We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch in the heart of Buffalo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel @ The Lafayette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel @ The Lafayette to your Saves list
Hotel @ The Lafayette
391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top notch in the heart of Buffalo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hotel Lafayette recently underwent a massive renovation and it looks superb. Developer, Rocco Termini took time and care when restoring this Buffalo landmark. Once run down, Termini has restored the site to its original elegance. When you walk into the lobby, you feel like you are transported to another era.

The rooms are all renovated very nicely. They have a modern flair with a vintage twist. There are suites and single rooms available, which is a nice option.

Moreover, it has every amenity imaginable. For those with a sweet tooth, there is one of the best bakeries in Buffalo downstairs, Butterwoods. It is also a bistro (Butterwoods Sweet and Savory) serving delicious brunch. I have never eaten lunch or dinner there, but if it is anything like the desserts and brunch, I am sure it is wonderful.

On the main floor, there are two ballrooms restored to their traditional elegance. They are perfect for a wedding or upscale party. On the same floor is Mike A's steakhouse and upscale bar. I haven't eaten there, but heard it is excellent.

There is also the Pan-American Grille, by Pearl Street on this floor. The bar itself is huge and serves Pearl Street's famous micro-brews. However, the menu and service need some work. While I love Pearl Street's menu, as far as pub food goes, the Pan Am grille is limited and the food is sub-par. Hopefully, this changes, because it is such a great spot and nice for a more casual meal. Pearl Street also, has two rooms in the building, which are nicely done and a great size for a wedding of 240 or less.

Additionally, there are a few shops inside including a flower shop, dress shop and gift shop. Centered in the heart of downtown, it is the perfect place to stay if you are heading to a game, the theatre or the local nightlife. Two thumbs up and thank you Rocco Termini for the excellent addition to the Buffalo downtown!

Room Tip: The junior suites are just a little bigger than the one room and give you a sitting area with a fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
60
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

On a visit home to Buffalo in March, my wife and I decided to have lunch at the old Hotel Lafayette in downtown Buffalo, NY. It is amazing how the developers have saved, restored and reopened this classic hotel while preserving its circa 1906 atmosphere. We did not stay overnight, but we had lunch at " Butterwood Sweet and Savory" restaurant located in the lower level of the hotel. The food, service, and Pan American atmosphere were all excellent. For anyone interested in a relaxed, charming afternoon, I would highly recommend a walk around the hotel, then lunch at Butterwood.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Am stunned at the bad reviews. This hotel was booked for me for business travel, and I could not be happier. It is Art Deco, and gorgeous, so complaining about that period's "look" seems a bit off. Lovely reception people, great burger in attached grill. In room "fireplace" with funky colored flames. Soaking tub. Upscale elegant without being at all snobby. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for such wonderful compliments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First and foremost, I'm a huge downtown Buffalo supporter and was so pleased when the Lafayette Hotel was purchased and developed. The bones are there....the ceilings are beautiful, the huge ballroom, and the welcoming lobby. They were able to bring a modern boutique feeling to this dated space. Our room was not our style (art deco) but it was beautifully appointed with the great use of "barn doors" where space was tight. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sitting area very relaxing.
Here's were they need work:
Check-in - the staff door behind the reception area was open so we could see all the junk plus the staff's purses (not really smart). The receptionist called us "yous guys". If you are not from Buffalo you most likely never heard that term. Let's keep it at the local gin mill and not at a $200 per night luxury hotel. The receptionist also announced our hotel room number. That is check-in 101...never announce the room number; write it down. Once we found the elevator we were off to our room.
Room - very nice but only one remote for 2 TVs. We stand in a junior suite which had ample room. Enjoyed it very much
Dining - ate at Michael A's which was delicious. Service was excellent and food outstanding. Highly recommend
Breakfast - we some how found out there was a complimentary breakfast in the am (reception did not tell us this) so we stopped down for some coffee and a bagel. It was a very small spread but satisfactory in my book. Unfortunately there were no knives for the bagels. After gathering our goodies we sat in the lobby to enjoy the atmosphere. At that second a worker started to vacuum the lobby. Needless to say we headed back to the room.
I highly recommend this hotel and want to see it flourish! So please do not let this review deter you from staying. I just hope that management reads this review and takes steps to put some polish on the process.

