We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant ending to very trying road trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Mansion on Delaware Avenue to your Saves list
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant ending to very trying road trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My hotel stay with the Mansion on Delaware Ave was a WELCOME surprise. When I booked the reservation I figured it was just a nice bed and breakfast that would give me a great night's sleep before I took a 6 hour road trip back to NYC, however from the moment I stepped into the building I knew this was not your ordinary B&B, not a B&B AT ALL but an AMAZING boutique hotel who has perfected the art of superior customer service and treating a person like ROYALTY. From the valet to the complementary open bar ( during happy hour) to the restaurant concierge.... This hotel was AWESOME. I loved the valet to the restaurant chosen, the ameniteis in my guest room as well as the breakfast the following day. You get a really GREAT bang for your buck at this hotel. I HIGHLY recommend it. I won't tell everything, some things need to be experienced on your own... ENJOY!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_Principe, General Manager at The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're so glad you found The Mansion on your trip back to NYC. You are correct, The Mansion is a luxury hotel - we are Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel. We agree that the many complimentary services and amenities offered to guests - valet parking, afternoon cocktails, breakfast, 24-hour Butler Service, downtown Range Rover transportation and many more - provide a "really great bang for your buck". We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully next time it's on a visit to, not through, our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    45
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
149
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just spent our fourth visit to The Mansion and have never been let down. The staff is always friendly, hospitable and professional. We called ahead and ordered a cheese plate, which was waiting for us when we walked into the room. The cheese and berries were absolutely delicious. The atmosphere in the guest rooms is always elegant and very cozy. The décor is a perfect blend of the historic mansion feel along with some modern chic trends.

One of the perks we love about The Mansion is the shuttle service – it allows us to enjoy a couple cocktails at local establishments and events by providing a driver to pick us up.

Even though we live in the same city, when we feel like being pampered, we treat ourselves to a night at The Mansion. It is top notch and one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_Principe, General Manager at The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Mansion...and thank you for your continued visits. Many of our guests are Buffalo and suburban Buffalo residents who enjoy a 'get-away' to The Mansion to enjoy a great night on the town. The Butlers are so knowledgeable about the Buffalo region and the many attractions, restaurants and events....and to your point, the complimentary Range Rover transportation is 'a great perk'! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about our stay at The Mansion. It was a last minute travel due to a death in the family, and they accommodated us to the fullest. SO incredibly helpful and each employee over extended their services. We will, without a doubt, stay at The Mansion in the future! Thank you for the wonderful experience and for taking away ANY added stress :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Valet parking, 3 mile shuttle, cocktail hour, 24hr coffee and many smiling faces!!
From the moment I contacted them about tours & adding an extra day to the doors of the Mansion magically opened, welcoming us in until they printed us directions to the last places on our intinerary, the Butlers at MoDA made our stay wonderful!! We didn't have a big room, but it was comfy and airy, just enough for the 2 of us.
If you are from the GTA and are looking for a great 36 hr get-away, there is A LOT more to Buffalo than cross-border shopping and the staff at MoDA helped us get around the historic downtown area (their shuttle service).
We also got a free cheese tray (Thank you Trip Advisor coupon!) that lasted us 3 days! The Butlers wrapped up the tray once we were done nibbling during cocktail hour or whenever we asked for it! As needed, they even replenished the crackers and some of the fruit every time they brought it back to us!
Staff remembered our names and made many inquiries into our daily activities. We enjoyed our stay, the historical building, the personalized stationary and the yummy cookies found in our room after a busy day of touring.
Looking forward to a return visit to MoDA!

Room Tip: Phone them instead of booking on-line...they will find out your needs & wants, and accomodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Many of our wedding guests stayed here and loved it. We cannot give enough thanks to the staff at the Mansion--including but not limited to Gino--for making our wedding reception so perfect. Many of our friends/family, including several food/wine/city "snobs," told us that the Mansion was the best wedding reception experience they had ever had. I realize this may sound like a backhanded compliment, but it was not intended that way by those that said it. Gino and his staff's attention to every detail, including the start of the reception when everyone was arriving from the wedding ceremony, was flawless. The food, from the passed finger-food during the cocktail hour, to the dinner food itself, was absolutely amazing. The waitrons even made a point of bringing both of us our own plate of cocktail-hour appetizers, and then desserts at the end of dinner. They knew how difficult it is for the wedding couple to actually eat! The Mansion was an important part of our wedding, and we will never forget it! Thanks Gino and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This "5" star Hotel is an unfriendly, unaccommodating, unprofessional, and very expensive for what you will experience. Upon arrival the staff are very friendly, waiting for constant tips, and extra cash. However, upon departure there was nobody around to help. Directory says 24 hour dining available, but its not! There is only 1 person on duty at night, who is very unfriendly...again. Bartenders were unable to serve "shots" because they could get sued, but were serving minors alcohol!!! European breakfast from 7:30-9:30am, we were on vacation, and it was a weekend!! Nobody wants to wake up early on vacation, and the staff serving were very inflexible with those times. Earplugs are supplied to help drone out the extremely loud noises that the heaters made. We were up every hour. Beds and pillows were not comfortable at all. Cleaning staff knocked on our doors one minute after check out time. Definitely not going back.

Room Tip: Room are all cold, and too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice. They have a complimentary Range Rover that will take you locally and drinks in the afternoon or honor bar after that. I have never tried their breakfast since we are not morning people. The rooms are comfy and the building is beautiful.

We were here for two separate events at SUNY Buffalo May 2008 and May 2011. The university is far from the hotel, but our friends were able to drive us around. The butlers were helpful in getting us around, it's a great place to entertain as well. After our friends drove us back to the hotel they would hang out with us in the lobby which had a pool table and cozy couches. We are going back May 2012. I'm very excited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.