We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifully renovated, working out kinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel @ The Lafayette

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel @ The Lafayette to your Saves list
Hotel @ The Lafayette
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winter Springs, FL
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“beautifully renovated, working out kinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here in early August for a weekend and a wedding and reception that was taking place at the hotel. It is a beautiful hotel and the rooms were great. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was awesome. Other people we knew had the 1 bedroom setup and those were beautifully decorated. The price and what you received in the room was a great deal. Our suite only had privacy curtains, not real ones that would keep the light out. Hard to sleep in with the light pouring in the room in the early morning.

They still needed to take care of some little details that I an not sure how they overlooked. There are no signs in the hallways telling you which way to go for which room numbers. There were no signs pointing you in the direction of the elevator.

The continental breakfast was pretty weak. Many people went up about a block and got stuff at Tim Horton's.

The location is perfect for downtown.

I would stay here again if I was traveling to downtown Buffalo

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    43
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
21
72
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Julian, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

So much thought put into design and renovation shows! The spaces feel both historic and hip, and they are all interesting! Beds were wonderful, bathrooms great. Fun details to look at everywhere, including big coffee table art books in the room. (Nice touch!) Helpful and pleasant service and a total deal for what you pay. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Lafayette in late July in a two bedroom suite.

Pros: it was large with lots of privacy in the two bedrooms (one bed in each room) and two bathrooms. Also a sleep sofa in the sitting area and a full kitchen. It had three flat screen TVs and free wifi. Clean and comfortable.

Cons: two people traveling together who each want their own bed have no choice except a two bedroom suite. Every other choice of room has either one bed only (standard room and junior suite) or one bed and a pullout sofa (one bedroom suite). This is not clear on the website which describes a junior suite, for example, as having "king or queen size beds" (plural).

Cons: the hotel rooms only seem to be fully decorated up to the second floor. This will eventually be remedied, I imagine, but the website doesn't accurately depict the room we occupied which was on an upper floor. Our room had bare white walls (no paint or graphics), no drapes, no bedside tables (just a tiny built-in shelf on each side) or reading lamps in the bedrooms, no benches at the foot of the beds. The kitchen (which we didn't intend to use anyway) was lovely but not fully equipped. The eating area was simply the island with three stools; no dining table as depicted in some website pictures. The sitting area had a leather coach and chair, but not the desks or credenza or cute little seating area or accessories depicted on the website, no drapes and white walls In fact, there was not even pen or paper in the suite when I wanted to leave a note with my housekeeping tip.

While the room was perfectly fine, I would advise travelers who want the "full experience" of the charm that the hotel has to offer to call in personally and specifically ask for a fully decorated and completed room. The website says: "Each room is luxuriantly decorated with Pan-American décor." That was not true in our case.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are still minimally decorated at this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I heard that the new owners invested $30M in the renovation of The Lafayette. I didn't believe it until I went inside the room. Everything is brand new and top quality.
We had a suite with two bedrooms overlooking Washington Street. The full kitchen had a stove, full-size stainless steel refrigerator and granite-top island with a deep sink. Leather sofas surround the 60" (?) screen television in the common area. There are large screen televisions in each of the bedroom suites which also have their own bathroom suites.
They need a better sign out front to let people know the hotel is open for business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

During a recent visit to Buffalo I wanted to stay at the Mansion on Delaware Avenue (MoDA) throughout but that property was booked for certain nights. I stayed at MoDA for most nights but then stayed at the Hotal @ Lafayette for my last night in town as recommended to me by the "butlers" at ModDA. The dual stay provided an interesting contrast between the properties. See my separate review of Mansion on Delaware for more detail about that property.

The Hotel @ Lafayette is completely and totally recently renovated and it shows. Almost everything has that crisp "newness" about it. And it's a real pleasure to enjoy everything before they start to show the wear and tear that will come over the years. (For example the hairdryer cord was still folded and bound like it just came out of the box!)

This is a beautiful, beautiful property. The decor is a completely charming blend of the "original" look (circa 1904 to the 1930's) and some updated modern elements. We stayed in a Junior King Suite that was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in during our many years of worldwide travel. I highly recommend that type of room (unless you are a honeymooner in which case the (I am told) Honeymoon Suite is incomparable.)

On the other hand, there are a few "kinks" to the new establishment. Some incomplete elements in the lobby are still "sitting around" looking like they are waiting for construction crews to finish and all of the windows (interior and exterior) looked like someone had just recently wiped them down with a not quite clean rag.) On our arrival, my wife and I had just driven in from Toronto (a longish drive via Niagara on the Lake) and were looking for a "nice" place to have dinner and drinks. The pleasant young woman at the front desk recommended the on-premise martini bar or the on-premise grill. We ate at the rather noisy sports-bar-like grill and only later discovered that there was a fabulous fine dining restaurant named Mike's @ Lafayette not 50 feet from the reception desk! The grill was OK but, MAN, we wish we'd been offered the fine dining. Also, because the restaurants on the property are actually run by independent operators, you can't just put the tab on your hotel bill. No big deal, but a little surprise.

The breakfast spread is rather meager (and certainly does not compare to that at MoDA).

For ambiance and decor, Hotel @ Lafayette is a winner and is a good value to boot. But they do need to finish their renovation and work out the kinks.

Room Tip: You can't miss with the Junior King Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed in a Junior King Suite...and was extremely impressed. The decor of the entire hotel is amazing, very 1930's meets modern style, like said in the other reviews. The most comfortable bed and linens I have ever slept in at a hotel. The bathroom was very cool as well. Cannot say enough about this place...and cannot wait to what it is like when all aspects are completed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Blocked off a bunch of rooms over the weekend after nearly every hotel in Buffalo was sold out. It must be because not many people know that the hotel either exists or didn't know it opened. Anyway, all that was available were junior suites and one standard room. Many of my friends who had reserved room at other hotels for the weekend payed more than a junior suite here and the room were far superior. First of all, the hotel is beautiful. I was absolutely shocked at the amazing renovation job on this building. The lobby is really nice with access to the various boutique shops located right off of it. There is also the brewery/restaurant and Mike A's steakhouse. Mike A's may end up being the top steakhouse of Buffalo in the near future. I will have to visit soon for sure.
As for the rooms they are wonderful. Beautiful decor. Modern meets 1930's. Really slick. The suite I stayed in had a full kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. It's nicer than most peoples apartments. Great service, good location, and beautiful rooms at a reasonable price. It's a no brainier to stay here. I will recommend this hotel to anyone coming to visit in Buffalo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel @ The Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel @ The Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.