We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They could film a horror movie here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Lenox Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lenox Hotel and Suites
140 North Street, Buffalo, NY 14201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Buffalo
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“They could film a horror movie here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A friend of ours booked this hotel, so my husband followed suit. I then checked it out on Trip advisor and he was concerned as well. He checked around for other hotels in the area but couldn't find a room. The bonus: free parking and good location for partying in Allentown. . The lobby is lovely until you get to the front desk - not that you would hang out there. Our friends said there was no carpet in their room - like someone had rolled up a dead body in it and removed it. We had a hell of a time finding our room as the room numbers aren't in any kind of order. There were dark stains on the carpet throughout the hall (blood?). Halls were kind of creepy - painted an awful green and no art or anything to take your eyes from the wires hanging along the ceiling. Room was a decent size but stunk so had to turn on the noisy, in-window air conditioner. Only there long enough to get changed and go out thankfully. Fortunately were well oiled upon our return so sleep came quickly. Woke up in the morning to people talking in the hall - walls very thin. Friend said they had a great view out their window. Ours was too dirty to see out of. I found the paintjob in the bathroom curious until I realized it was peeling paint. It did have a mini fridge and microwave, but decor was atrocious.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    10
    28
See reviews for
7
10
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is up front and honest about being the oldest operating hotel in Buffalo. All of these bad reviews must be from people who went for the cheapest price they could find and didn't bother to do their homework before booking their room.

This hotel offers rooms by the night, week, month or year. There are many suites that are people's apartments/homes. This is not your standard hotel experience and we thought it was great.

There is very little about this place that can be considered "Modern". I loved the fact that I had a real key to my room. There was no goofing around with "the computer" didn't set my key right or any of the usual antics that always happen to me with the key-cards in other places. We did have a 32" HDTV in the room and a fridge. What more do you want? This is Buffalo, not Paris.

The shower was our biggest challenge. Original 1890's fixtures (!) aside, the old building had trouble getting a good mix of hot and cold water up to the 8th floor. Our shower was mostly hot water with a slight touch of cold that made it almost bearable. This is the only real complaint we have about our experience at the Lenox. The five foot tall window IN THE SHOWER was interesting and offered an amazing view of the city. We weren't brave enough to open the "window curtain" while showering, for fear of frightening the neighbours in the side wings of the hotel, who would have had no problem watching either of us in the shower if they were so inclined.

The ancient elevator is no joke. It takes forever to get to the 8th floor but it does offer plenty of time to chat with the friendly locals who live here on your way up.

I would have been happier if the Lenox was a few blocks closer to the downtown core of Buffalo but for the rates compared to the rest of the hotels in town even with the cab rides we took out at night we still ended up saving a lot by staying here instead of say, the Holiday Inn or The Adam's Mark.

I would have given an "excellent" rating but I think we paid about 20% too much to stay here. I expect rates during the winter will be more reasonable and more in line with the experience that the Lenox offers.

Room Tip: Great unique view of downtown Buffalo from the 8th floor, but getting cold water in the sink or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I (we are from Germany) were on an adventure trip through he US - and what we experienced in Buffalo was really a special kind of `adventure`.
We tried to get a room in a different hotel without booking beforehand. That place was full but a nice neighbour offered to bring us to the Lenox, which he described as `bohemian`. The price of 123 $ a night made us believe it were a better middleclass-hotel, so we took the room.

The lady at the check in was unfriendly and unhelpful. When we arrived at our floor, it wasn`t easy at all to find the room, because the numbers seem to have no system at all and there are no helpful signs. Instead there were loose cables hangig from the wall and smelly, dirty carpets.

The room itself had an even worse carpet, it was so disgusting, we wouldn`t even walk on it without wearing shoes. The furniture was old, partly broken, the shower turned from icecold to steaming hot suddenly while I showered, the bathroom was dirty (including old water damage on the wall which was only pained over), the fridge full of ice (on the walls, not the nce kind) and the noise of who-knows-what kind of machine outside made it really hard to sleep.
When we looked at the hotel from outside the next morning, we saw that the whole building was poorly kept, there was an old bar which seemed to have closed an eternity ago, there was not one flower or anything nice. To make a long story short: the people that lead this hotel seem to have given up years ago, there's no love in it and even the most basic standards (like cleanliness!!) are not reached. For 123$ a night, this is a slap in your face. If you have a choice, go elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I'm a bit puzzled by all the negative reviews here. This place isn't fancy or very modern, but it is what it is - a two-star hotel that provides basic accommodations. Our room was reasonably spacious, and was quite clean. Bed was comfortable, and they have good water pressure. The location is good, and they have free parking. I really couldn't find anything to complain about, nor anything to rave about. Would stay here again, especially given the fact that price was much better than anything else near downtown Buffalo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

So I read the reviews from here and wished that they were wrong. My brother booked this for my bachelor party. I saw the outside of this place and was like "wow, the pictures are accurate." Then when we got to the lobby I thought that the place might not be as bad as they say, as the lobby is deceiving. However, once you turn the corner from the lobby, you find your way to the last old school phone booth in the USA.

After walking through a sketchy hallway, we got to an elevator, which we later were told by an employee is original from the 1890s. It literally took 3 minutes to climb 8 floors.

When we got out of our elevator, we wandered for quite a while trying to find the room, as nothing was labeled. Once we got to the room, we put our regular key in the keyhole (who does this?) And in the room, it didn't have central air, they had a regular loud AC which you had to yell to hear over. It had a setting to say whether you wanted "clean" air or not.

Our bathroom had a radiator that looked original, the beds were tiny, the towel bar was barely attatched, there was a humming noise from the windows that sounded like a string quartet. Friggin romantic. Good thing I was with a bunch of drunk dudes.

In the other room, the door kept swaying and it sounded like someone was knocking on it all through the night. They had gotten up 3 separate times to see what was going on. It was so bad that it conditioned them to thinking it was nothing, which made waking them up difficult.

It should tell you something that my friend asked an employee if she would recommend this place to a friend and she just shook her head. She was carrying a water bottle that contained a foriegn white liquid.

Bottom line, if you're adventurous and or a homeless alcoholic, this place may be for you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Total dump. Tiny dirty room. Smells bad. Embarrasing for Buffalo

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I can't say it was horrible, its just old, built in 1898 and its shows. The room was clean and the beds were typicle hard hotel beds. The bathroom was old, basic black and white tile. Everything was clean, and its was just OK, with a few odd aspects. People live here year round, so you are sharing the hotel with residents which was different. They have old fashioned window a/c units which is loud, but i understand most Buffalo homes have window untis because it rarely gets hot in Buffalo. This hotel has a good location if you want to be in that part of the city, and its has off street parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lenox Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel and Suites

Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Buffalo
Address: 140 North Street, Buffalo, NY 14201
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lenox Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenox Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.