We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel @ The Lafayette

Save Saved
You added Hotel @ The Lafayette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel @ The Lafayette
391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Buffalo
Amherst, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We attended a bridal show at the Hotel Lafayette, where the 2nd floor bridal suite was advertised as the room with the balcony. That night we placed our reservation for that room. Sometime in the months before our wedding, they changed the name of the "bridal suite" to the "presidential suite", and moved our reservation to a new room without informing us.

You can imagine our surprise when we found that the room was changed... on our wedding night! Management was no help, staring at me and asking what they were supposed to do about it. They offered a possible discount on a future nights stay. Guess what? I don't plan on going back.

Absolutely terrible service, rude, and deceptive. Classic bait and switch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are very disappointed this happened to you on your very special day. We have made the appropriate changes with our second floor bridal suites to assure this never happens in the future. The room with the balcony is so luxurious we changed its title to our “Lafayette Suite” as it is superior to the bridal suites, providing a balcony overlooking the Lafayette Square, a grand dining table, and extra seating. We have learned from our mistake and are deeply sorry that is was at the expense of your stay. We hope you can overlook this memory of your special day and remember it as a once in a lifetime experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    26
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
49
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I decided to give this hotel a try after seeing some good reviews. Boy was I disappointed! Someone described the place as hip. Really? It was dirty and the interior design remind me of a bad furniture display at TJ Maxx. The drab wall color was the color one imagines would be in a mental hospital and the whole place lacked warmth. And where the heck could one go to get some decent food? The are many places in Buffalo that do it way better for the same amount of money or less.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay at the Hotel @ The Lafayette did not exceed your expectations. The décor of the hotel is very Art Deco themed and was designed this way to bring back the feel of the hotel in the 1920’s. We understand this will not please every guest, but we do our best to try. The Hotel @ The Lafayette is host to three restaurants to try and appeal to all the restaurant markets. Mike Andrezjewski, one of Buffalo’s best chefs, has a fine dining steakhouse serving the best of the best. Sweet and Savory by Butterwoods, is a great upscale restaurant with a twist on your traditional menu items, as well as their famous bakery. Last but not least, the Pan-American Grill and Brewery. Brewing their signature beers, going from the basement straight up to the tap, all accompanied by a casual mix of burgers, wings, and specialty pizza’s. We hope to convince you to give us another chance in the future to achieve your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
511 reviews 511 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Heard a lot about it and downtown Buffalo doesn't have much in the way of really nice hotels so we tried it out and it was great. The hotel was just re-modeled and they did a nice job with it. Our suite was was extremely nice. Bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in. No curtains which was weird so it wasn't pitch black like we need to have a great sleep. Hope they change it. Great continental breakfast in the lobby and very nice staff! Will come back to hit the bar one night when back in Buffalo.

Room Tip: Get a suite - very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the comforts of your suite. We are currently adding black out drapes to our third floor rooms to keep the light out when necessary. Thank you for the compliment on our staff, and we hope to see you downtown again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

While I give kudos to the developer for this project and adding new life to an old gem, we stayed in what I believe the desk clerk called their "presidential suite" and I believe when we booked was the "Lafayette Suite" - way over priced for the Buffalo market and the value of the room. Lots of flash and style - not a lot of substance for a hotel stay. Spacious suite with nothing to show for it...the fireplace was some designers version of "cool" - it was a hologram! The bathroom creeped me out w/ all the windows and the no door to the shower made me freeze if I wasn't right under the water. For $300 a night on a romantic getaway - I want a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub - not just "flashy". There was no hand towel by the sink, had to go back into the shower over the tub to get a towel and had no place to hang it. The one towel hook by the shower kept falling down. The shower stall was never completed and missed in a the "punchlist" phase. The ceiling heat right over the bed is like cold air blowing on you all night. No phone by the bed. No fridge, no microwave and I didn't even get the motif of the room - Egypt meets the Jetsons? We looked high and low and never found any directory of services in the room but a Room Service Menu for the American Grill. They have several tenants and no advertisement to let you know your options while at their property. We did get room service it is was the most enjoyable part of the stay (aside from my company!) And I can't believe they have the nerve to say "it includes continental breakfast in the morning" - what sorry spread. When I arrived I was in the Front Desk area for about 5 minutes and no one was ever at the desk. Someone could have easily stolen the guest's bags being "stored" behind the desk. Glad it wasn't my bag! Please hire someone with a background in the hotel business...not designers and developers...to make this a true great Buffalo experience for visitors. Once the novelty wears off, so will the praise. Believe me I have 30 years experience in the hotel business and have stayed in some very "posh" hotels and suites - including in Buffalo...this boutique may fool basic Buffalonians but true visitors and travelers will soon be seeking out the Hampton Inn & Suites, the Embassy Suites or the Mansion on Delaware - where you truly get luxury and excellent service for a bargain cost compared to this hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't mean to check spa...it doesn't have one that I was aware of anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Buffalo's answer to Toronto's Drake Hotel. Sort of.

How much you like it here I think will depend upon whether you prefer a hip, retro feel over the luxuries of an upscale hotel.