Room Tip: second floor junior suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for such a helpful and positive review. We are glad that your room was comfortable and relaxing for your stay! You mentioned some very helpful points for us to improve upon, and we made immediate changes to correct these issues. We purchased extra television remotes to assure there is a remote for every TV in the room. The door behind the desk now remains closed to assure a professional feel for our valued guests, and to assure the security of employee’s belongings. Most importantly we are continuing to train and improve the guest experience provided by our team of staff at the Hotel @ The Lafayette. Thank you again for your comments and we love to hear your support for Downtown Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in late February for an overnight girls' getaway. We booked the 2-bedroom suite (with 2 bathrooms). Our room was crazy huge - from the living/kitchenette area, there was a looonng hallway that led to the bedrooms. The "master" bedroom was large and had its own full bath. The smaller, second bedroom did not have this feature, there was another full bath at the end of the "hall" in our room. The room was absolutely silent at night, bed and linens were wonderfully comfortable and everything was really clean.

A few things: this is a high-end, boutique hotel - couldn't there have been complimentary bottles of water? Or a fluffy bathrobe? Hooks to hang your stuff in the bathroom? Also, the space in the room felt very cold as there wasn't anything (pictures, artwork) on the walls at all to soften the room up. We peeked in a few of the standard sized rooms and they seemed better decorated and more welcoming. Also, why not have The Buffalo News as the provided newspaper as well USA Today?

The hotel would also benefit from an in-house spa. We had to book our spa services at the Hyatt several blocks away. Not a big deal when the weather is nice, but it would have been nice to have all of the pampering under one roof.

The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a free breakfast served in the lobby that was adequate (yogurt, coffee, juice, bananas, apples, pastry, bagels and a toaster).

We had lunch at Mike A's, which was really good and an affordable alternative to dinner there. For dinner, we tried out Butterwood Sweet & Savory. It is a beautiful space, but the restaurant was understaffed and despite the empty tables, we were told by the hostess that we would have to wait to be seated because of the understaffing. The lone waitress working the dining room did a great job and worked her butt off, graciously. Could have used some simpler, less complicated entree choices on the menu. Ended up with one of the wood oven pizzas, which was delicious.

Overall, it was marvelous to see this beautiful old building brought back to life. The attention to detail was amazing and it was great to get a taste of what Buffalo must have been like in its heyday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We have gotten such great feedback on the restoration of this historic downtown gem. We are glad you were able to enjoy your “Girls Getaway” with us. Addressing a few suggestions you mentioned, we are in the progress of making bathrobes available to our guests, and hope to have this in place by mid April. We are also working with the Buffalo Historical Society to add artwork and pictures to the walls. We are murals of historic picture of Buffalo’s greatest the past. That being said, on behalf of our staff, we would like to thank you for the compliments. That is one of the most rewarding compliments to receive here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased during my three day stay at the lafayette. The GM, Rob, should be applauded for his five star service and tremendous professionalism. A true hospitality professional! Great hotel, great stay.. I would certainly come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had a blast at this hotel, the rooms are so pretty and modern. Everything was sop stylish, I felt like a movie star when when my beau and I checked in. So romantic, our room had a full length window to the shower, very sexy. I didn't want to leave, the beds are so soft and comfy. They had 3 restaurants in there it was crazy, and of course each one has its own bars so over the 2 days we got our drink on at each, maybe too much. I can't wait to come back when its warm and really cut loose, there is no other place in Buffalo that can satisfy this girl. Thank you folks

Room Tip: If you are romantic get the junior suite it was so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel @ The Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.