We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add to the list of places to stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel @ The Lafayette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel @ The Lafayette to your Saves list
Hotel @ The Lafayette
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Add to the list of places to stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here twice for business, a different type of suite each time. The first was similar to an apartment and very large. It felt a bit industrial at first but it grew on me. The second time the suite was a bit smaller, and I felt more comfortable in it. It had a double faced fireplace between the living area and the bedroom and the ambiance was very cool and cozy. The bed was comfortable and the bedding very nice as well. The barista they have in the lobby area each morning is the best, the poured over coffee is a must. I didn't try any of the pastries but they looked fabulous! There is also a Tim Hortons right down the street for the Horton fans! Wishing I could have stayed here longer!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you FlurDog for your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. It is also great to hear you enjoyed Public Coffee which has been a great addition inside our hotel since their grand opening this February. Yes, we do offer our larger suites which have two bedrooms and two bathrooms or one bedroom and one bathroom as well as a kitchen and seating/living area. Then we do have our junior suites and standard rooms which are a little smaller, for guests such as yourself, not requiring all that extra space, but yet still larger than your standard hotel room. Glad to hear you found the bed to be comfortable as that is what all our guests expect and rightfully deserve. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    41
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
20
72
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY's Finger Lakes
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I were guests for just one night and the stay was OK, but not exceptional. Parking problems, missing light bulbs, room that could have been cleaner and a lack of overall quality were balanced by friendly service, an impressive room layout (junior suite) and an interesting, historic building. Not bad for the price, but not great. It looks like they are on the upswing and I wouldn't hesitate to book a stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Keith46er thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience/comments with us. We are glad to hear you were pleased with the room layout and the friendliness of our team as we all strive to be the best of the best and feedback such as yours will only help us grow stronger as a team. With that said we are sorry to hear that your stay all around wasn't what you were hoping and rightfully expecting. We certainly apologize if we did not properly communicate the parking situation at this property, but we do offer valet parking for an additional cost, there are meters around the hotel, and there is a parking ramp on the street right next to our hotel as well which a fee would also apply to park there. Again, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback as we will certainly use your comments as a great training/learning tool for all members of our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent a great night with my husband. The room was huge, loved the separated sitting room and bedroom. The room was cozy, clean and the bed was super comfortable. Love staying in the historic hotel. Will be back. ps....skip the free breakfast, not great and there are great restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the bedroom separated by a couple steps which is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you PattiT23 for taking the time to tell us of your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you pointed out we do offer breakfast complimentary to our guests every morning and we are always certainly trying to improve that and offer the best variety we can. We are also always open to any suggestions so that we try to offer something for everyone, and we always offer at least 3 hot items as we know how important it is to start your day with a nice hot breakfast. Again, thank you for your feedback and staying with us! I will be sure to pass along your comments to the entire team. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We rented 2 rooms when in town for a concert; a junior suite and a standard room. When we arrived, I changed the reservation so that we could be on the same floor (to a double suite and a standard room). Because of the last minute change, 1 of the 2 rooms wasn't ready precisely at 3 - and when we got to the bar, the young man who checked us there was there looking for us to give us certificates for 4 drinks on the house! Pretty amazing as the delay was caused by my last minute change and not by the hotel processes.

The rooms themselves were unbelievable, in size and quality and cleanliness. The double suite had a full kitchen, a huge living room, 2 full bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. The decor was all gorgeous, and the room was spotless.

The standard room had everything the double suite had, minus 1 bath and bed.

Another couple we were with had the Junior Suite - and it was also beautiful. It had a living room, and off the living room was an elevated bedroom, open to the living room with the exception of the double sided fireplace between the areas.

The hall ways in the property were the largest and widest I'd ever seen, and the room doors were full size - it was more like walking down a city street than a hotel hallway.

The location was also wonderful - as were the prices.

And if you go - definitely have the pour over coffee the barristas make in the lobby - well worth the wait.

Long review - I know - but I travel everywhere - and I haven't stayed in a hotel this nice, in a very long time..

Keep up the good work!

From,
Gina and Eoin

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear GMredden, On behalf of the entire team I wish to express my gratitude for your kind words. As a guest at our property we value your feedback, and we are grateful that you stayed with us. We take great pride in delivering the highest quality service to our guests. It's nice to hear we succeeded in your stay. We are glad you were pleased with your room and your overall experience with us. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at hotel Lafayette in the brewery district.

Usually I stay at 3.5 stars, but hotels were busy this weekend, so tried Lafayette. Big difference between hotels rated 3.5 stars in Buffalo, and this one, rated 4. Worth the difference in price --- for an extra $30-40 vs 3.5 star hotels, we had a junior suite (nook for breakfast, lounge area with fireplace, king bed) and it included breakfast.

Hotel is charming (renovated building from 1902) with lots of character decor.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Lisa E for taking the time to tell us of your experience. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you found our service to be worth a little extra money then the 3.5 star hotels you typically stay at. The staff here works hard to ensure all our guest have a wonderful experience and the maintenance crew has done a great job at making it look modern/yet recently renovated at the same time. I will be sure to share your comments with my entire team. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for only one night in a junior suite - plenty of space, faux fireplace, two TV's, large bathroom reading area - basically more than we needed for an evening - Lobby and other floor level areas of the hotel are Victorian or art deco, touches of the past everywhere, but modern fixtures, lighting, flooring in the rooms. Really made use of the place by having dinner in their local Butter and Bourbon restaurant as well. Friendly staff, inexpensive for a weeknight. You'll find yourself walking around for 20 minutes just checking everything out!

Parking nearby was only $9, free breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Tip: we were on the second floor and picked up a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Dabillz67 for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. As a Top Contributor to TripAdvisor your feedback is very important to us. We take a lot of pride in delivering the highest quality service to our guest. We have a lot of historic/art decor pieces in our hotel. Glad you enjoyed it. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff as our team loves reading all comments, as all feedback helps us grow stronger as a team. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent six nights and had a TripleA experience. The building is wonderful, the rooms and staff great! We had a slight problem with the bath tub drain and were moved to a suite within minutes, It is a fun and pleasant hotel, whether in the room or the beautiful public rooms and coffee bar. We will go back next trip!

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the park...speak to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the wonderful review Corilowe. I'm delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay and you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. We are thrilled that you took the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff. We hope you will stay with us again when visiting this area. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel @ The Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.