We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - real BBQ in Buffalo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
1753 Walden Ave, Buffalo, NY 14225-4924
(716) 892-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 819 Restaurants in Buffalo
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“WOW - real BBQ in Buffalo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

On a trip to Buffalo, all the usual restaurants were full, so driving around we saw Famous Dave's BBQ, and laughed because we'd never heard of 'Famous" Dave!. Whata great surprise - some of the ebst BBQ ribs in Buffalo, for a very reasonable price, along with unusual flavours, like the pineapple and jalopeno sauce...only $3 a bottle to take home as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    21
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good for quick lunch!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our server was very personable (sorry don't remember his name). Our food came out pretty quickly but thats because they weren't very busy. (we were there during the week for lunch). we ordered the pulled pork sandwitch and it was good, but not the best we have had. Undecided about going back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've been to Famous Dave's in other cities, but this location is large, airy and blessedly quiet! No blasting music. We could chat without yelling. Food good as ever if you like barbeque and smoked foods. Plus only a 5 minte wait for a good table.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I am looking forward to returning for another meal here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I ate here last night. Sam was my server and suggested a local brew; good recommendation. The meal was perfect. The best ribs I've eaten in a long time. The sides of mac&cheese and broccoli were delicious too. The meal was well priced for what I had. I will definitely come back here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD-GREAT SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Truly informal, casual dining. Our server, Mike, was definitely doing a fine dining service in a casual place---sooo competent. We ordered the "feast" which is served on a garbage can cover! Whether you order the small for 2 or 3 or the large for 6, you will get your money's worth. Unlike the Long Island Famous Dave's. this restaurant serves their brisket sliced rather than shredded. The brisket is cooked and sliced to perfection. Don't go without having the brisket!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.