We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and it shows” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Lenox Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lenox Hotel and Suites
140 North Street, Buffalo, NY 14201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Buffalo
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old and it shows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I can't say it was horrible, its just old, built in 1898 and its shows. The room was clean and the beds were typicle hard hotel beds. The bathroom was old, basic black and white tile. Everything was clean, and its was just OK, with a few odd aspects. People live here year round, so you are sharing the hotel with residents which was different. They have old fashioned window a/c units which is loud, but i understand most Buffalo homes have window untis because it rarely gets hot in Buffalo. This hotel has a good location if you want to be in that part of the city, and its has off street parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    9
    10
    28
See reviews for
7
11
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! The hotel was in incredibly ill repair and the other clientele were frightening. I was afraid I wouldn't make it out of there! The room was old, beat up, dirty, there was a huge spider web and spider clearly visible in the corner that obviously should have been cleaned. The walls were paper thin and it was extremely loud until about 2am both nights I was there - it was like being in a college dorm, noisewise. There was no hairdryer, no shampoo, no conditioner, no hangers, no iron, and no Do Not Disturb sign. I tried not to touch anything. Riding up in the elevator the second night another (male) guest saw my room key and said "I've stayed in that room before." I feared being attacked all night. Again, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in US. Even economical hotels like days Inn, Super 8 are far better than this. Old & stinky rooms, cold water faucets that delivers red hot water when you are in the middle of the shower,flies in the lobby, no internet in the rooms and still charge a fair amount for all these BS. I strongly recommend not to go for this

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is actually hotel rooms together with apartments, which shouldn't really make a difference except it does: the rooms have a rooming-house quality with no amenities: no soap, no shampoo, no coffee pot, no hair dryer. From our room we could hear a baby crying and a dog barking. On the plus side, it has a true historic atmosphere, especially the lobby, it's very inexpensive, with free parking -- we saved enough to buy our own coffee and hair dryer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've written a number of reviews on TA and most of them have been positive. We went to this place because of a last minute emergency and it was the first hotel we could find that had room at 6 in the morning.
The room was just terrible. Because we arrived after 6 am, we had the option to stay 2 nights for the price of 1, but we handed in our keys later the same day. Not worth it.
The bathroom was all beat up. Toilet paper holder, ceramic, was broken a long time ago, nothing but soap in the tub and the room was in obvious need of repair years ago.
The main room was small, the AC was a mount in the window with curtains that would cover it if closed, the bed was sold as queen, but was a full and it was very uncomfortable. Garbage and I am putting the memory behind me.

Room Tip: Take a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you are only looking for a place to sleep and then be on your way this is a good value. Otherwise, do not stay here. No coffee pot, shampoo, hair dryer. Bed top mattress was half thickness of a normal bed and stained. Room was clean but hallways smelled of smoke and it was kind of strange having regular tennants mixed in. Location looked good but we were warned to not walk anywhere after dark so had the extra expense of cab rides everywhere (Allentown, etc.).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Lenox is a tired old hotel with only the barest amenities. The room was clean but there was no complimentary shampoo, no iron or ironing board, no coffee pot. The hallway was smelly and the carptet was dirty. The ancient elevator had a hole in the floor not completed hidden by the rug.
The radiator heat is centrally controlled. It got fairly chilly before it kicked on and around midnight I was opening a window to cool the room off.
I travel a lot for business. There are many better choices in the Buffalo area.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lenox Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel and Suites

Address: 140 North Street, Buffalo, NY 14201
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Lenox Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenox Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.