it's steps from Allentown and all the cool boutiques, restaurants and bars worth enjoying there.

After chatting with Glen, the proprietor, when we arrived he suggested we try Cantina Loco which turned out to be one of the best Mexican meals (and drinks!) we’d ever had. Apparently my navigation skills in Buffalo are limited and I missed the restaurant on our first pass. This was quickly remedied by a call to Glen’s cell and he followed up with us later to ensure we made it safely.

There's nothing pretentious about the Richmond Inn and the room we were in was very comfortable, there’s ample parking in the back and a café like breakfast area downstairs. Breakfast was great with Glen asking for any special dietary requirements or requests.

Next time we visit Buffalo we’ll be back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was in Buffalo for tourism and stayed at this excellent B&B. Its location is great, and very central, in a safe neighborhood. Glen was very welcoming, kind, and generous with useful suggestions of restaurants and things to do in Buffalo. Also, the breakfasts were really good and copious! I will be visiting Buffalo next month and considering making another reservation at this nice and affordable B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

For a weekend "shuffle-off to Buffalo" from Toronto, Richmond Place could not be better; super location, affordable, clean rooms and a great breakfast. The owner Glen is friendly and knowledgeable... he even brought the four of us a cheese plate when he saw we had some wine! The Inn is within walking distance to the Albright-Knox Art Gallery and right next to Allentown with its funky restaurants. Museums, some shopping, looking for Frank Lloyd Wright architecture during the day, Allentown for dinner and capped off with live music at Jack Nietzche's makes for a great short stay! We will come back!

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms... the furniture is unique... choose to taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I had a very good experience during a recent stay.The location is excellent. Breakfasts were terrific! Glen is just about the most welcoming and accommodating host one could ask for. I have already made reservations for another stay. Harry

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've seen others accurately describe this B&B as a "hidden gem." Richmond Place Inn is run by the kindest, most customer-oriented person we know! Glen goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable.

Location is ideal if you want to walk around the Allen Town area or to the Kleinhans Hall (we saw Bill Maher perform there--a 3 minute walk to the Hall!). It's a great part of town because you're near everything, but it's relatively quiet and the traffic is minimal. Parking is easy if you have a car.

But the best part of all is the breakfast! We eat a gluten-free diet and Glen hooked us up with a special dish every day in addition to the regular breakfast for everyone else! Wow! Plenty of choices, healthily prepared--breakfast was a highlight of each day.

Note: It looks like the furnishings and decor were not top-of-the-line in the past, but Glen is working on upgrading each room - and the transformation looks very far along now.

Comfortable, safe, and attentive service--a tremendous value in the heart of Buffalo. We will stay there the next time we visit this fun city!

Room Tip: Got adjoining rooms for family of four (shared bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

With 20 rooms it's actually more of a small hotel than your typical b&b. The house is from the late 19th century, located in one of the nice historic neighborhoods of the city, just a short walk to Allen Street's restaurats and shops.
The breakfast was great, and our host Glen was super accomodating, made us feel very welcome.
The room was well equipped and quiet, but don't expect your typical cookie cutter plastic hotel room. This is an old house, but that's part of the charm. Everything was clean and well maintained.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Place Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Place Inn

Address: 45 Richmond Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14222
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and comfortable one of the most conveniently located places, Richmond Place has it all. It is strategically situated in between the majestic Niagara Falls and not to forget close to all the major shopping centers so that there is plenty to take back home. There is a delicate blend of modern convenience and a home-like atmosphere. The best part of this place, however is the sumptuous warm breakfast that is available every morning. If you're feeling homesick and yearning for some home food then this is as good as it gets. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Place Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.