We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovingly restored” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel @ The Lafayette

Save Saved
You added Hotel @ The Lafayette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel @ The Lafayette
391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Buffalo
Buffalo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovingly restored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in late February for an overnight girls' getaway. We booked the 2-bedroom suite (with 2 bathrooms). Our room was crazy huge - from the living/kitchenette area, there was a looonng hallway that led to the bedrooms. The "master" bedroom was large and had its own full bath. The smaller, second bedroom did not have this feature, there was another full bath at the end of the "hall" in our room. The room was absolutely silent at night, bed and linens were wonderfully comfortable and everything was really clean.

A few things: this is a high-end, boutique hotel - couldn't there have been complimentary bottles of water? Or a fluffy bathrobe? Hooks to hang your stuff in the bathroom? Also, the space in the room felt very cold as there wasn't anything (pictures, artwork) on the walls at all to soften the room up. We peeked in a few of the standard sized rooms and they seemed better decorated and more welcoming. Also, why not have The Buffalo News as the provided newspaper as well USA Today?

The hotel would also benefit from an in-house spa. We had to book our spa services at the Hyatt several blocks away. Not a big deal when the weather is nice, but it would have been nice to have all of the pampering under one roof.

The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a free breakfast served in the lobby that was adequate (yogurt, coffee, juice, bananas, apples, pastry, bagels and a toaster).

We had lunch at Mike A's, which was really good and an affordable alternative to dinner there. For dinner, we tried out Butterwood Sweet & Savory. It is a beautiful space, but the restaurant was understaffed and despite the empty tables, we were told by the hostess that we would have to wait to be seated because of the understaffing. The lone waitress working the dining room did a great job and worked her butt off, graciously. Could have used some simpler, less complicated entree choices on the menu. Ended up with one of the wood oven pizzas, which was delicious.

Overall, it was marvelous to see this beautiful old building brought back to life. The attention to detail was amazing and it was great to get a taste of what Buffalo must have been like in its heyday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We have gotten such great feedback on the restoration of this historic downtown gem. We are glad you were able to enjoy your “Girls Getaway” with us. Addressing a few suggestions you mentioned, we are in the progress of making bathrobes available to our guests, and hope to have this in place by mid April. We are also working with the Buffalo Historical Society to add artwork and pictures to the walls. We are murals of historic picture of Buffalo’s greatest the past. That being said, on behalf of our staff, we would like to thank you for the compliments. That is one of the most rewarding compliments to receive here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    31
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
52
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased during my three day stay at the lafayette. The GM, Rob, should be applauded for his five star service and tremendous professionalism. A true hospitality professional! Great hotel, great stay.. I would certainly come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I had a blast at this hotel, the rooms are so pretty and modern. Everything was sop stylish, I felt like a movie star when when my beau and I checked in. So romantic, our room had a full length window to the shower, very sexy. I didn't want to leave, the beds are so soft and comfy. They had 3 restaurants in there it was crazy, and of course each one has its own bars so over the 2 days we got our drink on at each, maybe too much. I can't wait to come back when its warm and really cut loose, there is no other place in Buffalo that can satisfy this girl. Thank you folks

Room Tip: If you are romantic get the junior suite it was so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We attended a bridal show at the Hotel Lafayette, where the 2nd floor bridal suite was advertised as the room with the balcony. That night we placed our reservation for that room. Sometime in the months before our wedding, they changed the name of the "bridal suite" to the "presidential suite", and moved our reservation to a new room without informing us.

You can imagine our surprise when we found that the room was changed... on our wedding night! Management was no help, staring at me and asking what they were supposed to do about it. They offered a possible discount on a future nights stay. Guess what? I don't plan on going back.

