We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Buffalo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Parkside House to your Saves list
Parkside House
462 Woodward Ave., Buffalo, NY 14214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Gourmet Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Western New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place in Buffalo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We live in the area, and decided to stay at Parkside House for a night away. Enjoyed it greatly. Beautiful house. We stayed in the Woodward Room--huge and very nicely decorated. Also, the bathroom is brand new--nice shower. Bed was very comfortable. Delicious breakfast. We prefer B&B's that are a little bit more like an upscale inn, and this fits that description. Chris is very friendly, but not obtrusive. For those not familar with the area, this is a great "jumping off" point for seeing the sites in Buffalo. Close to everything in a historic neighborhood.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
56
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pocono, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This beautiful historic home, tucked away in a quiet neighborhood just outside Buffalo's bustling downtown, was a wonderful experience. We had the pleasure of meeting Bonnie and Marty who were filling in for Chris and Johnny. This twosome was more than hospitable. They were a joy to meet and extremely patient with our "crew". We not only enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning, along with good conversation, but they were incredibly helpful in suggesting the best places to eat around town at night. The decor was beautifully done and the bed was oh, so comfy. As one can tell, this was a delightful place to spend some needed time away.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a lovely, clean, historic home located in a quiet residential neighborhood in Buffalo. Chris is a friendly guy and his breakfast was very good. If that is all you are after in a B&B, you will be happy here. If you are more into full service bed and breakfasts with fresh flowers, bathrobes, bottled water in the room, freshly baked cookies, refreshments for guests (coffee, tea, etc.), brochures and other information about the local area, restaurant guides or menus you may be disappointed here. We stayed in the Woodside Suite, a very large bedroom with a king sized bed, a sitting area with a couch and love seat and a bathroom with shower only. The room itself was very comfortable (though I agree with a review that said the bed was too firm). The bathroom was long, but very narrow (3 feet wide). There is a small vanity with no place large enough to set toiletries and you have to maneuver around the toilet and sink to get to the shower. We only saw Chris for five minutes at check in and breakfast; we never saw Johnny. Coffee was supposed to be ready at 7 but when I went downstairs, the dining room was dark. I went to Dunkin Donuts for coffee, which made me very cranky. Chris told me I should have knocked, but I didn’t feel comfortable knocking since the website said the kitchen “reverts to Chris’ private area after breakfast.” The next day I did knock, but still didn't feel comfortable doing so. Why not light the dining room and open the kitchen door to welcome guests in for coffee or tea? I would have bumped this up to four or even five stars had a few more amenities been thrown in to make guests feel more welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: The Woodward is a very large room, but the bath very narrow. The bed is a little hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Buffalo for a couple of days devoted to art and architecture. The Albright-Knox Art Gallery alone is worth the visit! We also booked a tour of the Darwin Martin House compound, one of Frank Lloyd Wright's greatest group of buildings. It is in a historic neighbourhood, a short walk from the Parkside House bed and breakfast, where we stayed. We love to stay in old houses with character, and this certainly has that. It is a charming home, beautifully furnished. We had the Woodward Room, at the front, that originally must have been two rooms...it was huge, comfortable and quiet. Chris was very helpful with advice about where to eat. The breakfast was delicious-a rich, vegetable quiche with fresh fruit. We met a lovely couple there and had a lively conversation, that added to the general enjoyment of our stay. And last, but not least, we were charmed by the 3 wonderful dogs who kept to the sun room at the back but who kindly let us pet them. We had a great time at Parkside House and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you like lots of space, this room is great. Although it is at the front and we had the windows op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Buffalo. The Parkside House B & B was wonderful. The house was beautifully decorated, the neighborhood was amazing, and Chris was a great host. He served wonderful breakfasts and gave us many good suggestions for restaurants and other places to visit during our stay. The rooms were clean and quiet. The other guests we met were very interesting and personable. We will definitely stay at the Parkside House again when we return to Buffalo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We really enjoy B&B's when we travel because you get to meet the nicest people and get the local scoop on the best places to eat and the "must" things to see and do. This trip was no exception. Chris recommended Hutch's which was fabulous, as other reviewers have attested and Ristorante Lombardo where the "Cesar Salad for two prepared table-side" is not only a nice show but a culinary delight that should not be missed. Also, the owners stopped by our table and made us feel very welcomed.
Back at the Parkside House we stayed 2 nights in the Summit Room where the bed was very comfortable and with the window open we never had to turn on the AC, which is a rare treat for this Texas couple.
Breakfast was wonderful both mornings, we enjoyed the company of fellow guests and sitting on the porch swing in the evenings was a lovely way to relax and unwind. Our main destination was Niagara Falls and the Parkside House was a great homebase where I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I lived in Buffalo many years ago and upon my return for business I did not want to stay in a traditional hotel. I wanted to stay in a place that would remind me of what I remembered, lovely old houses in neighborhoods with trees and friendly people. The Parkside House was perfect.
I stayed in the Jewett Room which was like staying in a old friends guest room, comfortable and cozy. The bathroom was amazing with a claw foot tub and huge shower. Chris asked if I would like anything special and actually went out and got me a memory foam pillow. He took very good care of me and made me quiche for breakfast. It was just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside House

Address: 462 Woodward Ave., Buffalo, NY 14214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Parkside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.