We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of lakeside heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erie Basin Marina Gardens

Erie Basin Marina Gardens
Buffalo Erie Basin Marina, Foot Of Erie St, Buffalo, NY
(716) 851-5389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 90 Attractions in Buffalo
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit of lakeside heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The volunteers and park employees have put together an oasis in our downtown area. The flowers are beautifully arranged and all along both sides of the drive. The real treat though are the test gardens, using seeds from both US and Canadian growers...both perennials and annuals. A treat to see any time, Spring or summer or fall! Bring your friends and family and enjoy the view and lake breezes and get an icecream cone from the Hatch just near by and chill!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wear comfortable shoes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I go to the marina a few times a year and always marvel at the view.You never know what will be sailing by. The last time it was a pirate ship to the delight of the kids in our group. The observation tower is awesome.Please be advised it is three flights up with no elevator but a must if you can. The old wooden carving are quite unique and make for some fun photos. This free beauty is an afternoon well spent

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of flowers - well kept gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It was nice to see a variety of flowers along with the names of the flowers so you could go to a nursery to buy. Generates lots of ideas for next year.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

WE enjoyed seeing the different types of flowers. They really do a nice job every year with the gardens, quite beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Interesting Area Along Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went primarily for the gardens which were nice but not as extensive as we might have expected - but then again they are free to look at. What we enjoyed most was just strolling along the harbor on a beautiful Summer Sunday. There are fascinating boats in the marina and the lighthouse is visible just across the channel. It is a short walk down to the naval/military park and some historical exhibits on the canal. All of these attractions are listed separately in TA with their own fans. While I wouldn't go back for just the gardens, I would certainly go back for all you can do for free in this interesting area of Buffalo along the lake.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erie Basin Marina Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Erie Basin Marina Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erie Basin Marina Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.