You enter the lobby and see a large wooden vintage airplane mural with round silver metal chairs and plane bucket seats. The colours scheme is grey, taupe, silver metal, masculine and 50's. Our 1-bedroom suite had whimsical touches like a ceramic dog and an oversize drug store clock. The self standing shower beside the tub was beautiful, the feather duvet luxurious and a great bed. 2 fireplaces and 2 TVs. What's not to love? It depends. By the second day, after we'd thoroughly admired and agreed it was all very cool, I missed the tradeoff of a warm, welcoming interior and the kind of luxury you'd find a nice hotel like The Mansion on Delaware.

On the plus side: Drinks downstairs at the beautiful art deco bar were great. Unique custom drinks worth trying: (Rye, rum and maple; gin and tonic with grapefruit; and an alcoholic beet drink... Really. Don't ask.) We skipped the Pan American Grill & Brewery downstairs after deciding the look of the place may be the best thing about it--imagine a more authentic Ruby Tuesday. The restaurant is basically one big open room and it was insanely noisy. We left. Good call as the best restaurant in Buffalo in my books hands down, is Trattoria Amora, 5 minutes away by cab, book early to get a seat, and stroll beautiful Elmwood Ave. while you wait. Amaaaaaazing food and I don't even particularly like italian food. You have to go there.

Last tips: Go downstairs to the bakery Butterfields before you leave the hotel and buy the most beautifully decorated cupcakes and cookies to take home. Many people liked the florist and gift shops, which are worth a look.

And when you book, get the guy, not the girl. (I hate when I have to be the one to ask if the rate the woman gave me was the best rate--and it wasn't! An additional CAA/AAA discount reduced the rate--but why do I have to be the one to ask? Why give a customer a higher rate when you have a lower one for the same room? Duh. She was also no help when I asked about attractions. The guy was as helpful as she was not.)

The hotel is in downtown Buffalo, not the best location--safe but deserted. But a short drive to the action.

If you like the sound of staying in a beautiful old hotel that has been renovated into retro cool, you'll probably really like it here. But it is pretty distinctive so it may not be for everyone. To echo an earlier comment, the halls were wide, open, grey and retro--and felt like you were in a scene out of the movie The Shining. That about sums it up. I enjoyed the visit, but been there, done that and would likely book at a warmer, cozier place next time. But worth a night just to gawk and admire.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed reading about your experience here, and are glad you enjoyed some of the trademark decor in our suites. We agree with you, the drinks at Mike A’s lounge and Butterwood's Desserts are a must if you’re here. We are continuing our efforts to maintain uniform procedures and decision making at the front desk so everyone receives the same great response from all our staff, rather than just the gentleman you spoke with. Stop by again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I stay at the hotel frequently and have visited it's wonderful restaurants many times. Each experience has been consistent...wonderful! The hotel itself is magnificent maintaining it's original charm with a touch of elegant modern character. The rooms are beautiful. A good friend of mine said..."I could just go on vacation here in this room!". The individuals at the hotel are accomodating and welcoming adding to the great experience. There are three restaurants that offer each it's own experience and a variety of food culture. You have your choice of a sophisticated and worldly steakhouse, Michael A's, that offers you food combinations and presentations you would never think of that are delightful. You could venture downstairs to Butterwoods where the room opens up to elegance with an alluring ambiance as it used to exist as the old speak easy. The restaurant has a beautiful bar, savory and sweet menu and my favorite, a display of their well known and loved deserts ready for you to select. On the flip side, if you were looking just to be low key, grab a bite of Buffalo's favorite foods such as a juicy burger, wings, pizza and flatbreads, you can cozy up to a delicious house brew and food selection at the Pan American Grill. Bottom line, the Hotel Lafayette is a world of it's own that must be experienced!

Andrea E.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
The Hotel @ The Lafayette would like to thank you for such an amazing review. We are glad to see that you enjoy our hotel as well as the three restaurants we have here. We look forward to your future stays here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binghamton, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel at the Lafayette and were more than pleasantly surprised! Booked through Hotwire, which can be hit or miss. Not really knowing anything about the hotel, we did not know what to expect. There is no pull-off for check-in but cars seemed to be fine pulling to the curb to check-in and unload. We used the valet parking option which was reasonable and convenient. Since it was a hotwire booking, we originally had a standard room. I asked the very friendly woman at the desk about upgrading to a suite with a sitting area. She was incredibly gracious and said she would try but didn't know how to charge the difference. She inquired of the manager and he upgraded us for free. A great start to our Thanksgiving weekend. The room itself was beautiful, comfortable. Art deco without being cold. (How can it be cold with a gas fireplace in the sitting area?) The bed was super comfortable and the room was so quiet and dark, I could have slept for hours. The hotel itself was extraordinary. The restoration was done so artfully and tastefully. The restaurants and bars inside were incredible. From the PanAmerican grill, to Butterwoods, and Michael A's (which we didn't eat at but will next time), it was like a little resort. What we really loved though was the customer service. Everyone was so nice, so accommodating and there was this ever-present feeling that everyone who worked there was so very proud of the Lafayette. Thank goodness someone rescued this beautiful building. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms on the second floor and wouldn't think twice about paying the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Front Office Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It is so wonderful to hear how appreciative and complimentary you are towards everything the Lafayette has to offer. From the rooms, restaurants, restoration and the staff, these compliments make our hard work worth it. We are glad we were able to make your Thanksgiving stay with us memorable, and look forward to having you again for any occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel @ The Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.