We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great hotel. Rooms are always clean. Always ample space. Suites are great with hot tubs or fireplace. Love the connection to restaurants right from hotel. They do not have on demand movies which someone in my family feels is a a huge fault of the Embassy Suites but yet not here? Anyway great hotel.

Room Tip: They do not have on demand movies which I do not mind but others definitely do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good afternoon, JTD724! Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoy the unique amenities to many of our rooms, as well as our proximity to restaurants. We would like to thank you for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    169
    31
    5
    7
See reviews for
171
205
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I travel to Buffalo a lot since I work for a Buffalo-based company but live in Boston. Over the last year I have stayed at several hotels in the Buffalo area but I love the Hampton Inn the best; I am disappointed if I cannot get a room there during a trip to Buffalo. The staff is always genuinely friendly and always working hard to make your stay wonderful. I love the parking; it is right next to the hotel with no valet (with other hotels in the area you either have to wait for the valet or walk blocks to get your car out of a parking garage). Their rooms are quiet (they block out street noise as well as hallway noise) and they are a nice size (not too big that you feel lost in the room, but not too small that you feel cramped). The rooms are always clean and everything always works. I love their location to restaurants in the area that you can walk to during the summer but the fact that they provide access to four food options without going outside during the winter. Their exercise room equipment is always in working condition. Throw in free wifi and a great, free breakfast included and you can understand why I always try to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Good afternoon, sdavi, and thank you so much for your response. We understand that for people who spend a lot of time in hotels due to their work schedule, hotel stays are not always met with the same excitement as leisure travelers. We are so glad that we are able to meet your needs and give access to great amenities. There are some wonderful hotels in Buffalo, and we are proud that you rank us as your favorite. We look forward to the next time we welcome you “home.” Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were in town for a Saturday night for a family gathering. We had never stayed at the Hampton Suites before (usually we stay at the Embassy Suites but decided to try something new). First off, our room was tiny! For the amount I paid for the night, I was expecting something a little bigger than a postage stamp sized room. I can get a whole suite next door at the Embassy for the same price. Upon arrival our bed looked very lumpy. At first I thought they had checked us into an already occupied room. Turned out it was just the comforter. The comforter is all sewn squares so when they wash it, all the filling in each square balls up giving the lumpy look. This also means that the warmth quality of the bedspread is lost. I asked for them to change it which they happily did. The second comforter was better but was on it's way to being a lumpy mess. Other than the comforter, the room was clean as was the bathroom.

Our night of sleep was horrible. There must have been some kind of bachelorette party or girls gathering of some sort as they were partying and screaming in the halls from about 2-4 AM. And by screaming I mean SCREAMING (most of which was profanity).

Breakfast the next morning was pretty good. The food was fresh and plentiful and there were places to sit.

The staff were very nice, I have nothing but good things to say about them, I did not encounter one staff member who was anything but pleasant.

Overall, it is a nice hotel in a good location. However, the value for the room is not that great and the bedding is unfortunately showing it's age.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Good afternoon, michisholm, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. As a historical building, we take advantage of the already existing structure of the building so that most rooms are not alike. Some rooms are larger, while others are smaller. Our suites differ in their amenities, as well as size. Many of our guests enjoy certain aspects of different rooms, and room types. It looks like you were in one of the smaller standard rooms of the hotel. Though some people enjoy a cozy feel (our bar exam test takers love them), we understand that other guests enjoy spreading out. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again so that you experience the different rooms we have available. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Me and my parents stayed here for two nights while visiting my brother and we were all really happy with everything. Light, clean, airy rooms (with a jacuzzi!) and the beds were comfortable. Good breakfast, friendly staff and shuttle to/from the airport. Free, reliable wifi as well.

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Good morning, norosesnoskies! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We work very hard to make sure that guests are afforded the comfort and amenities that they deserve while staying at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Booked my in-laws using points as part of a Christmas gift to see a hockey game. Phoned in to add their names to my reservations with no issues. My in-laws were delighted with their stay. Staff had marked that this was a Christmas gift and upgraded them to a very nice room and were helpful in arranging for a taxi to the game.

Nice to see that this hotel management understands that people staying on points represent the chain's best customers, unlike competing brands (Ahem, Holiday Inn, ahem).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Good afternoon, Max370, and thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy that even with limited interaction, we were able to provide you with wonderful service. What a lovely gift idea! We try to upgrade guests whenever possible, and we enjoy being able to take the opportunity to do so, especially given a special occasion. Thank you for your patronage and for being a loyal Hilton Honors member. We look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very clean and comfortable rooms with a nice lobby with a lovely stone fireplace and a free coffee bar. Secured, free parking in front of the building. Nice amenities pool and fitness center available. Also there are three restaurants accessible in the same building. I was there in snow and cold and it was nice to access dinner withour having to go outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for hitting on some great attributes of our hotel! We are fortunate, especially in the winter season, to have four restaurants of various cuisines and price points attached to our hotel. We hear from guests time and again how wonderful of a convenience it is, and we have to agree! We’re so glad that you enjoyed all of the amenties that we offer and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Buffalo. Thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We attended a concert at the Events Center Downtown and stayed overnight during the week. For the cost, the room was comfy and staff were great. Breakfast was good as you would expect. When we inquired about the best way to drive and park at the Events Center we were directed to take the free trolley a three block walk away which made the concert a breeze. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting downtown Buffalo, especially for a concert. It was my first concert in Buffalo and I would definitely return for another because of this experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyStone, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Excellent! Thank you for your review. We are fortunate to be close proximity to the First Niagara Center, and the free trolley that runs downtown is a great offering by the City of Buffalo. We always try to give our guests as many options as possible, and when visiting the arena, the trolley often makes the most sense. We look forward to seeing you again, the next time a concert or event brings you to Buffalo. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Address: 220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.