We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay except breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Hhonors Points!
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay except breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We walked in off the street for a 1 night Sunday stay on our way to Canada. Free parking was great, staff had a roll away bed in our room before we got up there. Everything about the room and location was great. Cory, the manager on that evening was Excellent! Gave us great tips about restaurants and saw him working hard all night (cleaning up towels in the pool area even). The only complaint I had was the free breakfast was lacking greatly. The staff couldn't keep up with the hot food, so the selections were slim when we got there, and they could not keep up with the trash. Otherwise a great stay in Buffalo.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good afternoon, TisaNew and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! Cory is an invaluable asset. He is always working to improve guest experience. Thank you for noting him. We are happy that we were able to provide a great room, location, free parking, and recommendations. We do apologize that breakfast did not meet your expectations. Certainly, there should be enough prepared food and trash should be managed. I will address this situation with our breakfast staff and work to ensure that a situation like this is not likely to occur again. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    184
    33
    5
    8
See reviews for
194
222
41
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LOS ANGELES, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I really like this hotel! It's very clean and spacious. I think this is the only hotel that 100% matches the pictures on its website so far in my life that I lived before. I came here to take the bar, and this hotel makes me feel really comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Fantastic. Thank you so much for your review, Yurui L.! We are so happy that we were able to make you feel comfortable during your stay. We can only imagine how difficult and how much pressure and preparation is involved in the bar exam. We do understand how extremely important it is to provide a quiet and considerate atmosphere during the bar exam, and are happy that we are able to do that for you and your fellow test-takers. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again, under different circumstances, of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013 and it was a seriously enjoyable experience! We were given the large suite that was used by the owners son and it is the size of a whole apartment! The staff were very friendly and breakfast was substantial. The hotel was very clean and is very well placed in downtown buffalo and handy for a trip to Niagra falls. Definitely recommended

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, Dave E! That room is definitely a one-of-a-kind (and a luck of the draw). We are so happy that we were able to wow you! We also pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff. We are the only hotel in downtown Buffalo to offer both complimentary parking and free breakfast. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again, the next time you find yourself in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I've never stayed in a bad Hampton Inn. Staff is always extremely accommodating, beds are amazingly comfortable, breakfast selection is excellent. Hotel chain quality seems dependent on individual owners/managers, but Hampton is consistently a comfortable place to stay. Downtown Buffalo's is no exception.

Room Tip: If you want some extra space, ask for a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments, MM H. Although Hampton Inn Hotels have certain standards that must be consistent, they are franchised. We are fortunate to be a hotel owned by Buffalo Lodging Associates. They put a huge margin of profits made from the hotel right back into it. Our properties are well cared for and upgrades are always popping up! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We know you have many choices in Downtown Buffalo. We look forward to seeing you, the next time you’re in Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Va
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hampton inn is a great choice for those looking to stay right in the heart of Buffalo. It is a convenient option for those wishing to see Buffalo before traveling to Niagara Falls. The rooms were large and clean (the bathroom is particularly large, which is a plus). Parking was free, but the lot can get full on busy weekends, especially when Buffalo holds the "Taste of Buffalo" event in July.

Tips: This hotel is about 15-20 minutes from the airport. They take security very seriously at the hotel, and keycards are needed to enter the pool, the lobby bathroom, and even to ride the elevator. The breakfast buffet is impressive, with plenty of selection and seating. Also -- for the younger crowd -- the Hampton is right next to Chippewa street, which has plenty of bars and restaurants (although noise is not an issue).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Sd0453, thank you so much for your review! Our location is great for being able to see what Buffalo has to offer. We are right in Downtown Buffalo and close to Allentown and Elmwood Village. Canalside is great, especially in the summer when there are many concerts and festivals. Our location, right on the corner of Delaware and West Chippewa is great for nightlife, and like you said, our building is soundproofed so that it remains quiet for guests. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Every review I read before staying here pretty much nailed it. I thought the breakfast was pretty much average. It was far better at the Cleveland location I stayed at two years ago. Other than that, no complaints clean and safe and a great location,close to the ballpark and Pearl Street Grill.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Good afternoon, CourticeComputerGuy and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so happy that we were able to deliver a great hotel experience for you. Our location is very desirable. It is walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Buffalo! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is clean, comfortable and well located in downtown Buffalo. The King Suite was perfect for our family of four. It was quiet too and the staff immediately responded to our requests for extra pillows, blankets, soap and coffee. We got a reasonable price on the room, free breakfast and free parking. I definitely recommend this Hampton Inn & Suites!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Fantastic! Thank you so much, CWMitchell for choosing to stay with us, and for writing a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very attentive to our guests, and we are so pleased that we were able to provide you with everything you needed to make your stay comfortable. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to the prospect of seeing you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Address: 220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.