Absolutely terrible service, rude, and deceptive. Classic bait and switch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are very disappointed this happened to you on your very special day. We have made the appropriate changes with our second floor bridal suites to assure this never happens in the future. The room with the balcony is so luxurious we changed its title to our “Lafayette Suite” as it is superior to the bridal suites, providing a balcony overlooking the Lafayette Square, a grand dining table, and extra seating. We have learned from our mistake and are deeply sorry that is was at the expense of your stay. We hope you can overlook this memory of your special day and remember it as a once in a lifetime experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I decided to give this hotel a try after seeing some good reviews. Boy was I disappointed! Someone described the place as hip. Really? It was dirty and the interior design remind me of a bad furniture display at TJ Maxx. The drab wall color was the color one imagines would be in a mental hospital and the whole place lacked warmth. And where the heck could one go to get some decent food? The are many places in Buffalo that do it way better for the same amount of money or less.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay at the Hotel @ The Lafayette did not exceed your expectations. The décor of the hotel is very Art Deco themed and was designed this way to bring back the feel of the hotel in the 1920’s. We understand this will not please every guest, but we do our best to try. The Hotel @ The Lafayette is host to three restaurants to try and appeal to all the restaurant markets. Mike Andrezjewski, one of Buffalo’s best chefs, has a fine dining steakhouse serving the best of the best. Sweet and Savory by Butterwoods, is a great upscale restaurant with a twist on your traditional menu items, as well as their famous bakery. Last but not least, the Pan-American Grill and Brewery. Brewing their signature beers, going from the basement straight up to the tap, all accompanied by a casual mix of burgers, wings, and specialty pizza’s. We hope to convince you to give us another chance in the future to achieve your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Heard a lot about it and downtown Buffalo doesn't have much in the way of really nice hotels so we tried it out and it was great. The hotel was just re-modeled and they did a nice job with it. Our suite was was extremely nice. Bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in. No curtains which was weird so it wasn't pitch black like we need to have a great sleep. Hope they change it. Great continental breakfast in the lobby and very nice staff! Will come back to hit the bar one night when back in Buffalo.

Room Tip: Get a suite - very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the comforts of your suite. We are currently adding black out drapes to our third floor rooms to keep the light out when necessary. Thank you for the compliment on our staff, and we hope to see you downtown again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

While I give kudos to the developer for this project and adding new life to an old gem, we stayed in what I believe the desk clerk called their "presidential suite" and I believe when we booked was the "Lafayette Suite" - way over priced for the Buffalo market and the value of the room. Lots of flash and style - not a lot of substance for a hotel stay. Spacious suite with nothing to show for it...the fireplace was some designers version of "cool" - it was a hologram! The bathroom creeped me out w/ all the windows and the no door to the shower made me freeze if I wasn't right under the water. For $300 a night on a romantic getaway - I want a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub - not just "flashy". There was no hand towel by the sink, had to go back into the shower over the tub to get a towel and had no place to hang it. The one towel hook by the shower kept falling down. The shower stall was never completed and missed in a the "punchlist" phase. The ceiling heat right over the bed is like cold air blowing on you all night. No phone by the bed. No fridge, no microwave and I didn't even get the motif of the room - Egypt meets the Jetsons? We looked high and low and never found any directory of services in the room but a Room Service Menu for the American Grill. They have several tenants and no advertisement to let you know your options while at their property. We did get room service it is was the most enjoyable part of the stay (aside from my company!) And I can't believe they have the nerve to say "it includes continental breakfast in the morning" - what sorry spread. When I arrived I was in the Front Desk area for about 5 minutes and no one was ever at the desk. Someone could have easily stolen the guest's bags being "stored" behind the desk. Glad it wasn't my bag! Please hire someone with a background in the hotel business...not designers and developers...to make this a true great Buffalo experience for visitors. Once the novelty wears off, so will the praise. Believe me I have 30 years experience in the hotel business and have stayed in some very "posh" hotels and suites - including in Buffalo...this boutique may fool basic Buffalonians but true visitors and travelers will soon be seeking out the Hampton Inn & Suites, the Embassy Suites or the Mansion on Delaware - where you truly get luxury and excellent service for a bargain cost compared to this hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't mean to check spa...it doesn't have one that I was aware of anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel @ The Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.