We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - if not full.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Buffalo
Watertown, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice - if not full.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice. Unfortunately we stayed at a time it was nearly full. The breakfast area was very crowded (no tables and waited in line for food). We had difficulty in getting an elevator to check out. I'm sure that if they were not as full, it would have been a very nice experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your Kind words on your experience and apologize for the issues you encountered due to our full house. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you a more individualized and relaxed experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    152
    27
    4
    7
See reviews for
139
174
31
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The service is excellent and the rooms are very clean. What I love about this hotel is you do not hear your neighbors. For example, when doors are opening and closing, you do not hear that. The bathrooms are kept very clean. The bedding is also very comfortable. The breakfast is free and they provide a wide variety of breakfast items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for noticing our clean rooms and wonderful staff. We take great pride in our hotel and your comments are noticed by all. We understand there are many options when coming to Buffalo and we thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wow, one of the best experiences at a hotel. We were in town for a concert and could not have picked a better place to stay. The hotel looks brand new. The rooms were beautiful, very clean and spacious. The staff was wonderful from the front desk to the cleaning personnel. The hotel is smack in the middle of numerous wonderful restaurants and the train to the First Niagara Center is a few blocks away. They also include a breakfast buffet which was very good. This is definately #1 on our list for hotels in Buffalo!! the price was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Wow, thank you for a great review. I am very proud to hear that this was one of your best experiences. We did recently renovate our guest rooms in “09” and public areas in “11”. All of the hotel staff takes great pride in the service we deliver; we strive to exceed your expectations. We are fortunate to be in such a great location and our guests benefit from that. We hope to see you again on your next trip over to Buffalo. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great staff and location! The hotel had a great fitness room, pool, business center...The front desk fellow was
Awesome through our whole stay...Highly recommend..Walking distance to restaurants..Really nice stay...helpful staff...large rooms...great amenities...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I see you were able to use all of facilities, and they met your expectations. Thank you for noticing our awesome staff and great amenities. I hope that if your travels ever bring you back to Buffalo, you come and stay with us. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

stayed here for a hockey game this past week. was upgraded to a fantastic suite. hotel is very clean, front desk is helpful. typical Hampton inn breakfast. Local area - a few bars a short walk away. i have stayed here before and will stay again. the right price for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments about our hotel here on trip advisor. We appreciate you choosing our Hampton on your recent hockey trip to Buffalo. I am glad that you have chosen to return to us on this visit. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness and helpfulness of our staff once again. I would also like to thank you for being a loyal guest of our Hampton Inn & Suites. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took a last-minute trip to Buffalo for a Sabres game and some shopping. Decided to stay downtown and made a great decision to stay at the Hampton Inn. This hotel is number one for a reason - clean and modern all around. Front desk staff are efficient and helpful. They gave perfect advice re dinner and other local options. The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated. Large hallways with nary a sound anywhere. Practical planning all over. Breakfast is varied each day and again the place is spotlessly clean. Need some extra time after they close at breakfast? No problem they will oblige. Did I mention free parking and wifi in the rooms? You need a room card to access any of the room floors but that was fine with us. Generally felt safe walking around the area at night - not that there was that much to do. Still close to the sports attractions and some nice restaurants. Glad we stayed here and not out in the suburban strip mall areas. They do everything right here. I wish all other hotels were this well managed.

Only thing I would change is if they had mini-fridges in the rooms but otherwise an excellent choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I cannot thank you enough for your review of our hotel. Your comments on our team and the jobs we do are greatly appreciated. I am glad that our team was accommodating to you both at the front desk and in breakfast. We are a true value with everything being included in your room, even parking. We love what we do here at the Hampton and your comments are a testament to that. Thank you. We have a great location downtown, central to just about everything. I hope that if you decide to come back to Buffalo for a game or any other reason you choose us again. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to watch a concert at the First Niagara centre. The staff very very helpful making a suggestion we take the free trolley 2 blocks away, and holding doors, etc. We found the rooms neat and spacious. Beds and pillows comfortable, and prices reasonable. The hot breakfast was ample and changed the 2 mornings we stayed. Advise: go for breakfast prior to 15 minutes before close. It was very crowded at that time. They had eggs, sausage make you own waffles and the other "continental" breakfast options. What struck us was how secure the hotel was. Don't forget your room key. You need it to operate the doors, elevators and to go into the attached restaurants. It was convenient to have access to a Subway, the Chocolate Bar, a Salsarita - right from the hotel. There were lifts to help people with disabilities into and out of the pool and hot tub. I would definitely stay here again next time I go to Buffalo.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for posting comments about your stay here on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you choose us for your visit to the First Niagara Center and found our accommodations comfortable, from the beds to the breakfast each morning. We are very fortunate to have such great restaurants right in our hotel for your convenience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we understand you have many choices when traveling to Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown

Address: 220 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#1 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Buffalo Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Hampton Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.